Browse all stories by:

Dix au carré

David Barabé and Félix Marzell of Dix au carré. / David Barabé and Félix Marzell of Dix au carré.
  • Owner:

    David Barabé & Félix Marzell

  • Jobs Created:

    5

  • Inception:

    2012

  • Mentor:

    Gabriel Nadon

  • Industry:

    Other

  • Location:

    Montréal, Quebec

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

A guillotine in Toronto, a piano that paints in Qatar, a musical pine tree for the city of Montreal, a giant periscope as part of C2 Montreal activities… this is just a small sample of the crazy projects brought to life by Dix au Carré.

Launched in 2012 by Félix Marzell and David Barabé, Dix au Carré is a research and development laboratory specializing in creative design projects. In its 4,500 square foot Montreal studio, Félix and David have undertaken projects that mix creative artistry and performance technology at the request of artists, members of the entertainment industry, and companies from around the world. Dix au Carré takes a creative problem posed by its clients and moves it from concept to completion working with a variety of materials, including wood, plastic, metal and composite.

My Story

Dix au Carré was born from a meeting—a connection between two young creative minds with a passion for artistic performance and the mechanics involved in creating them. That passion brought them together, and the partnership was solidified by their complementary skill sets: design and user experience for Félix and engineering and modeling for David.

Their first collaboration was creating giant marionettes for the Just for Laughs Festival, for which Félix solicited David’s expertise. The project revealed something for Félix: “I believed that it would take four days to do and it took four hours! It was just amazing how our brains connected! After that first meeting, I said to David, ‘We should always work together, it’s magical what just happened!’” The next day, David proposed the idea of launching a proper business and, one week later, he resigned and signed a five year lease for the studio together with Félix.

It is through the CDEC and the grant “Jeunes promoteurs” that the two co-founders heard of Futurpreneur Canada and were able to receive the funding to start their business. Since then, Dix au Carré received many awards, including the Prix Montreal Inc. in 2013. Also, the mentor that Futurpreneur Canada connected them with played a part in the evolution of their start-up and "we felt unique by highlighting our successes, "says Felix.

Today, what surprises the co-founders is the quality of projects they are capable of accomplishing and in such little time. With each new project, they feel a unique excitement and they thrive on the sense of accomplishment. Félix believes that this feeling is common to all entrepreneurs who sacrifice enormously and work an incredible number of hours to achieve their dreams.

Advice

Being an entrepreneur in the start-up stage has a stunning effect. No one arrives there alone. You have to communicate your passion and encourage other players to follow suit. Being an entrepreneur is not so easy, so you must ensure that the small decisions you make every day will make you happy. - Félix Marzell”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Dix au carré

David Barabé and Félix Marzell of Dix au carré. / David Barabé and Félix Marzell of Dix au carré.
  • Propriétaire :

    David Barabé & Félix Marzell

  • Emplois créés :

    5

  • Fondation :

    2012

  • Mentor :

    Gabriel Nadon

  • Industrie :

    Autre

  • Emplacement :

    Montréal, Québec

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Une guillotine à Toronto, un piano qui peinture au Qatar, un sapin musical pour la ville de Montréal, un périscope géant dans le cadre de C2 Montréal… tous ces projets fous sont un bref aperçu des réalisations de Dix au Carré.

Créé en en 2012 par Félix Marzell et David Barabé, Dix au carré est un laboratoire de recherche et développement spécialement destiné aux industries créatives. Dans leur atelier de 4500 pieds carrés situé à Montréal, ils réalisent des projets uniques mêlant créativité artistique et performance technique pour des artistes, des acteurs de l’industrie du divertissement, des producteurs ou encore des entreprises internationales. A partir de la problématique de ses clients, Dix au carré conçoit et couvre l’ensemble des étapes de création en travaillant tous les matériaux : bois, plastique, métal et composite.

Mon parcours

La start-up est née d’une rencontre - fusion entre les deux jeunes concepteurs, passionnés autant par les performances artistiques que par les performances mécaniques. A leur passion commune se greffe des expertises très complémentaires, le design et l’expérience utilisateur pour Félix et l’ingénierie et la modélisation pour David.

Leur première collaboration remonte à un projet de marionnettes géantes dans le cadre du Festival Juste pour rire pour lequel Félix a sollicité l’expertise de David. Ce projet fut révélateur explique Félix : « Je croyais que cela allait prendre quatre jours à faire, ça a pris 4 heures! C’était juste hallucinant comment nos cerveaux ont connecté! En partant de cette première rencontre, j’ai dit à David : il faut qu’on travaille tout le temps ensemble, c’est juste magique ce qui vient de se passer! ». Le lendemain, David émet l’idée de créer leur propre entreprise et une semaine plus tard, il démissionne et signe avec Félix un bail de cinq ans pour louer un atelier.

C’est par l’intermédiaire de la CDEC et de la bourse Jeunes Promoteurs que les deux co-fondateurs ont entendu parler de Futurpreneur Canada et ont pu bénéficier d’un financement pour démarrer leur entreprise. Depuis, Dix au carré a reçu un grand nombre de récompenses, dont le Prix Montréal Inc. en 2013. Mis en relation par Futurpreneur Canada, leur mentor a joué un rôle de témoin dans l’évolution de leur start-up et « nous a fait sentir unique en soulignant nos bons coups », ajoute Félix.

Aujourd’hui, ce qui surprend les co-fondateurs c’est la quantité de projets qu’ils ont été capables d’accomplir et en si peu de temps. A chaque nouveau projet, ils ressentent une excitation tout particulière et s’épanouissent dans le sentiment d’accomplissement. De son coté, Félix pense que cette sensation est commune à tous les entrepreneurs qui sont prêts à sacrifier énormément et travailler un nombre d’heures incroyable pour accomplir leur rêve.

Conseil

«Être entrepreneur, à l’étape de la start-up, c’est un peu étourdissant. Une personne ne peut y arriver seule. Il faut communiquer sa passion et réussir à encourager d'autres joueurs à emboîter le pas. Être entrepreneur ce n’est pas non plus facile, alors il faut faire en sorte que les petites décisions que tu prends au quotidien te rendent heureux. - Félix Marzell »