Not so long ago, failing as an entrepreneur wasn’t very well perceived. You simply didn’t speak about it. It was considered a better option to work for someone else your entire life than trying out entrepreneurship and facing failure.

The tide has slowly turned these past few years, and entrepreneurial failure has become less and less taboo. Then, it became a star. Failure is now praised as a driver to learn key lessons during an entrepreneurial project. Entrepreneurs and start-up coaches all agree that failure is the starting point to business success.

At first glance, you’d think that fear of failure in entrepreneurship would have greatly diminished in the past years. But it’s actually the other way around. In the past 15 years, fear of entrepreneurial failure has increased by 12% in the general population (GEM, 2016). While failure is no longer taboo today, that doesn’t mean it scares aspiring entrepreneurs any less.

Knowing that fear of failure is what stops most people from becoming entrepreneurs, it’s important to continue to reduce the stress associated it. That battle is far from over.

While stories of valuable failures exist aplenty, I’ve decided to introduce the phenomenon on another lens entirely. Although it’s good to know that a failure won’t kill you, it’s also important to know that failure can actually contribute to success. We’ll therefore see how failure can be valuable in entrepreneurship. Why do we speak to it in a positive light? Why is it necessary to fail?

A flawed definition of entrepreneurial failure

The first question to ask ourselves is this: what does it mean to fail on an entrepreneurial level, per se? Let’s check out its definition according to the Merriam-Webster dictionary:

“Failure: omission of occurrence or performance; specifically: a failing to perform a duty or expected action; lack of success:  a failing in business”

Doesn’t really invoke anything positive, does it? By definition, failure is a negative thing. It’s in fact the opposite of success. The word failure therefore has quite a negative connotation. Yet, in entrepreneurship, failure is simply part of the process. It’s actually not negative; in fact, it’s an inevitable reality.

From the first tentative steps of a business project, an entrepreneur is destined to come across all sorts of challenges. Whether it’s the product, operations, marketing initiatives and tech solutions, entrepreneurs will face small, medium and big failures.

Knowing that fact, is “failure” really the right word to use to define these challenges an entrepreneur will face along the way? Wouldn’t hurdle, obstacle, reorientation, inefficiency or iteration better describe these challenges?

Small failures and big failures

In entrepreneurship, there is a difference between small and big failures. For example, an inefficient marketing campaign would constitute a small failure, while bankruptcy would generally be considered a big one. We can therefore allow ourselves to rank failures so we can take a step back and look at them in a constructive way. A failing marketing campaign does not mean a failing business project. It’s rather the failed initiative among many others within a project that’s still alive and well.

Now, here are my questions to you: Are small and big failures linked? Do they influence each other? Does a small failure increase or decrease the probability of a bigger failure in the future?

Small failures lead you away from big failures

Let’s go back to the failed marketing campaign example. Let’s assume you’ve invested 2 000 $ in this campaign and it didn’t generate any sales. It’s an almost certainty that you’d consider it a failure. And that’s completely normal!

That said, a step back will allow you this see this episode as nothing more than a learning opportunity. More importantly, the lesson you take away will be a key factor for you to avoid a bigger failure in the future, namely an even more costly but still ineffective marketing campaign, a decrease in clients or even, ultimately, insolvency for your business.

Overall, a big failure can be avoided by accumulating little failures you can learn from. In our example, an unsuccessful marketing campaign will become a key learning experience which will give the entrepreneur the knowledge to avoid one or multiple, much bigger, failures in the future. (To learn more about effective marketing for small budgets)

Small and big failures are only a matter of perspective

While we now see the difference between small and big failures, we can still have the tendency to think of a business project failure as the pinnacle of entrepreneurial failure. Yet, it still doesn’t represent the ultimate failure. Taking a step back again, we can realize that a failed business project can occasionally be considered as a learning opportunity within an overall entrepreneurial pursuit.

In other words, if your project doesn’t work out, this doesn’t mean that all your entrepreneurial project will also fail. Quite the contrary! A lot of entrepreneurs go through three, even four failed attempts before giving life to a successful project.

As it is the case with small failures, big failures should be considered within a bigger perspective, meaning someone’s entire entrepreneurial life pursuit, their professional and personal life as a whole, and even for their generation as well as the next.

Within a generational perspective, how much significance does a failed business project really have? With that step back, it’s quickly easier to see small, medium or big failures in more relative terms.

The notion of iteration

The entrepreneurial pursuit is an iterative procedure, which means it’s based on the principal of trial and error (Stuart et al., 2011).

Without failed attempts, entrepreneurs can’t fully know what works and what doesn’t. Whether we speak of the typical client, the industry, the business or even the entrepreneur themselves, the principle always applies. In other words, each component of the entrepreneurial project needs trials and errors to progress into the optimal options.

Who is more likely to buy the business products and services? How do we go about informing them of the product benefits? What is the optimal level of service we should provide them? These are some of the fundamental questions only the iterative process can answer.

The value of failing

As you can well see, what holds the most value in a business is knowledge and skills acquired through experience. These skills and knowledge underlie the good business decisions that drive small businesses to the top. Yet, this know-how and knowledge can only be acquired through trial and error. In other words, the ability to make good business decisions develops over various failed attempts.

In short, remember this: (1) Failure shouldn’t hold any negative connotations in your mind, (2) small failures move you away from big ones, (3) in retrospect, a big failure is rarely as big as you think, and finally (4) the iterative process is the basis of the entrepreneurial pursuit. Making mistakes is therefore the only sure thing about entrepreneurship. And this is why, my dear entrepreneurs, failure is necessary to success in business.

Written by: Jean-Philippe L’Écuyer, entrepreneur-in-residence, Futurpreneur Canada

Get up to $45,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Crumpled paper on the desk.

Il y a quelques années, l’échec entrepreneurial était très mal perçu. On évitait tout simplement d’en parler. Il valait mieux avoir été employé toute sa vie que d’avoir essuyé un échec en tentant la démarche entrepreneuriale.

Au cours des dernières années, l’échec entrepreneurial a graduellement cessé d’être un tabou. Puis, il est ensuite devenu la vedette du moment. On fait désormais l’éloge de l’échec à titre de moteur d’apprentissage de la démarche entrepreneuriale. Les entrepreneurs et coach en démarrage d’entreprise s’entendent tous pour dire que l’échec est le point de départ du succès en affaires.

À première vue, cela porte à croire que la peur de l’échec en entrepreneuriat a globalement diminué au cours des dernières années. Pourtant, c’est tout le contraire! Depuis les 15 dernières années, la peur de l’échec entrepreneurial a plutôt bondi de 12 % dans la population (GEM, 2016). Bien que l’échec ne soit plus un tabou aujourd’hui, elle ne fait pas moins peur aux entrepreneurs en devenir.

Sachant que la peur de l’échec est ce qui freine la plupart des gens à devenir entrepreneur, il est important de continuer à dédramatiser le phénomène. La bataille est loin d’être gagnée.

Alors que les histoires d’échecs utiles pullulent, j’ai choisi de vous présenter le phénomène sous un autre tout autre angle. Il est bien de savoir qu’on ne meurt pas d’un échec, mais encore faut-il savoir en quoi l’échec peut aider au succès. Nous allons donc nous demander : pourquoi l’échec est-il utile en entrepreneuriat? Pourquoi en parle-t-on autant positivement? Pourquoi est-ce nécessaire d’échouer?

Une définition erronée de l’échec entrepreneurial

La première question à se poser est la suivante : qu’est-ce que ça signifie, en soi, d’échouer sur le plan entrepreneurial? Allons-y simplement avec la définition d’un échec, selon le Larousse :

« Échec : Résultat négatif d’une tentative, d’une entreprise, manque de réussite ; défaite, insuccès, revers. Subir un échec. »

Dites-moi, qu’est-ce que cette définition évoque en vous? Rien de positif vous me direz! Par définition, l’échec est un mal. Il s’agit de l’inverse de la réussite ou du succès.

Le mot échec a donc une connotation très négative. Pourtant, en entrepreneuriat, l’échec fait tout simplement partie du processus. Il n’a rien de négatif, il est simplement une réalité inévitable.

Dès les balbutiements d’un projet d’affaires, l’entrepreneur est destiné à rencontrer toute une série d’embûches. Que ce soit par rapport au produit, aux opérations, aux initiatives marketing ou aux solutions technologiques, l’entrepreneur essuiera une série de petits, de moyens et de grands échecs.

Sachant cela, est-ce qu’« échec » est réellement bon mot à utiliser pour définir toutes ces embûches rencontrées par l’entrepreneur sur son parcours? Est-ce que défis, obstacles, réorientations, constats d’inefficacité ou itérations ne seraient pas de meilleurs termes à utiliser pour décrire ces embûches?

Les petits échecs et les grands échecs  

En entrepreneuriat, on distingue les petits des grands échecs. Par exemple, une campagne marketing inefficace sera un petit échec alors qu’une faillite sera généralement considérée comme un grand échec. On peut donc se permettre de hiérarchiser les échecs afin de prendre un peu de recul. L’échec d’une campagne marketing n’est pas l’échec du projet d’affaires en soi. C’est plutôt l’échec d’une initiative parmi tant d’autres, au sein d’un projet encore bien en vie.

Maintenant, je vous pose les questions suivantes : Les petits et les grands échecs sont-ils liés? Ont-ils une influence les uns sur les autres? Est-ce qu’un petit échec augmentera ou diminuera la probabilité d’essuyer un grand échec ultérieurement?

Les petits échecs vous éloignent des grands échecs

Reprenons l’exemple de la campagne marketing inefficace. Supposons que vous ayez investi 2 000 $ dans cette campagne et qu’elle n’ait généré aucune vente. Il est presque certain que vous ressentirez cette embûche comme un échec. C’est normal!

Cela dit, un peu de recul vous permettra de concevoir cet épisode comme un simple apprentissage. Qui plus est, cet apprentissage aura été une clé d’évitement d’un échec plus grand dans le futur, notamment : une campagne marketing inefficace encore plus coûteuse, une baisse de clientèle ou même, ultimement, une insolvabilité de l’entreprise.

En résumé, un grand échec ne peut être évité que par un cumul des petits échecs dont on tire des leçons. Dans notre exemple, la campagne marketing infructueuse est source d’un apprentissage-clé qui évitera à l’entrepreneur un ou des échecs futurs bien plus grands. (Pour en apprendre sur le marketing efficace à petit prix)

Les petits et les grands échecs ne sont qu’une question de perspective

Alors qu’on peut maintenant départager les petits des grands échecs, on peut avoir tendance à placer l’échec d’un projet d’affaires au sommet des échecs entrepreneuriaux. Et pourtant, ce dernier est loin d’être l’insuccès ultime. En prenant un peu de recul, on se rend compte que l’échec d’un projet d’affaires peut s’inscrire ponctuellement comme un apprentissage au sein d’une démarche entrepreneuriale globale.

En d’autres mots, si votre projet ne fonctionne pas, ça ne signifie pas que l’ensemble de vos projets entrepreneuriaux échoueront également. Bien au contraire! Beaucoup d’entrepreneurs ont connu trois ou même quatre échecs avant de mettre au monde un projet à succès.

Tout comme c’est le cas pour les petits échecs, les grands échecs s’inscrivent dans une perspective encore plus large, c’est-à-dire le parcours entrepreneurial d’une personne, sa vie professionnelle et personnelle et même, sa génération ou les générations futures.

Dans une perspective générationnelle, quel est le poids de l’échec d’un projet d’affaires? Quand on prend un peu de recul, on relativise rapidement un échec, qu’il soit petit, moyen ou grand.

La notion d’itération

La démarche entrepreneuriale est un processus itératif. Cela signifie qu’elle est fondée sur le principe d’essais et erreurs (Stuart et al., 2011).

Sans essais infructueux, l’entrepreneur ne peut savoir ce qui fonctionne et ce qui ne fonctionne pas. Que ce soit au sujet du client type, de l’industrie, de l’entreprise ou même, de l’entrepreneur lui-même, ce principe s’applique toujours. Autrement dit, pour chacune des composantes du projet entrepreneurial, ce sont les essais et erreurs qui permettront de progresser vers les choix optimaux. (Pour en apprendre sur les décisions optimales)

Quelles sont les personnes les plus susceptibles d’acheter les produits ou les services de l’entreprise? Où trouver ces personnes? Comment leur communiquer les bénéfices de l’offre de l’entreprise? Quel est le niveau optimal de service à leur fournir? Voilà le type de questions fondamentales qui trouvent leur réponse dans le processus itératif de la démarche entrepreneuriale.

La valeur de l’échec

Vous l’aurez compris, ce qui a le plus de valeur dans une entreprise, ce sont les connaissances et les compétences acquises à travers l’expérience. Ce sont ces connaissances et ces compétences qui sont à la base des bonnes décisions d’affaires qui propulsent une PME au sommet. Or, ce savoir et ce savoir-faire ne peuvent être acquis qu’à travers les essais et les erreurs. En d’autres mots, la capacité à prendre de bonnes décisions d’affaires se développe au fil des échecs.

Retenez donc ceci : (1) L’échec ne doit pas avoir une connotation négative dans votre esprit, (2) les petits échecs vous éloignent des grands échecs, et (3) en rétrospective, un grand échec est rarement si grand et finalement (4) le processus itératif est à la base de la démarche entrepreneuriale. Faire des erreurs est donc la seule certitude en entrepreneuriat. Voilà pourquoi, entrepreneurs de mon cœur, l’échec est nécessaire au succès.

Rédigé par : Jean-Philippe L’Écuyer, entrepreneur en résidence, Futurpreneur Canada