Compiled By: Lauren Marinigh, Social Media & Content Creation Coordinator, Futurpreneur Canada

This Sunday, July 24th, marks International Self-Care Day. Self-care is the care provided by you, for you and is all about identifying your own needs and taking the necessary steps to meet them every day.

As entrepreneurs, we are usually leading chaotic, non-stop lives, and because of that, we forget the importance of taking time for ourselves (outside of our business). Having a good work-life balance can have more than just benefits to yourself, both mentally and physically, but can also benefit your business.

To spread awareness about how important self-care is to entrepreneurs, and all the busy bodies out there, we chatted with some of our Futurpreneur’s about their self-care practices and how they keep their health in check even on top of balancing their own businesses.

ErinFitzpatrick_RADLEY

Erin Fitzpatrick, RADLEY

As an entrepreneur I understand now more than ever that everything rides on my health. In order for my business to run efficiently and have the stamina required to do it all, I need to be in great shape… both mentally and physically. My self-care practice includes a combination of: running, yoga/meditation, Elle fitness classes, Lagree and spin. I typically do five of these per week and find that mixing up workouts keeps it interesting, dynamic and fun! Beyond all the well-known physical benefits exercise has to offer, it has also been consistently linked to significant improvements in mental well-being, cognitive functioning and better sleep. All huge value adds!

Emotional well-being is also extremely important to me. I make sure to carve out meaningful time each week for hanging out with family and friends. That is real soul food! Speaking of food… I am a firm believer in everyone taking a proper lunch break at work. No matter how busy we are at the RADLEY studio, we always make sure to step away from our desks and recharge over lunch. This mid-day break allows us to come back with a clear head, more relaxed and ready to take on challenges with a fresh perspective. Let’s bring back the lunch break today!

Melissa Jirovec

Melissa Jirovec, Melissa Jirovec ABI Caregiver Coaching Services

I don’t think I really understood what being busy meant until I became a full-time caregiver. My husband suffered a traumatic brain injury from an ATV accident, and suddenly I was working with a care team, participating in therapies, managing finances, attending endless appointments, etc. Despite everything that I had going on, I was determined to help other caregivers, which inspired me to start my own business. I had so many goals and so many responsibilities, that I quickly learned I had to care for myself to prevent being overwhelmed and exhausted.

This led me to develop a self-care plan for myself. I needed to include some routine habits that would enable me to stay focused, energized, and organized. Getting fresh air on a daily basis was really important for me. Even if it was just a brisk walk around the block, I needed to get outside to de-stress and stay focused. I also found that getting 20-45 minutes of exercise increased my energy levels and kept my motivation up. Finally, journaling was a great way for me to set goals, evaluate my progress, and let my feelings out. These three self-care habits kept me healthy and productive despite a really chaotic schedule.

Broya

Timothy Sotoadeh, Broya

Self-care is an extremely important aspect of my life. Whether you’re an entrepreneur or not, one must take care of yourself first in order to be able to give the most to others.

Every morning I take the first hour to drink water, move my body, and meditate, in that order. My movement practice in the morning will range anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes and my goal is to communicate to my body that it’s a new day. Following this light movement session I do a 30 minute meditation. No mantras, no music, just me and my thoughts for 30 minutes. Being in the present and surrendering to the moment.

This morning practice has been crucial from keeping me feeling burnt out or overwhelmed with all the tasks and unknowns that are inherent in a startup. Not to say that that doesn’t happen anymore; that’s part of what you sign up for when you choose to run your own business. However, when it does happen, I have a practice that allows me to stay grounded and go back to what I know keeps me fresh and focused on my business.

GlowShack

Matt Teichmann, GlowShack

To recharge and feel happy, I have learned, accepted, and adopted new methods to help me cope with the challenging, and sometimes overwhelming nature, of starting and maintaining a new business. Such remedies have included:

  • Spending time with friends and family
  • Playing video games and podcasting
  • Video editing and media design
  • Date night with my girlfriend

All-in-all, I encourage all entrepreneurs to seek healthy remedies that are both enjoyable and manageable. Take time for yourself, because at the end of the day, only you can ensure that you are living life to the fullest.

Xona

Matthew Doucette, Xona Games Inc.

When I am busy, which is often, I find staying physical fit and achieving healthy work-life balance to be the two aspects of my life that suffer the most. It is so easy to stay inside and work an hour longer, and then repeat for a few weeks and have a new (bad) habit set in. So, what’s my solution to this?

I get up two hours early! I get up at 6am rather than 8am. This changes my life in a number of positive ways. It feels like I have an extra two hours in the day, so my work day can safely stop at 5pm, or even earlier, and it gets me up and eating quickly in the day, which sets my mood and metabolism to a healthier state. It also gives me plenty of time for a morning workout, which removes the need to find time for it at the end of the day. This process gets me moving on my work faster and snaps me out of feeling behind, which is emotionally draining—I feel ahead of the game instead! And the after-work rest of the day is mine to enjoy.

I could add that work-life balance, or balance of any kind, is not something you achieve and have forever; rather, it is something you have to actively maintain and coordinate. It is easy to slip back into old habits.

Hin Lai

Hin Lai, TrainedTo

I often find myself working from the moment I wake up, to the point where my brain can no longer function anymore (sometimes this goes on until midnight). With that said, despite always wanting to do more, there are a few things that are non-negotiable in my daily activities.

I strongly believe that treating my body well will allow me to perform and make smart decisions every day. That’s why every day, since I started this business, there are two things I’ve never failed to do. The first is eating a big, healthy and filling breakfast. These can sometimes take 30-45 minutes every morning to put together, but they’re worth it because they fuel me and keep me energized for the day. The second item is going to the gym. The gym allows me to take my mind away from the business for at least an hour, and empty my thoughts. Despite usually feeling physically beat up afterwards, I always come home refreshed, recharged and clearer on what I need to do.

Finally, I’ve recently started making a point to try new things. Whether this is a new festival that I’ve never been to or simply a new restaurant, the excitement of trying something different changes things up from the mundane, day-to-day tasks in business.

Brew Wizards

Norm Reynolds, Brew Wizards Board Game Café

It’s not always easy to find a work-life balance but having a business partner to help shoulder the burdens really helps because we have agreed to always be watching out for each other and make sure that the other is getting sufficient time away from the business. During the heavier weeks, I do my best to call my wife, but I always make sure that if I’m going to talk to her, she has my full attention. It’s not difficult to find 5-10 minutes in a day to focus on loved ones. Never let your loved ones feel like they’re less valuable to you than your business. When you spend time with them, be there. Put a measure into place that allows you to step away from the business for a short time; don’t take work calls at family dinner. It’s the little things that add up and they’ll help you feel more relaxed. In the end, the main thing that helps me find balance is open and honest communication 100% of the time. I find honesty lends itself better to others understanding.

Tim Decker

Tim Decker, Kaptcher Media Inc. & My Lil’ Healthmart

What I like to do is I usually take Sunday’s off as a day to truly devote to myself and rest, recover and recharge. On Sunday’s I like to do as little as possible, I read, watch TV, and do something interesting or stimulating. Maybe go to a restaurant, visit some sights or just head out around town or to the country with my girlfriend. Sunday’s are also a rest day from my ongoing self-care activity of going to the gym, which I do six days a week. Lastly I believe exploring the world through travel is good for the soul, business, perspective and just overall well rounded character. There is no better education than travel and it applies to all areas of your life.

Fresh Adventures Tour

Alex Ross, Fresh Adventures

Starting an adventure tourism business is my life dream. When the tours and adventure stop there is tons of work to do, not to mention the two years of financial planning, insurance policies and license applications before I even opened the doors.

Although the ideal of working for myself and not having to answer to a boss is great, the long hours and tough work life balance can be a challenge. One of the toughest aspects for me is that I would really like to do some more traveling, but finding the time and money will be very difficult. I am working to make the seasonality of my industry work to my advantage, along with using applications and technology to make a lot of my off season tasks possible from anywhere in the world. License renewals, wholesale contracts and launching advertisements is more and more achievable from anywhere with mobile internet, tablets and applications like Google For Work.

Embracing the same applications and tools everyday allows me to keep on top of my workload while hanging out with friends and making sure I live the active lifestyle that defines me.”

Dani Shaw

Dani Shaw, Tribe of Lambs

Self-Care is a constant conversation (and balancing act) for an entrepreneur and mom of two busy children. In the last year I have started many different self-care practices, and I notice a difference in my productivity and peace of mind when I am consistent with them.  A healthy, happy mind serves my company as much as it does me! These are my favourite, and most effective practices:

1) Yoga, even small 10-15min intervals of yoga and breathing make such a difference!
2) Eating healthy- having frequent small meals/snacks that include some form of protein or healthy fat.
3) Setting business hours AND sticking to them, keeps me productive, ‘on the ball’, and not stressing about the company ALL day and night.
4) A monthly massage is amazing to decompress, relax, and think of nothing.
5) Making sure I set time to socialize with my favourite people, great for self-care, and also sparks many great business ideas in the process.
6) Winding down and treating myself to a hot cup of detox tea with honey at the end of the day to celebrate my accomplishments… wine also will suffice!

Mel Bertrand

Malorie Bertrand, EITHER/OR

A little more than two months to go until my online sustainable fashion shop officially launches and I’m already thinking about how I’m going to stay healthy and calm during this (what can be) a hectic time. After all, I’ll still be working full-time until my business has grown enough in the next few years to sustain me financially.

After spreading myself too thin over the course of my twenties with multiple jobs held at the same time, double-booking myself for events and saying “yes” to just about every opportunity that came my way, I’ve learned to keep things as simple as possible. I know that working out at lunch is the best way for me to commit to a healthy exercise routine. Evenings are just not realistic for me, but I can easily hop over to the gym across from my work three times a week and get an extra burst of energy to carry me through the afternoon.

I’ve also committed to getting at least 7.5 hours of sleep a night. I know, what? No sleepless nights slaving away at my computer? Nope. My business is a slow fashion business and I’m going to run it within this same slow, sane, healthy model. But, I know that in order for me to feel okay about heading to bed at a reasonable hour, I need to rely on online tools to automate as much of my business as I can. Doing this will give me the mind space to properly run a successful business and be present with family and friends. What’s the point in running a business if you can’t enjoy yourself while doing it?

What are your self-care practices? Share on Twitter by tagging @Futurpreneur and using #SelfCare.

Le dimanche 24 juillet marque la journée internationale des autosoins. S’autosoigner, c’est prendre soin de soi, c’est déterminer ses besoins et faire le nécessaire pour les combler au quotidien.

En tant qu’entrepreneurs, nous menons généralement une vie si chaotique et frénétique que nous oublions l’importance de prendre du temps pour nous (en dehors du travail). Pourtant, savoir concilier la vie personnelle et la vie professionnelle est non seulement bon pour sa santé mentale et physique, mais pour son entreprise.

Afin de sensibiliser les entrepreneurs et tous les autres bourreaux de travail sur ce sujet, nous avons demandé à quelques Futurpreneurs de nous parler des pour soins qu’ils se prodiguent pour se garder en santé et prendre soin de leur entreprise.

ErinFitzpatrick_RADLEY

Erin Fitzpatrick, de RADLEY

En tant qu’entrepreneur, je comprends maintenant plus que jamais que tout repose sur ma santé. Pour que mon entreprise fonctionne bien et pour avoir toute l’énergie dont j’ai besoin, je dois être en bonne santé… autant mentale que physique. Ma routine d’autosoin est une combinaison de course, de yoga ou de méditation, de cours de conditionnement physique pour elle, de Lagree et de cardiovélo. Habituellement, j’en fais cinq fois par semaine. Je trouve que diversifier les activités les rend plus intéressantes et amusantes. On connaît tous les bienfaits de l’activité physique sur le corps, mais les études s’entendent aussi pour dire que l’activité physique améliore considérablement le bien-être mental, le fonctionnement cognitif et la qualité du sommeil. Des avantages considérables!

Le bien-être émotionnel est aussi extrêmement important pour moi. Chaque semaine, je m’assure de passer du temps de qualité avec ma famille et mes amis.  Une vraie nourriture pour l’âme! Parlant de nourriture… Je crois fermement que tout le monde devrait prendre une vraie pause pour dîner au travail. Peu importe combien nous sommes occupés au studio RADLEY, nous nous éloignons toujours de notre bureau le midi pour recharger nos batteries. Grâce à cette pause de mi-journée, nous revenons au travail avec l’esprit clair et détendu, prêts à relever de nouveaux défis avec une perspective nouvelle. Vivement le grand retour de la pause du midi!

Melissa Jirovec

Melissa Jirovec, de Melissa Jirovec ABI Caregiver Coaching Services

Je ne savais vraiment ce que signifiait « être occupée » jusqu’à ce que je devienne une aidante naturelle à temps plein. Mon mari a souffert d’un traumatisme crânien après un accident de VTT. Du jour au lendemain, j’ai dû travailler avec une équipe de soin, participer à des séances de thérapies, gérer les finances, attendre infiniment pour des rendez-vous, etc. Malgré tout ce que j’avais à faire, j’étais déterminée à aider les soignants. C’est ce qui m’a inspirée à lancer ma propre entreprise. J’avais tellement d’objectifs et de responsabilités… J’ai dû rapidement apprendre à prendre soin de moi pour ne pas me retrouver au bord de l’épuisement.

J’en suis donc venue à dresser un plan d’autosoin, juste pour moi. J’avais besoin d’inclure à mon horaire des habitudes qui m’aideraient à rester concentrée, énergisée et organisée. D’abord, prendre l’air chaque jour était très important pour moi, même si ce n’était qu’une brève promenade dans le quartier. J’avais besoin d’aller dehors pour me détendre et garder le cap. J’ai aussi découvert que faire 20 à 45 minutes d’activité physique augmentait mon niveau d’énergie et me gardait motivée. Enfin, tenir un journal était un excellent moyen de clarifier mes objectifs, de mesurer mon progrès et d’évacuer mes émotions. Ces trois saines habitudes de vie m’ont permis de rester en santé et d’être productive malgré un horaire anarchique.

Broya

Timothy Sotoadeh, de Broya

Prendre soin de moi est un aspect extrêmement important de ma vie. Qu’on soit un entrepreneur ou non, il faut d’abord prendre soin de soi pour pouvoir prendre bien soin des autres.

Chaque matin, je passe la première heure à boire de l’eau, à bouger et à méditer. Je le fais dans cet ordre. Ma routine matinale d’activité physique dure de dix à trente minutes. Le but est de faire savoir à mon corps qu’une nouvelle journée commence. Après cette séance de mouvements légers, je médite pendant trente minutes. Pas de mantras, pas de musique. Seulement moi et mes pensées pendant une demi-heure pour être dans le moment présent et m’y abandonner complètement.

Cette routine matinale a été cruciale pour m’éviter de me sentir épuisé ou dépassé par le cortège de tâches et d’imprévus qui vient avec une nouvelle entreprise. Je ne peux pas dire que cela ne m’arrive plus; quand on choisit d’avoir sa propre entreprise, on accepte de vivre avec ces sentiments. Mais, quand cela m’arrive, j’ai une routine qui me permet de garder les deux pieds sur terre et de revenir au travail avec les idées claires et un bon niveau de concentration.

GlowShack

Matt Teichmann, GlowShack

Pour reprendre des forces et me sentir heureux, j’ai appris, accepté et adopté de nouvelles règles de vie. Elles m’aident à composer avec la réalité excitante – mais parfois épuisante – du démarrage et de la gestion d’une entreprise. Voici quelques-uns de mes remèdes :

  • Du temps avec mes amis et ma famille
  • Les jeux vidéo et la baladodiffusion
  • Le montage vidéo et la conception graphique
  • Des sorties avec ma copine

En somme, j’encourage tous les entrepreneurs à se trouver des solutions saines, plaisantes et réalistes. Prenez du temps pour vous, parce qu’en fin de compte, vous êtes la seule personne qui peut voir à ce que vous viviez votre vie à son plein potentiel.

Xona

Matthew Doucette, Xona Games Inc.

Quand je suis occupé, ce qui arrive souvent, je constate que l’activité physique et la conciliation travail-vie personnelle sont les deux aspects de ma vie qui en prennent pour leur rhume. C’est tellement facile de rester à l’intérieur et de travailler une heure de plus, et de le répéter jour après jour. Quelques semaines plus tard, la nouvelle (et mauvaise) habitude est prise. Ma solution?

Je me lève deux heures plus tôt! Donc à six heures plutôt qu’à huit. Cette routine a changé ma vie de plein de belles façons. C’est comme si je gagnais deux heures par jour! Ma journée de travail peut donc se terminer sans problème à 17 h ou même avant. Parce que je me lève et mange plus tôt, mon humeur et mon métabolisme se portent mieux.  Et comme j’ai amplement le temps de m’entraîner le matin, je n’ai plus besoin de chercher du temps le faire le soir. En commençant plus tôt à travailler, je ne me sens plus en retard, une sensation qui tire tellement de jus! Au contraire, je sens que j’ai une longueur d’avance et quand la journée de travail est finie, la soirée m’appartient.

J’ajouterais que l’équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle –  tout équilibre en fait – n’est jamais acquis. Il faut toujours faire un effort pour le maintenir. Il est si facile de retomber dans ses vieilles habitudes!

Hin Lai

Hin Lai, de TrainedTo

Je me retrouve souvent à travailler dès le réveil et jusqu’à ce que mon cerveau ne réponde plus (ce qui peut aller jusqu’à minuit, parfois). Cela étant dit, même si je veux toujours en faire plus, certaines choses ne sont pas négociables et doivent faire partie de mon quotidien.

Je crois fermement qu’en traitant bien mon corps, je serai plus efficace et pourrai prendre de meilleures décisions. Voilà pourquoi, depuis que j’ai lancé mon entreprise, il y a deux choses que je n’omets jamais de faire chaque jour. La première, c’est manger un gros déjeuner, sain et nourrissant. Ces déjeuners peuvent parfois me demander de 30 à 45 minutes chaque matin, mais ils valent le coup parce qu’ils me donnent de l’énergie pour la journée. La deuxième, c’est aller au gym. Le gym me permet de me changer les idées du travail pendant au moins une heure, et faire le vide. Même si je me sens un peu fatigué physiquement après l’entraînement, je reviens toujours à la maison revigoré, revitalisé et je vois plus clair.

Et récemment, je me suis fait un point d’honneur d’essayer de nouvelles choses. Qu’il s’agisse d’un nouveau festival auquel je ne suis jamais allé ou d’un nouveau restaurant tout simplement, essayer quelque chose de nouveau me change des tâches banales et quotidiennes du boulot.

Brew Wizards

Norm Reynolds, de Brew Wizards Board Game Café

Il n’est pas toujours facile de concilier travail et famille, mais avoir un partenaire d’affaires pour partager le fardeau aide grandement. Nous nous sommes entendus pour veiller l’un sur l’autre pour que chacun puisse avoir du temps loin du travail. Pendant les semaines plus chargées, je fais de mon mieux pour trouver le temps d’appeler mon épouse. Et lorsque je le fais, je lui donne toute mon attention. Ce n’est pas difficile de trouver cinq ou dix minutes dans une journée pour ceux qu’on aime. D’ailleurs, il ne faut jamais leur donner l’impression de valoir moins que notre entreprise. Quand vous passez du temps avec eux, soyez là en entier. Faites ce qu’il faut pour laisser le travail de côté pendant un moment; par exemple, ne répondez pas au téléphone pendant le repas familial. Ce sont toutes ces petites choses qui feront de vous quelqu’un de plus détendu. Pour conclure, ce qui m’aide le plus à trouver l’équilibre, c’est une communication ouverte et honnête en tout temps. Je pense que l’honnêteté est le secret pour bien se comprendre.

Tim Decker

Tim Decker, de Kaptcher Media Inc. et de My Lil’ Healthmart

J’aime prendre le dimanche de congé pour me consacrer pleinement à moi-même, me reposer, reprendre des forces et me ressourcer. Le dimanche, j’aime me la couler douce; je lis, je regarde la télé et je fais quelque chose d’intéressant et de stimulant, comme manger au restaurant, visiter des lieux ou simplement aller en ville ou en campagne avec ma copine. Le dimanche est aussi un jour où je prends congé de ma routine quotidienne, celle d’aller au gym, car j’y vais six jours par semaine. Finalement, je crois qu’explorer le monde en voyageant est bon pour l’âme et les affaires, pour élargir sa perspective et développer sa personnalité. Il n’y a pas meilleure école que le voyage et ses enseignements servent dans toutes les sphères de la vie.

Fresh Adventures Tour

Alex Ross, de Fresh Adventures

Lancer une entreprise de tourisme d’aventure était le rêve de ma vie. Bien sûr, quand le voyage ou l’aventure prend fin, une tonne de travail m’attend. C’est sans parler des deux années de paperasse – planification financière, polices d’assurance et demandes de licences – qui ont précédé l’ouverture.

Même si j’aime travailler pour moi-même et être mon propre patron, les longues heures de travail et l’équilibre travail-vie personnelle constituent un défi. L’un des points que je trouve le plus difficile, c’est que mon envie de voyager davantage est limitée par des contraintes de temps et d’argent. Je veux profiter du caractère saisonnier de mon domaine pour effectuer toutes mes tâches hors-saison de partout dans le monde grâce aux ressources technologiques. Parce qu’avec l’Internet, les tablettes et des applications comme Google For Work, il est de plus en plus possible de renouveler des licences, de signer des contrats de vente en gros et de lancer des campagnes publicitaires de partout dans le monde.

En utilisant chaque jour les mêmes applications, les mêmes outils, je reste au-dessus de mes affaires tout en profitant de mes amis et en ayant un style de vie actif à mon image.

Dani Shaw

Dani Shaw, de Tribe of Lambs

Pour une entrepreneure et mère de deux enfants à l’horaire chargé, prendre soin de soi est toujours un sujet de conversation (et une question d’équilibre). Au cours de la dernière année, j’ai pris différentes habitudes pour prendre soin de moi. Quand je les suis régulièrement, je remarque que je suis plus productive et que j’ai l’esprit plus tranquille.  Un esprit sain et heureux est aussi bon pour mon entreprise que pour moi! Voici mes habitudes favorites – et les plus efficaces aussi :

1) Pratiquer le yoga et la respiration : même de courtes séances de dix ou quinze minutes font une grande différence!
2) Manger sainement : manger fréquemment de petits repas ou des collations riches en protéines ou en bons gras.
3) Définir un horaire travail ET le respecter : de cette façon, je reste productive, sur un pied d’alerte, et je ne pense plus à l’entreprise JOUR ET NUIT.
4) Me faire masser chaque mois, c’est fantastique pour décompresser, me détendre et faire le vide.
5) Trouver du temps pour socialiser avec les gens que je préfère, c’est très bon pour moi et c’est aussi le point de départ d’excellents projets d’affaires.
6) Décompresser et me dorloter avec une bonne tasse de thé « détox » au miel à la fin de la journée pour célébrer le travail accompli… le vin fait l’affaire aussi!

Mel Bertrand

Malorie Bertrand, EITHER/OR

Encore un peu plus de deux mois d’ici l’ouverture officielle de ma boutique en ligne de mode responsable et je me demande déjà comment j’arriverai à garder la santé et à rester calme pendant ce qui sera (peut-être) une période très mouvementée. Après tout, je continuerai à travailler à temps plein ces prochaines années jusqu’à ce que mon entreprise puisse me soutenir financièrement.

Après avoir passé la vingtaine à multiplier les emplois simultanés, à courir deux événements en même temps et à sauter sur chaque occasion qui passe, j’ai appris à me simplifier la vie. Je sais que m’entraîner pendant la pause du midi est la meilleure façon pour moi de faire de l’exercice régulièrement. M’entraîner le soir ne me convient pas, mais j’arrive facilement à traverser la rue jusqu’à la salle d’entraînement devant mon lieu de travail, trois fois par semaine, pour me donner un élan pour l’après-midi.

Je me suis aussi promis de dormir au moins 7,5 heures par jour. Oui, vous avez bien compris. Pas de nuits blanches à m’épuiser devant mon ordinateur? Non. Mon entreprise en est une de mode responsable. Je vais donc la gérer en suivant un mode de vie lent, sain et responsable. Mais, je sais que pour aller au lit l’esprit tranquille et à une heure raisonnable, je dois pouvoir me fier à des outils en ligne qui automatisent le plus de tâches possible liées à mon entreprise. J’aurai ainsi assez d’espace dans ma tête pour administrer une entreprise prospère et être présente pour mes proches. Posséder une entreprise doit être agréable, non?