Browse all stories by:

Éditions Exclamation Inc.

Mylène Montpetit of Éditions Exclamation Inc. / Mylène Montpetit, des Éditions Exclamation inc.
  • Owner:

    Mylène Montpetit

  • Jobs Created:

    2

  • Inception:

    2010

  • Mentor:

    Lise Malo

  • Industry:

    Education/Child Care/Child Enrichment

  • Location:

    Saint-Chrysostome, Quebec

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Éditions Exclamation specializes in the publication of educational digital books. Their unique and innovative products help children develop their knowledge on different topics, and improve their reading skills while learning.

My Story

Helping children stay in school

A mother of four, Mylène Montpetit began her entrepreneurial journey as an educator in a family daycare center. Seeking new challenges, she joined forces and skills with her spouse and business partner, Sylvain Blouin, to create their own products.

In order to accomplish their mission – help children stay in school – Éditions Exclamation Inc. hired knowledgeable professionals. Teachers and educators wrote materials that are available in four different levels, which are well adapted to the reading ability of students. The interactive digital books include 3D images that can be seen thanks to blue and red 3D glasses and read on computers, digital tablets or digital interactive screens. Appealing to youth, they stimulate them to learn to read.

These books are available in both English and French on Éditions Exclamation’s website and in certain Canadian and European digital libraries.

The CLD du Haut Saint-Laurent and SADC du Suroît-Sud supported Mylène and connected her with the Canadian Youth Business Foundation (CYBF), where she received financing, mentoring and business resources. Mylène was also matched with mentor Lise Malo, who provided advice and support to help the young entrepreneur run her business.

“Entrepreneurship allows me to learn and grow while meeting exciting challenges,” explains Mylène. “It is very rewarding to feel empowered, to capitalize on new ideas and creativity, and to reach my goals.”

Advice

My mentor, Lise Malo, contributes to my personal and business development. She encourages me to think, leading me to make the right decisions for my business’ future, and to reach my short and long-term goals. It is motivating and reassuring to benefit from the advice of someone who has her expertise.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Éditions Exclamation Inc.

Mylène Montpetit of Éditions Exclamation Inc. / Mylène Montpetit, des Éditions Exclamation inc.
  • Propriétaire :

    Mylène Montpetit

  • Emplois créés :

    2

  • Fondation :

    2010

  • Mentor :

    Lise Malo

  • Industrie :

    Éducation/Garderie/ Enrichissement des enfants

  • Emplacement :

    Saint-Chrysostome, Québec

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Spécialisée dans la publication de livres numériques éducatifs, Éditions Exclamation propose un produit unique et innovateur qui permet aux élèves d’acquérir des connaissances sur différents sujets, améliorant ainsi leurs compétences en lecture, tout en apprenant.

Mon parcours

Aider les jeunes à persévérer à l'école

Mère de quatre enfants, Mylène Montpetit a amorcé son parcours entrepreneurial comme éducatrice en milieu familial. Cherchant à relever de nouveaux défis, elle a uni ses forces et ses compétences à celles de son conjoint et partenaire d’affaires, Sylvain Blouin, afin de créer ses propres produits.

Pour accomplir sa mission – aider les jeunes à persévérer à l’école – Éditions Exclamation Inc. a fait appel à des professionnels du milieu scolaire. Des enseignants et des pédagogues ont ainsi rédigé des textes qui se déclinent en quatre niveaux, s’adaptant aux capacités de lecture des élèves. Présentés en images 3D captées à l’aide de lunettes (les verres rouges et bleus), les livres numériques interactifs de l’entreprise peuvent être lus sur un ordinateur, une tablette numérique ou un tableau numérique interactif. Ils comportent ainsi un attrait particulier pour les jeunes et les stimule dans l’apprentissage de la lecture.

Les livres sont disponibles en français et en anglais sur le site des Éditions Exclamation, ainsi que dans certaine librairies numériques canadiennes et européennes.

Le CLD du Haut Saint-Laurent et la SADC du Suroît-Sud ont appuyé Mylène dans sa démarche et l’ont mise en contact avec Futurpreneur Canada, où elle a reçu du financement, du mentorat et des ressources pour son entreprise. Elle a également été jumelée à son mentor, Lise Malo, qui la conseille et lui fournit l’appui nécessaire à l’exploitation de son entreprise.

« L’entrepreneuriat me permet d’apprendre et de grandir en relevant des défis, explique Mylène. Il est très valorisant d’être autonome, d’exploiter ses idées et sa créativité et d’atteindre les objectifs fixés. »

Conseil

«« Mon mentor, Lise Malo, contribue à mon développement personnel et à celui de mon entreprise. Elle encourage ma réflexion et m’amène à prendre les décisions appropriées pour l’avenir de l’entreprise et l’atteinte de mes objectifs à court et à long termes. C’est motivant et rassurant de bénéficier des conseils d’une personne qui possède une telle expertise. » »