Browse all stories by:

Anice Jewellery

anice_photo
  • Owner:

    Brittany Hopkins

  • Jobs Created:

    1

  • Inception:

    2012

  • Mentor:

    Angie Law

  • Industry:

    Fashion/Clothing Design

  • Location:

    Toronto, Ontario

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Anice Jewellery specializes in the art of mixing old gems and new materials, creating one-of-a-kind jewellery, in the heart of one of Toronto’s most eclectic communities, Kensington Market.

My Story

Inspired by her grandmother and designed with the intention of encouraging expression and uniqueness.

Brittany’s grandmother (Anice) always wore over-the-top jewellery to make a statement and stand out and she always encouraged Brittany to “dare to express herself.” For Brittany, jewellery became an obsession and her passion grew stronger when she worked at a bead store in Edmonton and learned various techniques. She became certified with a diploma in Business Administration, Entrepreneurship & Innovation and would later receive a diploma in Goldsmithing & Jewellery Arts in Toronto.

Anice Jewellery combines vintage jewellery parts with new materials and metal-smithing, juxta-positioning the old with the new to create pieces that are totally unique and never duplicated. Brittany specializes in custom jewellery and collaborates with clients to create timeless pieces. This collaboration also takes place for repairing or re-working old pieces, giving them new love. She holds open and private workshops, teaching customers basic jewellery techniques and how to repair or re-work their own jewels themselves.

Futurpreneur Canada provided Brittany with financing, mentoring and business resources and matched her with mentor, Angie Law. Angie continues to provide advice and support for the young entrepreneur while she grows her business.

“Entrepreneurship is the most rewarding, challenging and exciting thing you will ever do! Make sure your passion is strong, your idea and business plan are foolproof and that you know yourself well enough to bring your dream to life,” explained Brittany.

Advice

My mentor, Angie Law has really helped me with goal-setting and prioritizing of tasks. She has brought positive encouragement while reminding me to maintain a healthy work/life balance.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Anice Jewellery

Brittany Hopkins of Anice Jewellery. / Brittany Hopkins, d'Anice Jewellery.
  • Propriétaire :

    Brittany Hopkins

  • Emplois créés :

    1

  • Fondation :

    2012

  • Mentor :

    Angie Law

  • Industrie :

    Mode/Design de vêtements

  • Emplacement :

    Toronto, Ontario

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Au cœur de Kensington Market, l’une des communautés les plus éclectiques de Toronto, Anice Jewellery se spécialise dans l’art de jumeler des pierres précieuses anciennes à de nouveaux matériaux, créant ainsi des pièces uniques.

Mon parcours

Inspirée par sa grand-mère, Brittany conçoit des bijoux dans l’intention de favoriser l’expression et l’unicité.

Anice, la grand-mère de Brittany, portait des bijoux extraordinaires pour affirmer son identité et se distinguer. Elle a toujours encouragé sa petite-fille à « oser s’exprimer librement ». La joaillerie est devenue une obsession pour Brittany et un emploi dans une boutique de perles d’Edmonton, où elle a eu l’occasion d’apprendre différentes techniques, a attisé sa passion. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en administration d’entreprise, entrepreneuriat et innovation, elle a complété ses études en orfèvrerie et joaillerie d’art, à Toronto.

Anice Jewellery propose des pièces constituées d’éléments provenant de bijoux anciens, qu’elle agence avec de nouveaux matériaux et du métal forgé. Juxtaposer l’ancien et le nouveau permet d’obtenir des pièces toujours uniques, qui ne peuvent être reproduites. Brittany se spécialise dans la création de bijoux personnalisés et collabore avec ses clients pour réaliser des œuvres intemporelles. Cette collaboration précède aussi la réparation ou le remodelage visant à redonner une nouvelle vie à des bijoux déjà portés. Brittany anime des ateliers privés ou ouverts au public, dans le cadre desquels elle enseigne à ses clients les techniques de base en joaillerie et leur montre comment réparer ou remodeler eux-mêmes leurs bijoux.

Futurpreneur Canada a fourni à Brittany du financement, du mentorat et des ressources pour son entreprise et l’a jumelée à un mentor, Angie Law, qui la conseille et lui fournit l’appui nécessaire à l’exploitation de son entreprise. « Il n’y a rien de plus gratifiant, de plus stimulant et de plus passionnant que l’entrepreneuriat! Assurez-vous d’éprouver une passion véritable, d’avoir une idée et un plan d’affaires solides et de vous connaître assez pour transformer votre rêve en réalité. »

Conseil

«« Angie Law m’a aidée à établir mes objectifs et à prioriser les tâches. Elle m’a encouragée à aller de l’avant et à maintenir un équilibre sain entre mes activités professionnelles et ma vie privée. » »