Traditional employment opportunities are not what they used to be and as a result many individuals are making the leap into entrepreneurship. At times this is being done out of necessity, but more often than not; people are in search of something missing from the world of nine to five. The ability to escape a corporate world that stifles creative thought, the pursuit of passion or social impact, the ability to have greater control over when, where and how to work, all combine to create a vision of entrepreneurship that is undeniably attractive. The reality is, however, that while these aspects of the experience are indeed major positives, they come at a cost. Entrepreneurship is extremely hard work and you need to have this mind-set and be prepared both physically and mentally.

With so many talented people taking their chances, the status of the entrepreneur has increased exponentially and this has brought with it an added dimension of pressure that can be extremely challenging. It can feel as though starting and running your business is no longer enough. To survive as a modern day entrepreneur, you must be a master of the art of the pitch, the intricacies of design thinking, social media marketing, finance, professional networking, empathetic management and a host of other 21st century skills. Being successful as a modern day entrepreneur requires everything you have. There is also, of course, the real possibility that you won’t succeed. In fact, the vast majority of entrepreneurial efforts fail.

As I have built my real estate business, with a focus on residential property management, I thankfully have been navigating the pressures of success and taking setbacks as lessons to help improve the future. In doing so, I have found three key principles extremely helpful to handling the pressures that the entrepreneurial experience entails.

Developing dual, but complementary identities has allowed me to create separation between my concept of self and that of my company. Seeing myself as separate from my business has allowed me to manage the psychological and emotional costs of the ups and downs of daily business and conversely helps me to ensure that personal setbacks do not adversely affect my work with clients.

Allowing my self-development to be guided by factors outside of my business also affords me the ability to bring greater outside perspective and skill sets to what I am already doing. Allowing the business to grow in ways that are not always directly in line with my own skills also allows the business to uncover unexpected opportunities and build internal resiliency.

Prioritizing the asking of good questions over possessing all the answers has been critical to my success as it has ensured that all decisions that I make have been informed by multiple perspectives through active collaboration. Ensuring the input of clients, employees, business partners and trusted mentors has allowed me to stay attuned to the market and improve my offering year after year.

Entrepreneurs often fall into the trap of feeling like they must know what they are doing in all aspects of their business. While domain expertise is vital, the pace of change requires an entrepreneur to shift her mindset to leveraging both what she knows and what she doesn’t know by including others in the conversation.

Moving beyond being comfortable with uncertainty and managing with it in mind has also been critical to mitigating risk and setting the direction of my business. Tolerating uncertainty is commonly listed as a necessary trait in all entrepreneurs, but it takes more than tolerance to prepare for both the successes and possible failures of business. In Toronto alone, the real estate market is going through a period of rapid acceleration. Some see the trend continuing into the future while others warn of an impending bubble burst. No one has a crystal ball, and navigating my property management company through this means that I cannot be paralyzed by the opposing views of the future. I must actively manage and stress-test for both scenarios. Building a strategy for my business and myself that is inherently resilient to changing market conditions allows me to pivot as required.

The old adage of look before you leap still applies for would-be modern day entrepreneurs. My additional advice? Look closer. Hard work, high cost and unparalleled pressures reside everywhere you land. Being aware of what they are and how to manage them will take careful investigation.

I kept a diary for the first three years of my start-up journey, captured key lessons learned and experiences that promoted my success. In this series of articles I hope to bring to life this spirit of discovery, drive and overcoming obstacles – ultimately making a difference and providing more value than anyone else in the market place.

Written By: Sabine Ghali, Director at Buttonwood Property Management and an entrepreneur at heart who endeavors to help investors create real estate wealth over time in the Greater Toronto Area. Visit her at www.buttonwood.ca

Get up to $45,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Les perspectives d’emploi ne sont plus ce qu’elles étaient, un constat qui incite beaucoup de personnes à faire le saut en entrepreneuriat. Parfois, c’est parce qu’elles n’ont pas le choix, mais la plupart du temps, c’est parce que le neuf à cinq ne les comble pas entièrement. Échapper au monde des entreprises qui étouffe la pensée créative, vivre sa passion, étancher sa soif d’action sociale, décider du « quand », du « où » et du « comment »; toutes ces raisons donnent à la vie d’entrepreneur un charme indiscutable. Bien que ces aspects de l’aventure soient effectivement positifs, la réalité est qu’il y a un prix à payer : être entrepreneur est un travail extrêmement dur qui nécessite beaucoup de détermination et une préparation tant physique que mentale.

Avec la multitude de personnes talentueuses qui tentent leur chance, le nombre d’entrepreneurs s’est accru de façon exponentielle, ajoutant par le fait même une pression pouvant être très difficile à supporter. C’est comme si lancer et gérer son entreprise ne suffisaient plus. Pour survivre, l’entrepreneur moderne doit maîtriser l’art de la vente, de la conception (jusque dans le moindre détail), du commerce dans les médias sociaux, de la finance, du réseautage professionnel. Il doit aussi être un gestionnaire empathique et posséder un tas de compétences dignes du 21e siècle. Pour réussir, l’entrepreneur moderne doit vraiment puiser dans toutes ses ressources. Sans oublier, bien entendu, la possibilité bien réelle de l’échec. En fait, la vaste majorité des aventures entrepreneuriales se soldent par un échec.

Ayant moi-même fondé une entreprise dans le secteur immobilier centrée sur la gestion de propriétés résidentielles, je suis reconnaissante d’avoir connu tant la pression du succès que la pression des revers. J’en ai tiré des leçons qui m’ont servie par la suite et dégagé trois grands principes qui s’avèrent extrêmement pratiques pour gérer le stress et la pression inhérents à la vie d’entrepreneur.

Développer une identité double, mais complémentaire est un principe qui m’a permis de créer une frontière entre mon « moi » et mon entreprise. Me percevoir comme une entité distincte à mon entreprise m’a permis de gérer les coûts psychologique et émotionnel des hauts et des bas du quotidien de l’entrepreneur et, réciproquement, de faire en sorte que mes difficultés personnelles ne nuisent pas à mon travail avec mes clients.

Laisser mon développement personnel s’opérer sans l’influence de mon entreprise m’apporte aussi une perspective extérieure bienfaitrice et ajoute un ensemble de compétences à ce que je fais au travail. D’un autre côté, laisser l’entreprise prendre des avenues qui ne correspondent pas toujours à mes compétences personnelles lui permet d’emprunter des chemins inattendus et de renforcer la résilience à l’interne.

Poser les bonnes questions est plus important que connaître toutes les réponses; ce principe a été déterminant dans mon succès. Grâce à lui, j’ai veillé à ne pas prendre de décisions sans d’abord recueillir différents points de vue grâce à une collaboration active. En effet, les avis de mes clients, de mes employés, de mes partenaires d’affaires et de mes précieux mentors m’ont permis de rester bien au fait du marché et d’améliorer mon offre année après année.

Les entrepreneurs tombent souvent dans le piège de croire qu’ils doivent tout savoir dans toutes les facettes de leur entreprise. Bien qu’il soit essentiel d’être une spécialiste de son domaine, les choses changent si vite qu’une entrepreneure est obligée de mettre à profit tant ce qu’elle sait que ce qu’elle ne sait pas en faisant participer son réseau.

Accepter l’incertitude et l’inclure à la gestion de son entreprise; voilà un autre principe qui a été déterminant pour atténuer le risque et orienter mon entreprise. On dit souvent que tout bon entrepreneur doit savoir tolérer l’incertitude, mais cette tolérance n’est pas une préparation suffisante à la réussite et à l’échec. À Toronto par exemple, le marché de l’immobilier est en pleine phase d’accélération. Certains présagent le maintien de cette tendance, tandis que d’autres la perçoivent comme une bulle près d’éclater. Mais personne n’a de boule de cristal! Dans ce contexte, je dois diriger mon entreprise de gestion immobilière sans me laisser paralysée par cette divergence de perspectives d’avenir. Je dois gérer de façon proactive et envisager tous les scénarios, même simuler des crises. En élaborant, pour mon entreprise et pour moi-même, une stratégie qui s’adapte aux conditions changeantes du marché, je saurai prendre les dispositions nécessaires.

Encore aujourd’hui, le vieil adage qui dit qu’il faut « regarder avant de sauter » s’applique à l’entrepreneur potentiel. Mon dernier conseil? Réfléchissez avant d’agir. Un travail acharné, un fort prix à payer et une pression inégalée; voilà les défis qui vous attendent. Les connaître et les comprendre exige un examen minutieux.

Pendant les trois premières années de mon aventure entrepreneuriale, j’ai écrit dans un journal, noté mes plus grandes leçons et les expériences qui ont favorisé ma réussite. Dans la série de billets que je vous offre, j’espère donner vie à cet esprit de découverte, ce dynamisme et ce goût du dépassement qui m’habitent – et parvenir à faire œuvre utile plus que quiconque sur le marché.

Texte de : Sabine Ghali, propriétaire et directrice, Buttonwood Property Management à Toronto, en Ontario