The moment has arrived where you have to create your business plan. Don’t panic, everything will be fine! Drafting a business plan is not rocket science, as long as you approach it in the right way.

It is quite likely you have heard horror stories about the business plan. These days, business plan opponents launch exaggerated attacks, claiming it stifles agile entrepreneurship. Nothing could be further from the truth! If you want to understand its usefulness and value, I suggest you start with my article, “An Open Love-Letter to the Business Plan.”

Once you understand the usefulness of the business plan, the writing process will seem simple and straightforward. In the end, what is the purpose of the business plan? Its reason can be summarized as follows: It allows you to (1) define a business opportunity, (2) design a viable business model around this opportunity, (3) identify the resources and players who will allow this opportunity to be exploited, and, finally, (4) demonstrate that the opportunity is worth the effort.

As you draft the business plan, you must always keep in mind these four key elements. They will guide your thinking. If you stray from them, you will end up on the wrong track. If you address them, you’re on the right track.

Now, let’s lay this out concretely, and most importantly, step by step. So here is your game plan for efficiently drafting your business plan, and also for how to make best use of the underlying thought process.

Step 1: Positioning Your Business Project in Your Life

Warning, don’t jump into drafting a business plan too quickly! The very first step is to be sure you really want to launch a business in the short term. Emphasize: in the short term! If you have many personal and professional projects and starting a business is more of a medium-term project, don’t waste your time with a business plan. You’ll just have to start over in six months. The market will have evolved during this time and new players will have appeared.

That being said, it is important to separate the business plan process from launching a business. If you want to start a company in the medium-term, you may have already begun the start-up process. For example, if you have made the choice to work in your industry for a year or two prior to your launching, you are already in the start-up phase of your company. The thought process has begun, but at this stage, it is still too early to draft a business plan.

When you have reached the point where you say, “Let’s do this, I’m taking the plunge!” this will be the time to jump into drafting your business plan. You’ll know this moment has arrived when you have made progress along the following four axes: (1) your understanding of your entrepreneurial profile, (2) a clear business idea, (3) an intrinsic motivation related to your project and (4) the capacity to act. As a business start-up coach, helping my clients to move forward along these four axes is an integral part of my role.

Step 2: Beginning and Overview

Do you feel like an entrepreneur? Do you have a business idea? Are you really ready and motivated? Will you be in business in six months? Then, you’re off! Now is the time to tackle drafting a business plan.

At this stage, the objective is to understand what you are getting yourself into. Will the drafting process take a long time? What are your strengths and weaknesses when it comes to writing? What resources and help will you need?

First of all, take a look at all the different sections of a business plan. Take the time to grasp what a business plan is in general. You can get an idea with Futurpreneur Canada’s An Insider’s Look.

This step should take you a day or two. Simply absorb the business plan structure at your own speed. Take brief notes on what you notice, things that surprise you, or your questions.

Step 3: Identifying the Opportunity

At this point, you will really start drafting your business plan. However, you won’t start with the first section, but rather the third (may vary depending on the template). This is the Market Research section. This part of the business plan will allow you to explore your industry and your business sector, and especially to better understand the business opportunity you are facing.

This step addresses four objectives: (1) recording, in one place, everything you already know about your business sector, (2) highlighting what you still need to learn before starting your business, (3) analyzing all data to draw conclusions and (4) clearly formulating the business opportunity you want to attack.

You must understand that the market research is the analytic portion of your business plan. It is in a separate category. In contrast with all the other business plan sections, the market research is for comprehension purposes only, not decision-making. At this stage, nothing is set in stone. This is not when decisions are made. Instead, we are stockpiling an important amount of information, to then try to draw conclusions and lessons.

Once you understand your market well, you can then move on to the following step. Unless you have drilled down to an in-depth understanding, it would otherwise be premature. This step can take from a week to a year, depending on your comfort level with your market. Your previous experiences are the raw materials for your market research.

Step 4: Developing Your Business Model

So now you have a business opportunity? The million-dollar question: Is it viable? There is a huge difference between a business opportunity and a viable company project! At this stage, you will have to ensure that the opportunity you seek is really worthwhile.

You must start by defining the viable business model which could potentially support this opportunity. In order to avoid writing a complete business plan about a non-viable opportunity, at this stage, you need to only create a canvas. To help you, you can use the tool, My Business Model.

Once you have successfully defined a viable business model, you can move on to the next step, planning.

Step 5: Triple planning

Concretely, how will you implement the business model that you developed in the previous step? What resources will you need? How will your company achieve its mission? How will it attract clients?

We have come to what I call triple planning. Why triple planning? Firstly, because you will have to plan three aspects of your business, i.e., (1) operations, (2) marketing and (3) finances. Also, because you will have to plan these aspects at three levels of logic, i.e., (1) strategic, (2) tactical and (3) operational.

This is the stage when you can complete sections four, five and six of the business plan, i.e., Operations, Marketing and Financing. You need to work on these sections in parallel in the spirit of comprehensive planning. For example, if you choose to advertise on Facebook, this will have an impact on your marketing calendar (marketing section), but also on your daily activities and your human resources (operations section) and finally on your start-up and operating costs (finance section).

You can see that we are now in the decision-making stage of the business plan. This is often the most popular section among entrepreneurs, as it consists of creating the road map for the company. The three plans (Operations, Marketing and Finances) will be a guide for the start-up entrepreneur. More than an action plan, they represent a strategic, tactical and operational plan. After this stage, entrepreneurs are able to say which initiatives they will implement at launch time and, most importantly, why they will do so.

Step 6: Synthesis

It is now time to return to the very beginning of the business plan in order to draft the first two sections, i.e., the executive summary (section 1) and the business profile (section 2).

Does it seem odd to you to draft the first two sections at the very end? Many entrepreneurs are indeed surprised by this. Nevertheless, it is crucial to do so. These two sections contain the very essence of your business plan. They present all the work you have done in the other sections of the business plan, as well as your in-the-field prospecting.

In a few pages, you are going to convince potential investors that you have a solid product or service, ready for the market, and, especially, that it is worth the investment. This step is the zenith of your business plan, but it is also a natural transition to the next step after drafting a business plan: searching for funding.

Drafting a business plan: a process that makes you look at yourself in the mirror

Before starting to draft your business plan, you must understand that it is a process that requires you to confront yourself head-on. No matter where your difficulties lie, you can’t escape them. I promise!

Do you have problems researching statistical data? Are numbers your pet peeve? Is selling not really your forte? Do you have issues grasping logistics? Are you uncomfortable spying on your competitors? Does asking a supplier to make a bid stick in your throat? Are you stressed by meeting a commercial landlord? Does a stiff response from a partner leave you bitter? Tell yourself this is just the beginning.

Drafting a business plan requires extremely varied skills. You can’t be good in everything! It’s normal for you to have comfort zones, but they won’t all be. Tell yourself that the business plan brings together all the functions of a company, with no exceptions. While a large company has dozens of different departments to deal with all these functions, as an entrepreneur, you will be completely alone to address them all. You have to be understanding about your capacities, but you must also give yourself the time to evolve, at your own speed.

No entrepreneur has gone through the business plan approach without living a minimum of frustrations and sorrows—but also, fun and excitement. This is normal, it’s natural! The business plan sets out all the elements of your company. Some will excite you, while others will in no way appeal to who you are, nor to your personality.

As with all my clients, I recommend that you draw up a brief list of your strengths and weaknesses prior to starting your draft. You will be better informed of the pitfalls and pleasures you’ll come across while drafting your business plan.

In conclusion, remember the following. Drafting a business plan is a process. The difficulties you will meet during this process will teach you a great deal about yourself. You will meet the same difficulties and successes once you are in business. You must take note of them immediately and draw preliminary lessons from them. This will help you later on.

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Alors, le moment est venu? Vous en êtes rendus à rédiger votre plan d’affaires. Pas de panique, ça va bien se passer! Rédiger un plan d’affaires n’a rien de sorcier, pourvu qu’on s’y prenne de la bonne façon.

Vous avez sûrement entendu des horreurs au sujet du plan d’affaires. Les détracteurs du plan d’affaires font actuellement une démagogie sans gêne, opposant le plan d’affaires à l’entrepreneuriat agile. Rien de plus faux! Si vous souhaitez comprendre l’utilité et le bien-fondé du plan d’affaires, je vous recommande de débuter avec mon article intitulé Déclaration d’amour au plan d’affaires.

Une fois que vous aurez compris l’utilité du plan d’affaires, la démarche de rédaction vous paraîtra simple et accessible. À quoi sert un plan d’affaires au final? On peut résumer ainsi la raison d’être du plan d’affaires : il permet de (1) cerner une opportunité d’affaires, (2) concevoir un modèle d’affaires viable autour de cette opportunité, (3) identifier les ressources et les acteurs qui permettront d’exploiter cette opportunité, et finalement (4) démontrer que l’opportunité en vaut la peine.

Tout au long de votre rédaction, vous devez garder en tête ces quatre éléments-piliers du plan d’affaires. Ils seront votre guide de pensée. Si vous vous en éloignez, vous êtes sur la mauvaise voie. Si vous les adressez, vous êtes sur la bonne voie.

Maintenant, allons-y concrètement et surtout, par étapes. Voici donc votre plan de match pour rédiger efficacement votre plan d’affaires, mais également, pour tirer pleinement profit de la démarche de réflexion sous-jacente.

Étape 1 : Positionnement du projet d’affaires dans votre vie

Pitié, ne vous lancez pas trop vite dans la rédaction d’un plan d’affaires! La toute première étape, c’est de vous assurer que vous souhaitez réellement lancer une entreprise à court terme. Et j’insiste… à court terme! Si vos projets personnels et professionnels affluent et que le démarrage d’une entreprise est plutôt un projet à moyen terme, alors ne perdez pas votre temps avec un plan d’affaires. Ce sera à recommencer dans 6 mois de toute façon. Le marché aura eu le temps d’évoluer et de nouveaux joueurs auront fait leur apparition.

Ceci dit, il est important de dissocier la démarche du plan d’affaires de celle du lancement d’une entreprise. Si vous souhaitez démarrer une entreprise à moyen terme, il se peut que vous soyez d’ores et déjà entré dans la démarche de lancement d’une entreprise. Par exemple, si vous avez fait le choix de travailler dans votre industrie pour une année ou deux avant de vous lancer, alors vous êtes déjà dans une démarche de lancement d’entreprise. Votre réflexion est alors commencée, mais à ce stade, il est trop tôt pour rédiger un plan d’affaires!

Lorsque vous en serez rendu à dire « C’est parti, je fais le saut!« , ce sera alors le moment de vous plonger dans la rédaction du plan d’affaires. Vous saurez que ce moment est venu lorsque vous aurez progressé sur les quatre axes suivants : (1) la conscience de votre profil entrepreneurial, (2) une idée d’affaires claire, (3) une motivation intrinsèque liée au projet et (4) une capacité de mise à l’action. À titre de coach en démarrage d’entreprise, c’est inhérent à mon rôle d’aider mes clients à cheminer sur ces quatre axes.

Étape 2 : Amorce et survol

Vous vous sentez entrepreneur? Vous avez une idée d’affaires? Vous êtes réellement prêt et motivé? Dans 6 mois, vous serez dans les affaires? Alors, c’est parti! Il est maintenant temps de s’atteler à la tâche de la rédaction du plan d’affaires.

À cette étape, l’objectif est de comprendre dans quoi vous vous embarquez. Est-ce que la démarche de rédaction sera longue? Quelles sont vos forces et vos faiblesses en matière de rédaction? De quelles ressources et aides aurez-vous besoin?

Dans un premier temps, jetez un œil sur l’ensemble des sections du plan d’affaires. Prenez le temps de saisir ce qu’est un plan d’affaires dans sa globalité. Vous pouvez vous aider avec l’outil Coup d’œil d’initié de Futurpreneur Canada.

Cette étape devrait vous prendre une ou deux journées. Intégrez simplement et à votre rythme la structure du plan d’affaires. Prenez des petites notes sur vos constats, vos étonnements ou vos questionnements.

Étape 3 : Identification de l’opportunité

Cette fois, vous allez réellement commencer la rédaction de votre plan d’affaires. Toutefois, vous ne débuterez pas avec la première section, mais plutôt avec la troisième (qui peut varier selon les canevas). On parle ici de l’Étude de marché. Cette partie du plan d’affaires vous permettra d’explorer votre industrie et votre secteur d’affaires et surtout, de mieux saisir l’opportunité d’affaires à laquelle vous faites face.

Cette étape vise quatre objectifs : (1) consigner, en un seul endroit, tout ce que vous savez déjà sur votre secteur d’affaires, (2) mettre en lumière ce qui vous reste à apprendre avant de démarrer votre entreprise, (3) analyser l’ensemble des données pour dégager des constats et (4) formuler clairement l’opportunité d’affaires à laquelle vous souhaitez vous attaquer.

Il faut comprendre que l’étude de marché est la portion analytique de votre plan d’affaires. Elle est dans une catégorie à part. Contrairement à toutes les autres sections du plan d’affaires, l’étude de marché vise la compréhension et non la décision. À cette étape, on ne souhaite rien figer. On ne décide pas encore. On va plutôt emmagasiner une quantité importante d’informations, pour ensuite tenter d’en tirer des conclusions et des enseignements.

Une fois que l’on aura bien compris son marché, on pourra passer à l’étape suivante. Ceci dit, tant que vous n’en aurez pas une compréhension approfondie, ce sera trop tôt. Cette étape peut prendre une période d’une semaine à une année, dépendamment de votre niveau de confort avec votre marché. Vos expériences antérieures sont la matière première de votre étude de marché.

Étape 4 : Modélisation

Alors, vous avez en main une opportunité d’affaires? La question à un million de dollars : Est-elle viable? Il y a un océan entre une opportunité d’affaires et un projet d’entreprise viable! À cette étape, il vous faut donc vous assurer que l’opportunité que vous convoitez en vaut réellement la peine.

Alors, il vous faut commencer par définir le modèle d’affaires viable qui pourrait potentiellement soutenir cette opportunité. Afin de vous éviter d’écrire un plan d’affaires au complet au sujet d’une opportunité non viable, complétez seulement un canevas à cette étape. Pour vous aider, vous pouvez utiliser l’outil Mon modèle d’affaires.

Une fois que vous aurez réussi à définir un modèle d’affaires viable, vous pourrez passer à l’étape suivante, soit celle de la planification.

Étape 5 : La triple planification

Concrètement, comment allez-vous réaliser le modèle d’affaires que vous avez élaboré à l’étape précédente? De quelles ressources avez-vous besoin? Comment votre entreprise réalisera-t-elle sa mission? Comment attirera-t-elle des clients?

Nous en sommes rendus à ce que j’appelle la triple planification. Pourquoi triple planification? D’abord, parce que vous devrez planifier trois aspects de votre entreprise, soit : (1) les opérations, (2) le marketing et (3) les finances. Ensuite, parce que vous devrez planifier ces aspects selon les trois niveaux logiques, soit : (1) stratégique, (2) tactique et (3) opérationnel.

C’est à cette étape que vous pourrez compléter les sections 4, 5 et 6 du plan d’affaires, c’est-à-dire : Opérations, Marketing et Finances. Ces sections doivent être travaillées parallèlement dans un esprit de planification globale. Par exemple, si vous choisissez de faire de la publicité Facebook, cela aura un impact sur votre calendrier marketing (Section marketing), mais également, sur vos activités quotidiennes et vos ressources humaines (Section opérations) et finalement, sur vos coûts de démarrage et d’opération (Section finance).

Vous l’aurez compris, nous en sommes donc à l’étape décisionnelle du plan d’affaires. C’est souvent la plus appréciée des entrepreneurs, car elle consiste à élaborer la feuille de route de l’entreprise à créer. Les trois plans (Opérations, Marketing et Finances) seront un guide pour l’entrepreneur en démarrage. Plus qu’un plan d’action, ils seront un plan stratégique, tactique et opérationnel. À la suite de cette étape, l’entrepreneur sera en mesure de dire quelles initiatives il mettra en place lors de son démarrage et surtout, pourquoi il le fera.

Étape 6 : La synthèse

C’est maintenant le moment de revenir au tout début du plan d’affaires afin de rédiger les deux premières sections, soit le sommaire exécutif (section 1) et le profil de l’entreprise (section 2).

Est-ce que ça vous paraît curieux de rédiger les deux premières sections à la toute fin? Plusieurs entrepreneurs s’étonnent de cette pratique. Pourtant, c’est crucial de procéder ainsi. Ces deux sections rassemblent l’essence même de votre projet d’affaires. Elles rendent compte de tout le travail que vous avez fait dans les autres sections du plan d’affaires, mais également, du travail de démarchage que vous avez fait sur le terrain.

En quelques pages, vous allez maintenant convaincre l’investisseur potentiel que vous avez en main une offre solide, prête à la commercialisation et surtout, qui en vaut l’investissement. Cette étape est le couronnement de votre plan d’affaires, mais elle est également une transition naturelle vers l’étape subséquente à la rédaction du plan d’affaires : la recherche de financement.

Rédiger un plan d’affaires : une démarche qui vous force à vous regarder en face

Avant de vous lancer dans la rédaction de plan d’affaires, vous devez savoir qu’il s’agit d’une démarche qui vous confronte carrément à vous-même. Qu’importe où se situent vos difficultés, vous ne pourrez pas vous en échapper! Je vous le promets!

Vous avez du mal avec la recherche de données statistiques? Les chiffres sont votre bête noire? La vente n’est pas votre force principale? Vous avez du mal avec les aspects logistiques? Espionner vos concurrents vous rend mal à l’aise? Demander une soumission à un fournisseur vous serre à la gorge? Rencontrer un propriétaire de local commercial vous stresse? Vous faire répondre de façon rigide par un partenaire vous laisse un goût amer? Dites-vous que ce n’est que le tout début.

La démarche de rédaction du plan d’affaires exige des habiletés extrêmement variées. Or, vous ne pouvez pas être bon dans tout! C’est normal que vous ayez des zones de conforts et aussi des zones d’inconfort. Dites-vous que le plan d’affaires regroupe toutes les fonctions d’une entreprise, sans exception. Alors qu’une grande entreprise compte des dizaines de spécialisations différentes pour adresser toutes ces fonctions, en tant qu’entrepreneur, vous serez entièrement seul(e) pour les adresser toutes. Il vous faut être indulgent envers vos capacités, mais également, vous donner le temps de progresser à votre rythme.

Aucun entrepreneur n’est passé au travers de la démarche du plan d’affaires sans y vivre un minimum de frustrations et de peines, mais également, de bonheurs et d’excitations. C’est normal, c’est naturel! Le plan d’affaires met en place tous les éléments de votre entreprise. Certains vous exciteront alors que d’autres ne colleront pas du tout dans ce que vous êtes, dans votre personnalité.

Je vous recommande, comme à tous mes clients, de dresser un petit bilan de vos forces et faiblesses avant de commencer la rédaction. Vous serez ainsi mieux avisé des embûches et bonheurs qui parsèmeront votre chemin de rédaction.

En terminant, retenez ceci. La rédaction du plan d’affaires est une démarche. Les difficultés que vous rencontrerez lors de cette démarche sont riches d’enseignements sur vous-mêmes. Vous rencontrerez les mêmes difficultés et les mêmes bonheurs une fois que vous serez dans les affaires. Il vous faut en prendre note immédiatement et en tirer des leçons préliminaires. Cela vous aidera pour la suite des choses.