Growth Accelerator

Launching a business is a major milestone for any burgeoning entrepreneur. However, growing a start-up is a whole different challenge altogether.

That’s why Futurpreneur Canada, in partnership with Spin Master Inc., launched the Growth Accelerator; an exclusive opportunity for growth-focused Futurpreneur entrepreneurs to receive coaching, resources and support from experts in order to maximize their chance of successfully scaling their business.

In order to be accepted into the program, candidates needed to demonstrate that they had an innovative and proven business model that offered a unique product or service, an improved process or the potential to impact the market in new ways.  After pitching live to a panel of judges, ten businesses were selected. The successful participants will be provided with travel stipends and accommodation for Accelerator workshops, 1-on-1 mentoring with executives, networking and pitching opportunities, and much more.

We received many first-rate applications, but a select few came out on top. Without further ado, here are our Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator winners!

505 Junk

505-Junk

Barry Hartman and Scott Foran are the co-founders of 505-Junk, an award-winning junk removal and recycling business based in Richmond, British Columbia. The business is one of the first of its kind to build custom trucks equipped with scales, which allows their truck teams to charge clients based on the exact weight of their material. 505-Junk partners with local charities and recycling depots and has diverted millions of pounds of waste from landfills. 505-Junk is launching its first three franchises this year and has plans to expand across North America.

Affordance Studio Growth Accelerator

Affordance Studio

Affordance Studio specializes in designing and developing serious games and gamification solutions. Based in Saint-Laurent, Quebec, they believe that game design thinking and video games can be used to solve any problem in the world. Since its inception in 2014, Affordance Studio has completed serious game projects and training solutions for academic institutions, hospitals and textbook publishers. Its founders also work to develop and promote the Quebec video game industry through their involvement in higher education, scientific and social research as well as through professional associations such as the Quebec Independent Video Game Developers Guild.

ChargeHub Growth Accelerator

ChargeHub

ChargeHub is a community-driven platform that allows electric vehicle drivers to locate and activate all public charging stations in North America with a single account. Its website and mobile application also help both current and future electric vehicle drivers plan trips, interact with the community, and quickly find answers to their questions. They also provide market reports to industry and government stakeholders. With over 200,000 users, ChargeHub is making the transition to electric vehicles seamless and enjoyable.

Evive Smoothie Growth Accelerator

Evive Smoothie

In 2014, co-founder Claudia Poulin made a conscious effort to consume more fruits and vegetables. The shift in her diet made her realize the overall positive effect that a plant-based diet can have on a person’s well-being. However, she, along with her partner Dominic Dubé, knew that many people lack the time and knowledge to make the same kind of lifestyle change.

This new understanding led the couple to launch Evive Smoothie in June 2015. The company’s innovative smoothie cubes allow people to prepare healthy, delicious smoothies quickly and easily, without using a blender. In fact, they were the first North American start-up to launch the concept. Today, Evive Smoothie products can be found in 350 stores across Quebec and Ontario.

Kotmo Growth Accelerator

Kotmo

Kotmo is a certified B Corp company that offers sustainable and local promotional items for corporations. At the heart of this innovative business is a commitment to being both human and design-focused, as well as helping to build a more responsible economy for their community and the world. For instance, they produce impact reports for every client to show how their investment affects the economy, environment, and community. Overall, Kotmo aims to change how promotional items are perceived and purchased, as well as help businesses tell the story behind their brand to their respective audiences.

Lumo Interactive Growth Accelerator

Lumo Interactive

Winnipeg-based Lumo Interactive is a company that provides custom interactive display software development and installation services for events and retail. The company’s co-founders have a background in game design and multimedia, and joined forces to create motion, gesture, and touch interactive solutions for business after spending time experimenting with the technology for personal projects. In August of 2016, the company launched LumoPlay.com, a platform designed to allow any advertisers, designers, or childcare professionals to easily and affordably create a custom interactive floor or wall using any type of large format display technology, including projectors, TVs and LED signage.

Naak Growth Accelerator

Naak

Based in Montreal, Quebec, Naak develops and sells modern food products made with entirely natural and eco-friendly ingredients. Naak’s mission is to help athletes go beyond their limits with super healthy and sustainable food products. Its first product is an energy bar made with an innovative protein source: crickets. Cricket protein has exceptional nutritional properties and cricket farming requires significantly less water, feed and space and it produces less greenhouse gases than any other protein source. Developed in collaboration with sport nutritionists, the Naak bars cover the energy needs of the greatest endurance athletes and is suitable as a snack for all active people – and also taste great!

Permission Click Growth Accelerator

Permission Click

Permission Click aims to revolutionize the administrative processes of K-12 school districts by delivering digital permission slips, automating internal workflows and approvals, and more. The business’ intuitive user experience, top-notch customer support, and laser-sharp focus on school needs have proven to be a winning combination as they have received numerous awards, including Scholastic Instructor Magazine’s selection of Permission Click as its ‘Teacher’s Top Pick of the Year’. The company is based in Winnipeg, Manitoba where it powers an ever-growing number of schools around the globe.

PropertyGuys Growth Accelerator

PropertyGuys.com

PropertyGuys.com is reconstructing real estate by helping buyers and sellers avoid the high cost of commission by connecting directly. It also gives sellers all the tools they need to sell successfully, without sacrificing expertise. Instead of the agent “jack-of-all-trades” approach, their system leverages real estate lawyers, certified appraisers, expert marketing professionals, and a call answering and appointment booking service to leave nothing to chance. The revolutionary real estate model has allowed them to grow into Canada’s largest private sale franchise network, with over 110 franchise locations serving more than 600 communities from coast to coast.

Wully Outerwear Growth Accelerator

Wully Outerwear

Wully Outerwear is an ethical lifestyle brand that designs and manufactures premium quality outerwear in Canada. Born from a love of wildlife and a vision of vegan outerwear, they strive to make the best jackets available worldwide while also making positive social impact along the way. Whether it’s creating employment opportunities in underserved communities, minimizing their ecological impact or saving the lives of animals, each decision is meticulously made with the same dedication and detail they put into the design of their garments. In the end, their goal is to deliver a product that makes their customers feel warm, both inside and out.

Once again, congratulations to our Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator winners! For more information, visit Futurpreneur.ca/GrowthAccelerator.

Tout bon entrepreneur en plein essor qui souhaite démarrer son entreprise doit franchir une étape marquante. Mais ce défi est tout autre lorsqu’il s’agit d’une jeune entreprise en démarrage.

Voilà pourquoi Futurpreneur Canada, en partenariat avec Spin Master Inc., a lancé le programme Accélérateur de croissance, qui représente une occasion unique pour les entreprises en quête de croissance d’obtenir l’encadrement, les ressources et le soutien d’experts pour maximiser leurs chances de passer avec succès au prochain stade de croissance.

Pour être admissibles à ce programme, les candidats ont dû faire la preuve que leur modèle d’entreprise était novateur et solide et qu’ils offraient un produit ou un service unique, une procédure améliorée ou la possibilité d’exercer un effet inédit sur le marché. Dix entreprises ont été sélectionnées à la suite de leurs argumentaires présentés en personne à un jury. Les participants retenus recevront l’équivalent des frais de déplacement et d’hébergement pour leur participation aux ateliers de l’Accélérateur, des rencontres individuelles de mentorat avec des cadres, ainsi que des occasions de réseautage et d’argumentaires, et bien plus encore.

Nous avons reçu de nombreuses demandes de premier plan, mais n’avons retenu que certaines entreprises qui se sont classées au haut de notre liste. Voici donc nos gagnants du programme Accélérateur de croissance pour l’automne 2017!

505 Junk Growth Accelerator

505-Junk

Barry Hartman et Scott Foran sont les cofondateurs de 505-Junk, une entreprise primée d’élimination et de recyclage de déchets, établie à Richmond, en Colombie-Britannique. Cette entreprise est l’une des premières de ce secteur à construire des camions adaptés, équipés de bascules qui permettent à ses équipes responsables des camions de facturer les clients en fonction du poids exact de leurs matériaux. 505-Junk collabore avec des organismes de bienfaisance et des centres de recyclage locaux. Ses efforts ont permis d’éviter que des millions de livres de déchets se retrouvent dans des sites d’enfouissement. 505-Junk lance ses trois premières franchises cette année et prévoit prendre de l’expansion à l’échelle nord-américaine.

Affordance Studio Growth Accelerator

Affordance Studio

Affordance Studio se spécialise dans le design et le développement de jeux sérieux et de solutions ludiques. Établie à Saint-Laurent, au Québec, cette entreprise a la conviction que l’approche conceptuelle du jeu et les jeux vidéo permettent de résoudre n’importe quel problème dans le monde. Depuis sa création en 2014, Affordance Studio a réalisé des projets de jeux sérieux et de jeux de formation à l’intention des établissements d’enseignement, des hôpitaux et des éditeurs de manuels scolaires. Ses fondateurs travaillent également à développer et à promouvoir l’industrie québécoise des jeux vidéo grâce à leur engagement dans les secteurs de l’enseignement supérieur, de la recherche scientifique et sociale ainsi qu’au sein d’associations professionnelles telles que la Guilde des développeurs de jeux vidéo indépendants du Québec.

ChargeHub Growth Accelerator

ChargeHub

ChargeHub est une plateforme communautaire qui permet aux conducteurs d’une voiture électrique de localiser et d’activer toutes les bornes de recharge publiques en Amérique du Nord au moyen d’un compte unique. Grâce à son application Web et mobile, les conducteurs et futurs conducteurs de voitures électriques planifient leurs déplacements, interagissent avec les membres de leur communauté et trouvent rapidement l’information qu’ils recherchent. Cette entreprise offre également des rapports de marché aux parties intéressées de l’industrie et des gouvernements. ChargeHub rend la transition aux voitures électriques harmonieuse et agréable pour plus de 200 000 utilisateurs.

Evive Smoothie

En 2014, la cofondatrice Claudia Poulin a fait un effort conscient pour consommer davantage de fruits et légumes. Ce changement à son régime alimentaire lui a permis de réaliser l’effet global positif qu’une alimentation à base de végétaux pouvait avoir sur le bien-être d’une personne. De plus, Claudia et son partenaire Dominic Dubé savaient consciemment que de nombreuses personnes manquaient de temps et de connaissances pour apporter ce changement à leur mode de vie.

Cette nouvelle compréhension de la situation a incité le couple à lancer le smoothie Evive en juin 2015. Les cubes de smoothies innovants permettent aux gens de préparer rapidement et facilement des smoothies sains et délicieux, sans avoir recours à un mélangeur. En fait, il s’agit de la première jeune entreprise nord-américaine à la lancer ce concept. Aujourd’hui, les smoothies Evive sont offerts dans 350 magasins un peu partout au Québec et en Ontario.

Kotmo Growth Accelerator

Kotmo

Kotmo est une entreprise certifiée B Corp qui offre des articles promotionnels locaux et durables aux entreprises. Le fondement de cette entreprise novatrice est simple : elle s’engage à toujours mettre l’humain et la conception au cœur de ses activités, tout en aidant à bâtir une économie socialement responsable pour la collectivité et pour le monde dans son ensemble. Par exemple, Kotmo produit des rapports d’impact pour chaque client afin d’illustrer dans quelle mesure cet investissement influence l’économie, l’environnement et les communautés. Dans l’ensemble, cette entreprise s’efforce de changer la façon dont les articles promotionnels sont perçus et achetés, tout en aidant les entreprises à raconter l’histoire de leur marque à leur public respectif.

Lumo Interactive Growth Accelerator

Lumo Interactive

Lumo Interactive est une entreprise établie à Winnipeg qui offre des services de développement logiciel et d’installation pour la création d’expositions interactives sur mesure pour des événements et les services de vente au détail. Les cofondateurs de l’entreprise travaillaient dans le domaine du jeu vidéo et du multimédia; après avoir fait des expériences avec la technologie dans le cadre de projets personnels, ils ont décidé d’unir leurs forces pour offrir aux entreprises des solutions interactives qui réagissent au mouvement, aux gestes et au toucher. En août 2016, l’entreprise a lancé son produit LumoPlay.com, une plateforme conçue pour permettre aux professionnels dans le monde de la publicité, du design ou de l’éducation de la petite enfance de créer facilement et à moindre coût un plancher ou un mur interactif sur mesure à l’aide de toute technologie d’affichage grand format, comme un projecteur, un téléviseur ou un système d’affichage à DEL.

Naak Growth Accelerator

Naak

Établie à Montréal, la société Naak développe et commercialise des barres énergétiques innovantes et entièrement naturelles qui se distinguent par leur faible empreinte écologique. La mission de Naak consiste à aider les athlètes à repousser leurs limites grâce à des produits alimentaires super sains et écoresponsables. Son premier produit est une barre énergétique faite d’une source de protéines innovante : les grillons. Les protéines de grillons possèdent des valeurs nutritives exceptionnelles et l’élevage de cet insecte nécessite nettement moins d’eau, de nourriture et d’espace et rejette moins de gaz à effets de serre que les autres sources de protéines traditionnelles. Élaborées avec l’aide de nutritionnistes du sport, les barres Naak répondent aux besoins des sportifs d’endurance en termes d’énergie et conviennent très bien comme collation pour toutes les personnes actives – elles sont tout simplement délicieuses!

Permission Click Growth Accelerator

Permission Click

Permission Click vise à révolutionner les processus administratifs des commissions scolaires primaires et secondaires en mettant à leur disposition des billets d’autorisation, des flux de travail internes automatisés et des autorisations numérisées, et bien plus encore. L’entreprise a créé une expérience très conviviale pour l’utilisateur, en plus d’offrir un soutien à la clientèle hors pair et de se concentrer vraiment sur les besoins des écoles. Ces décisions se sont avérées une combinaison gagnante, puisque Permission Click a reçu nombre de prix, notamment celui de « Teacher’s Top Pick of the Year » décerné par Scholastic Instructor Magazine. L’entreprise est établie à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, et ses services sont offerts dans un nombre sans cesse croissant d’écoles partout sur la planète.

PropertyGuys.com

PropertyGuys.com tente de redéfinir le monde de l’immobilier en aidant les vendeurs et les acheteurs à communiquer directement, éliminant du coup les coûts élevés des commissions des agents immobiliers. L’entreprise met à la disposition des vendeurs tous les outils nécessaires pour vendre leur propriété, sans pour autant sacrifier l’expertise nécessaire. Plutôt que d’adopter l’approche tout-en-un, son système met à profit des avocats spécialisés en droit immobilier, des évaluateurs certifiés, des experts en marketing et un système de réservation et de réponse pour la prise de rendez-vous – rien n’est laissé au hasard. Ce modèle révolutionnaire dans l’immobilier leur a permis de croître et de devenir le plus grand réseau de franchises pour la vente privée au Canada, avec ses 110 succursales franchisées qui desservent plus de 600 collectivités d’un océan à l’autre.

Wully Outerwear

Wully Outerwear est une marque qui encourage un style de vie éthique en concevant et en fabriquant des vêtements d’extérieur de première qualité ici, au Canada. Née d’un amour de la faune et de la vision d’une gamme de vêtements d’extérieur végétaliens, l’entreprise s’efforce de créer les meilleures vestes au monde tout en ayant un impact social positif. Que ce soit créer des emplois dans des collectivités défavorisées, réduire autant que possible son empreinte écologique ou sauver la vie d’animaux, chaque décision est prise avec le même dévouement et la même minutie que ceux appliqués à la création de leurs collections. En fin de compte, son but est d’offrir un produit qui permet au consommateur d’être bien à l’aise – moralement et physiquement.

Encore une fois, félicitations à nos gagnants du programme Accélérateur de croissance pour l’automne 2017!  Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, visitez notre site Accélérateur de croissance.