FUTURPRENEUR CANADA PRIVACY POLICY

Your Privacy Is Important to Us:

At Futurpreneur Canada, keeping your personal information in strict confidence is a cornerstone of our program. To help us meet this commitment to you, Futurpreneur Canada has appointed Rebecca Dew as Privacy Officer to oversee Futurpreneur Canada’s privacy practices and our compliance with this privacy policy. If you have any questions or concerns regarding our policies and practices regarding your personal information, please see the “How to Contact Us” section below.

You Should be Aware of Your Privacy Rights:

We encourage you to read this privacy policy so that you can understand how we collect, use, disclose and protect your personal information. To help you understand our privacy policy, here are some important terms you should know:

  • “personal information” or “information” means information about an identifiable individual such as contact information, account numbers, or details such as age, marital status, and financial information. This information can be in any form including paper, electronic or voice recording.
  • Futurpreneur Canada, “we”, “our” or “us” means Futurpreneur Canada (formerly known as the Canadian Youth Business Foundation), which offers financing, mentorship and other business resources to young entrepreneurs.
  • “permitted or required by law” or “legal and regulatory obligations” means actions that we are permitted or required to do under any laws or regulations, or any rules, codes, guidelines, expectations or requests of any applicable regulator or self-regulatory organization.

About This Privacy Policy

This privacy policy applies to the collection, use and/or disclosure of any personal information collected by Futurpreneur Canada in the course of our interactions with you. By providing us with your personal information, you are consenting to our practices as described in this privacy policy.

This privacy policy or our other privacy related documents will be updated from time to time. You are responsible for reviewing this privacy policy periodically and informing yourself of any changes to this privacy policy. This policy may be found on the Futurpreneur Canada website or obtained by contacting our Privacy Officer (see “How to Contact Us”, below).

The effective date of this privacy policy is: July 1, 2014.

The Personal Information We Collect

The type of personal information we collect includes:

Contact – information that allows us to communicate with or contact you (e.g., address, telephone number, e-mail or other electronic address and fax number).

Identity – information that allows us to identify you (e.g., name, Social Insurance Number (SIN), date of birth, occupation, and government-issued identification).

Financial – information that allows us to determine your creditworthiness and your eligibility or appropriateness for a loan (e.g., employment and financial history with others, income, net worth, and credit reports).

Transactional – information about how you do business with us (e.g., payment history).

Relationship – information that helps us to understand more about you including how you like to do business (e.g., language and communication preferences, location and demographics).

Another Individual – information we request, or that you provide, about an individual other than yourself (e.g., spousal information and employer information). If you provide us with information about another individual, you must have the authority to provide this information and to allow us to collect, use and/or disclose such information in accordance with this privacy policy.

How We Collect Your Personal Information

We collect information from a variety of sources, but most of your personal information comes from you (e.g., loan applications, communications with us and user-generated content on our social media websites). We also collect personal information from other sources such as credit bureaus and references you have provided.

We may monitor or record communications between you and our representatives (e.g., telephone calls) in order to enhance and maintain our service quality, to protect you and Futurpreneur Canada, to confirm our discussions with you and/or for training purposes.

How We Use and Disclose Your Personal Information

We use and disclose your personal information for the following purposes:

Eligibility

  • Establishing your identity and determining your eligibility for a loan or other program (e.g., checking your credit reports).

Communicating with You

  • Sending communications by various methods including mail, e-mail, telephone, fax, or other telecommunication channels (e.g., to contact you regarding payment issues).

Providing You with Value

  • Reviewing and analyzing your application(s), transactions and other information to understand you and your business;
  • Supporting you in promoting your business; and
  • Managing and improving your overall experience with Futurpreneur Canada including monitoring, reviewing and/or improving our services and processes.

Managing our Business

  • Performing our everyday business and operations including record keeping or internal reporting;
  • Understanding and better managing our activities including conducting market research or analyzing data we hold about you;
  • Periodically updating your information with credit bureaus;
  • Managing Futurpreneur Canada’s credit, business and other risks as may be required to operate as an effective, efficient organization (e.g. generate monthly tracking reports); and
  • To meet tax or legal and regulatory obligations.

Service Providers

  • Employing third party service providers to assist with the administration and operation of our business. This could include disclosing your personal information with:

Partners – When you apply for a loan, we may disclose your information with co-funders, credit bureaus, and other organizations that help Futurpreneur Canada to provide funding and other services to you. For example, we may disclose information, such as your contact information, payment history and any new banking information, to the Business Development Bank of Canada; and

Financial Institutions – Once your loan has been approved, we may be required to disclose your information to our financial institution (currently, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce) to facilitate the disbursement of your loan funds as well as the collection of your monthly repayments.

Joint Accounts or Representatives

  • Where you hold a loan jointly with another person (e.g., a business partner) or where liability is shared with others (e.g., someone has guaranteed your loan), we may disclose your personal information with them (or their representative) in connection with your loan; and
  • Where someone is acting as your representative or we reasonably believe is acting with proper authorization (e.g., legal guardian, a person having power of attorney, estate representative, a lawyer or an accountant) we may disclose information with and take instructions from them.

To Protect You

  • Where you might be a victim of fraud, financial abuse or other illegal activity or where we have reasonable grounds to believe your interests can best be served by taking action, we may disclose your personal information with the appropriate legal or governmental authorities, your next of kin or any other appropriate person (e.g., notification of our concerns regarding potential financial abuse may be provided to a public guardian or trustee’s office). In these circumstances, we will only disclose information as we believe is reasonably necessary to protect your interests.

To Protect Us

  • We disclose information to protect our rights or interests. For example, where we are involved in judicial, administrative or regulatory proceedings or other similar processes, including enforcing our rights under the loan agreement (e.g., to collect on a debt), we may disclose your personal information. In addition, we may disclose your personal information in order to comply with any legal and regulatory obligations including any subpoena, warrant or any judicial, administrative orders or demands.

Protecting Your Personal Information

At Futurpreneur Canada we take the protection of your personal information seriously. We make every reasonable effort to prevent unauthorized use, sharing, loss or theft of your information.

Employees who have access to your information are made aware of the importance of keeping it confidential. Depending on the nature of the information, it may be stored in Futurpreneur Canada’s office and computer systems or in the record storage facilities of one of Futurpreneur Canada’s service providers.

Where we use service providers who might have access to your information, we select them carefully and require them to have privacy and security standards that are comparable to ours.

We use contracts and other measures with our service providers to maintain the confidentiality and security of your information and to prevent it from being used for any other purpose.

Futurpreneur Canada, service providers and other parties to whom we disclose information in accordance with this privacy policy, may perform activities outside of Canada. As a result, your information may be used, stored and/or accessed in other countries. However, all such information will be protected in accordance with this privacy policy. Please note that when your personal information is located outside Canada it will be subject to the laws of the country in which it is situated.

Retaining Your Personal Information

The length of time we keep your personal information will vary depending on your individual circumstances. We keep your information for as long as we reasonably need it to manage your loan portfolio or for legal and reasonable business purposes. For these reasons, we may keep your information beyond the end of your relationship with us. When your information is no longer required, we securely destroy it rendering it unable to identify you.

Keeping Your Information Updated

We take care to keep the information in our records as accurate, complete and up to date as necessary for the purposes for which it is used. However, we also rely on you to tell us when your information changes. You may update your personal information online by calling our Customer Updates Manager using our contact information in the “How to Contact Us” section below.

Accessing Your Information and Addressing Privacy Concerns

You have the right to access personal information we hold about you and to have any concerns you may have over our policies and practices addressed. In addition, you have the right to obtain information regarding our policies and practices with respect to our use of service providers outside Canada. To access your information, discuss your concerns or learn more about our policies and practices please see our contact information in the “How to Contact Us” section below.

How to Contact Us

Any comments or questions regarding your personal information or our policies and practices with respect to your personal information may be directed to privacy@futurpreneur.ca.

You may also call us at 416-408-2923 or send a letter to:

Rebecca Dew
Privacy Officer
Futurpreneur Canada
133 Richmond Street West, Suite 700
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2L3

POLITIQUE DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ DE FUTURPRENEUR CANADA

La protection de la vie privée est importante pour nous :

Futurpreneur Canada considère que la protection des renseignements personnels constitue une pierre angulaire de son programme. Pour l’aider à tenir cet engagement envers vous, Futurpreneur Canada a nommé Rebecca Dew agente de protection des renseignements personnels. À ce titre, elle aura pour tâche de surveiller les pratiques de Futurpreneur Canada en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et sa conformité avec la présente politique de confidentialité. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations à l’égard de la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez consulter la section « Nous joindre », ci-dessous.

Vous devez connaître vos droits en matière de protection des renseignements personnels :

Nous vous invitons à lire la présente politique de confidentialité afin de comprendre comment nous recueillons, utilisons, communiquons et protégeons vos renseignements personnels. Pour vous aider à comprendre notre politique de confidentialité, voici quelques termes clés que vous devez connaître :

  • les expressions « renseignements personnels  » ou « renseignements » désignent tout renseignement concernant une personne identifiable, tel que les coordonnées, les numéros de comptes, l’âge, l’état civil et les renseignements de nature financière. Ces renseignements peuvent être présentés sur toute forme, notamment sur support papier, en format électronique ou sur enregistrement vocal;
  • « Futurpreneur Canada », « nous », « notre », « nos », désignent  Futurpreneur Canada (anciennement la Fondation Canadienne des Jeunes Entrepreneurs), qui offre du financement, du mentorat et d’autres ressources professionnelles aux jeunes entrepreneurs;
  • « permis ou exigé par la loi » ou « obligations juridiques et réglementaires » désignent les mesures que nous avons l’autorisation ou l’obligation de prendre, en vertu de certaines lois ou règlements ou de règles, de codes, de directives, d’attentes ou d’exigences provenant de tout organisme de réglementation ou d’autoréglementation concerné.

À propos de la présente politique de confidentialité

Cette politique de confidentialité s’applique à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la divulgation de tout renseignement personnel recueilli par Futurpreneur Canada, dans le cours de ses interactions avec vous. En nous fournissant des renseignements, vous acceptez nos pratiques d’utilisation, telles que décrites dans la présente politique de confidentialité.

Cette politique, ainsi que tout document lié à la protection des renseignements personnels feront l’objet d’une mise à jour de temps à autre. La responsabilité de revoir cette politique de confidentialité périodiquement et de prendre connaissance de tout changement apporté vous incombe. Cette politique peut être consultée sur le site Web de Futurpreneur Canada ou obtenue en communiquant avec notre agente de protection des renseignements personnels (consulter la section « Nous joindre», ci-dessous).

La date d’entrée en vigueur de cette politique de confidentialité est le 1er juillet 2014.

Les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons

Voici les types de renseignements personnels que nous recueillons :

Coordonnées – renseignements nous permettant de communiquer ou d’entrer en contact avec vous (par ex., vos adresse, numéro de téléphone, adresse de courriel ou autre adresse électronique et numéro de télécopieur).

Renseignements d’identité – renseignements nous permettant de vous identifier (par ex., vos nom, numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS), date de naissance, profession et pièces d’identité émises par le gouvernement).

Renseignements financiers – renseignements nous permettant de déterminer votre capacité financière et votre admissibilité à un prêt ou la pertinence de vous en accorder un (par ex., vos antécédents professionnels et financiers, revenus, valeur nette et rapports de solvabilité).

Renseignements transactionnels – renseignements sur la relation d’affaires que vous entretenez avec nous (par ex., vos habitudes de paiement).

Renseignements relationnels – renseignements qui nous aident à mieux vous connaître et à comprendre comment vous faites des affaires (par ex., votre langue et vos préférences en matière de communications, votre lieu de résidence et votre situation démographique).

Renseignements sur autrui – renseignements que nous demandons ou que vous nous fournissez sur une personne autre que vous-même (par ex., les renseignements relatifs à votre conjoint(e) ou à votre employeur). Si vous nous fournissez des renseignements sur une autre personne, vous devez avoir obtenu l’autorisation de le faire et de nous permettre de les recueillir, de les utiliser ou de les divulguer, conformément à la présente politique de confidentialité.

Collecte de renseignements personnels

Nous recueillons des renseignements auprès de différentes sources, mais la plupart des renseignements que nous détenons sont ceux que vous nous avez fournis (par ex., dans vos demandes de prêt, lors de vos communications avec nous et par les contenus générés par l’utilisation de nos différents sites Web de médias sociaux). Nous recueillons également des renseignements personnels auprès d’autres sources, tels que les agences d’évaluation du crédit et les références dont vous avez fourni les coordonnées.

Nous pouvons écouter ou enregistrer les communications que vous avez avec nos représentants (par ex., les appels téléphoniques) afin d’améliorer et d’assurer le maintien de la qualité de notre service, de vous protéger, ainsi que Futurpreneur Canada, de confirmer nos discussions avec vous ou à des fins de formation.

Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements personnels

Nous utilisons et divulguons généralement vos renseignements personnels aux fins suivantes:

Confirmer votre admissibilité :

  • établir votre identité et déterminer votre admissibilité à un prêt ou à un autre programme (par ex., vérifier vos rapports de solvabilité).

Communiquer avec vous :

  • vous transmettre des communications par différents moyens, tels que la poste, le courrier électronique, le téléphone, le télécopieur ou d’autres moyens de télécommunications (par ex., communiquer avec vous concernant des questions de paiement).

Vous offrir de la valeur :

  • revoir et analyser vos demandes, transactions et autres renseignements afin de vous comprendre, votre entreprise et vous;
  • vous soutenir dans la promotion de votre entreprise;
  • gérer et améliorer votre expérience globale avec Futurpreneur Canada, notamment en surveillant, en révisant ou en améliorant nos services et nos processus.

Gérer nos activités :

  • assurer le fonctionnement quotidien de notre organisation par la tenue de dossiers et la production de rapports internes;
  • comprendre et mieux gérer nos activités, notamment en menant des études de marché ou en analysant les données que nous détenons à votre sujet;
  • mettre à jour périodiquement les renseignements vous concernant auprès des agences d’évaluation du crédit;
  • gérer les risques de crédit, d’affaires et autres, comme peut l’exiger l’exploitation efficace et  efficiente d’une entreprise (par ex., produire des rapports de suivi mensuels);
  • respecter nos obligations fiscales, juridiques ou réglementaires.

Les fournisseurs de services

  • Nous avons recours à des tiers fournisseurs de services qui contribuent à l’administration et à l’exploitation de notre entreprise. Vos renseignements personnels peuvent donc être communiqués à :

des partenaires – lors de la présentation d’une demande de prêt, nous pouvons communiquer vos renseignements personnels à des partenaires, en vertu d’accords de financement conjoint, de même qu’à des agences d’évaluation du crédit et à d’autres organisations qui aident Futurpreneur Canada à vous fournir du financement et d’autres services. Par exemple, nous pouvons divulguer des renseignements personnels, comme vos coordonnées, vos antécédents financiers et tout autre renseignement bancaire à la Banque de développement du Canada;

des institutions financières – une fois votre prêt approuvé, nous pouvons être tenus de communiquer vos renseignements personnels à notre institution financière (à l’heure actuelle, la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce) pour faciliter le versement de votre prêt et la perception de vos remboursements mensuels.

Les comptes conjoints ou les représentants

  • Lorsque vous contractez un prêt conjointement avec une autre personne (par ex., un partenaire dans l’entreprise) ou lorsque la responsabilité est partagée avec quelqu’un d’autre (par ex., une personne s’étant portée garante de votre prêt), nous pouvons divulguer vos renseignements à cette personne (ou son représentant) en ce qui a trait à votre prêt;
  • si une personne agit en tant que représentant ou si nous croyons raisonnablement qu’elle détient une autorisation appropriée pour ce faire (par ex., un tuteur légal, une personne nommée par procuration, un représentant successoral, un avocat ou un comptable) nous pouvons communiquer vos renseignements à cette personne et recevoir ses instructions.

Votre protection

  • Si vous êtes victime d’une fraude, d’exploitation financière ou de toute autre activité illégale ou si nous avons des motifs raisonnables de croire que la meilleure façon de servir vos intérêts consisterait à prendre certaines mesures, nous pouvons divulguer vos renseignements personnels aux autorités juridiques ou gouvernementales concernées, à vos proches parents ou à toute autre personne compétente (par ex., nous pourrions formuler nos inquiétudes concernant une exploitation financière potentielle au Bureau du tuteur ou du curateur public). Dans de telles circonstances, nous ne communiquerons que les renseignements personnels que nous croyons raisonnablement nécessaires pour protéger vos intérêts.

Notre protection

  • Nous divulguons des renseignements pour protéger nos droits ou nos intérêts, par exemple, lorsque nous sommes impliqués dans des procédures judiciaires, des démarches administratives ou réglementaires ou d’autres processus similaires, notamment pour assurer le respect de nos droits en vertu de l’accord de prêt (par ex., pour recouvrer une dette). Nous pouvons également communiquer des renseignements dans le but de nous acquitter de nos obligations juridiques et réglementaires, notamment lorsque nous recevons une assignation, un mandat ou toute autre ordonnance ou demande de nature administrative ou judiciaire.

La protection de vos renseignements personnels

Futurpreneur Canada accorde une grande importance à la protection de vos renseignements personnels. Nous déployons tous les efforts raisonnables afin de prévenir l’utilisation non autorisée, le partage, la perte ou le vol de vos renseignements personnels.

Les employés qui ont accès à vos données reconnaissent l’importance d’en assurer la confidentialité. Selon la nature des renseignements, ceux-ci peuvent être conservés dans les bureaux et les systèmes informatiques de Futurpreneur Canada ou dans les installations de stockage de documents de ses fournisseurs de services.

Lorsque nous avons recours à des fournisseurs de services qui pourraient avoir accès à vos renseignements, nous les choisissons soigneusement et exigeons qu’ils se conforment à des normes de sécurité et de protection des renseignements personnels comparables aux nôtres. Nous utilisons des contrats et d’autres mesures pour que nos fournisseurs de services assurent la confidentialité et la sécurité de vos renseignements personnels et ne les utilisent pas à d’autres fins.

Futurpreneur Canada, ses fournisseurs de services et les autres parties auxquelles nous communiquons des renseignements en vertu de la présente politique peuvent exercer des activités hors du Canada. En conséquence, vos renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés, conservés ou consultés en toute sécurité dans d’autres pays et être soumis aux lois de ces derniers.

Conservation de vos renseignements personnels

La durée pendant laquelle nous conservons les renseignements à votre sujet dépend de votre situation particulière. Nous conservons vos renseignements tant qu’il est raisonnable de le faire pour assurer la gestion de votre portefeuille de prêts ou à des fins juridiques ou commerciales raisonnables. Pour ces motifs, nous conserverons vos renseignements même après la fin de notre relation d’affaires. Dès que vos renseignements ne sont plus requis, nous supprimons de manière sécuritaire toute donnée permettant de vous identifier.

Mise à jour de vos renseignements personnels

Nous veillons à ce que les renseignements de nos dossiers soient aussi exacts, complets et à jour que nécessaire pour les fins auxquelles ils sont utilisés. Toutefois, nous comptons aussi sur vous pour nous informer des modifications devant être apportées, le cas échéant. Vous pouvez procéder à la mise à jour de vos renseignements personnels en ligne ou en communiquant avec notre responsable de la gestion des mises à jour des clients, dont les coordonnées se trouvent dans la section « Nous joindre », ci-dessous.

Accès à vos renseignements et préoccupations relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels

Vous avez le droit d’accéder aux renseignements que nous détenons sur vous et de vous attendre à ce que nous donnions suite à toute préoccupation que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de nos politiques ou de nos pratiques. De plus, vous avez le droit d’obtenir de l’information sur nos politiques ou nos pratiques relatives au recours à des fournisseurs de services se trouvant à l’extérieur du Canada. Pour accéder à vos renseignements personnels, discuter de vos préoccupations ou en savoir plus sur nos politiques et nos pratiques, veuillez consulter nos coordonnées, dans la section « Nous joindre », qui se trouve ci-dessous.

Nous joindre

Les commentaires ou questions portant sur vos renseignements personnels ou nos politiques ou pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels peuvent être envoyés à privacy@futurpreneur.ca.

Vous pouvez également nous appeler, en composant le 416-408-2923, ou envoyer une lettre à :

Rebecca Dew
Agente de protection des renseignements personnels
Futurpreneur Canada
133, rue Richmond Ouest, bureau 700
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2L3