At the first-ever Action Entrepreneurship Canadian Summit in Toronto, Ontario on May 13-14, 2014,  230 young entrepreneurs and supporters charted a path to boost youth innovation and enterprise throughout the country. They spoke constructively about the need for better, clearer and more coordinated support for young entrepreneurs and their businesses.

Hosted by Futurpreneur Canada (formerly the Canadian Youth Business Foundation, or CYBF), the Summit brought Canada’s best and brightest young entrepreneurs together with business and non-profit leaders, educators, policy makers and others to craft an action plan to grow young enterprise across Canada. The Summit also included top-notch speakers who are making a real difference in youth entrepreneurship in Canada, networking opportunities and professional development workshops.

There was resounding consensus on the key actions needed to fuel young enterprise and drive the Canadian economy. Actions centered around supporting entrepreneurship education and promoting entrepreneurship as a career option, helping people learn from business mistakes, improving financial literacy, increasing collaboration between governments and supporting networking between entrepreneurs and mentors.

The Summit built on the engagement of 1,000 leaders from across Canada through interviews, roundtable discussions and, with support from the Foundation for an Entrepreneurial Canada, a national survey of young entrepreneurs. (Click here to learn more about the activities that led up to the Summit.)

Futurpreneur Canada will compile the results of the Summit and release a national action plan this summer that will require further support and involvement of leaders in business, all levels of government and all sectors of the economy.

Futurpreneur Canada sincerely thanks our valued sponsors for generously supporting Action Entrepreneurship including BG Group, Clearwater Fine Foods, RBC Foundation, the Foundation for an Entrepreneurial Canada and ATB Business.

For more information, visit www.actionentrepreneurship.ca and join the conversation @Futurpreneur / #AECanada.

À l’occasion du tout premier Sommet canadien Action Entrepreneurship de Toronto, les 13 et 14 mai 2014, 230 jeunes entrepreneurs et partisans ont tracé la voie pour assurer l’essor de l’innovation et de la jeune entreprise dans tout le pays. Ils ont parlé haut et fort et de manière constructive de la nécessité d’offrir aux jeunes et à leurs entreprises un meilleur soutien, plus clair et mieux coordonné.

Organisé par Futurpreneur Canada (anciennement la Fondation Canadienne des Jeunes Entrepreneurs ou FCJE), ce sommet a permis de réunir certains des meilleurs et des plus brillants jeunes entrepreneurs canadiens et des dirigeants des secteurs public, privé, sans but lucratif et du milieu de l’éducation, ainsi que d’autres parties intéressées, pour élaborer un plan d’action visant à faire grandir la jeune entreprise, partout au Canada. L’événement a également offert aux participants la chance d’entendre des conférenciers de renom, qui font réellement bouger les choses en faveur de l’entrepreneuriat jeunesse au Canada, et de profiter d’occasions de réseautage et d’ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel.

Un fort consensus a été obtenu sur les principales mesures devant être mises en œuvre pour alimenter la jeune entreprise et dynamiser l’économie canadienne, lesquelles s’articulent essentiellement autour de la nécessité de soutenir l’enseignement de l’entrepreneuriat et de promouvoir l’exploitation d’une entreprise comme choix de carrière valable; du fait d’aider les gens à apprendre de leurs erreurs; d’améliorer la littératie financière; d’assurer une plus grande collaboration entre les différents paliers de gouvernement et de soutenir le réseautage entre les entrepreneurs et les mentors.

Le sommet a tiré parti de l’engagement d’un millier de chefs de file, au moyen d’entrevues, de discussion en table ronde et, grâce à l’appui de la Fondation pour un Canada entrepreneurial, d’un sondage national mené auprès des jeunes entrepreneurs. (Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur les activités qui ont précédé le sommet.)

Futurpreneur Canada procédera à la compilation des conclusions du sommet et prévoit produire, cet été, un plan d’action national qui nécessitera de nouveau le soutien et la mobilisation des dirigeants d’entreprises, des différents paliers de gouvernement et des intervenants de tous les secteurs de l’économie.

Futurpreneur Canada remercie sincèrement ses commanditaires pour leur généreux appui à Action Entrepreneurship : le Groupe BG, Clearwater Fine Foods, la Fondation RBC, la Fondation pour un Canada entrepreneurial et ATB Business.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le www.actionentrepreneurship.ca et joignez-vous à la conversation @Futurpreneur/#AECanada.