Browse all stories by:

Fiddleheads Kids Shop Inc.

Lisa Donaldson of Fiddleheads Kids Shop Inc. / Lisa Donaldson, de Fiddleheads Kids Shop inc.
  • Owner:

    Lisa Donaldson

  • Jobs Created:

    7

  • Inception:

    2010

  • Mentor:

    Linda Daley

  • Industry:

    Retail

  • Location:

    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Fiddleheads Kids Shop Inc. is a new kind of lifestyle store for kids ages 0-4 that brings together awesome gifts, gear and accessories to help make parenting a little easier.

My Story

Building a supportive space for new parents

Lisa and her business partner, Nancy Rector, were both in places in their careers where they were ready for a change. Unable to find appropriate gifts for modern moms, they recognized a gap in the market – an opportunity for a values-based business designed around customer needs. They envisioned a place that brought together high-quality, eco-friendly, handmade and barely-used products in a warm, supportive boutique environment that was grounded in their local community.

Their products are stylish but practical, fun but worry-free because they’re health-safe and whenever possible, Lisa and Nancy have tried to find things that are local and made of sustainable, natural ingredients. They also provide support to parents through in-store tutorials and workshops on everything from cloth diapering to toddler discipline, to ease the nerves of overwhelmed parents.

The Center for Entrepreneurship Education and Development (CEED) connected Lisa with the Canadian Youth Business Foundation (CYBF), where she received financing, mentoring and business resources. Futurpreneur Canada matched Lisa with Futurpreneur Canada mentor Linda Daley who provides advice and support to help the young entrepreneur run her business.

“I love being an entrepreneur. Every day is a new thrill, a new challenge, and a chance to connect with, and help people. It touches on everything – creativity, organizational skills, general business knowledge, people management, financial planning, media relations, social marketing and much more,” explained Lisa.

Advice

As a new business, I don't think you can ever have enough experienced people there to help you. Having Linda Daley as a mentor was great because she provided a fresh perspective and vital business experience.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Fiddleheads Kids Shop Inc.

Lisa Donaldson of Fiddleheads Kids Shop Inc. / Lisa Donaldson, de Fiddleheads Kids Shop inc.
  • Propriétaire :

    Lisa Donaldson

  • Emplois créés :

    7

  • Fondation :

    2010

  • Mentor :

    Linda Daley

  • Industrie :

    Vente au détail

  • Emplacement :

    Dart, Nouvelle-Écosse

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Fiddleheads Kids Shop Inc. est une boutique nouveau genre pour les petits de 0 à 4 ans, qui offre des cadeaux et des accessoires épatants, ainsi que toutes ces petites choses fonctionnelles qui facilitent la vie des parents.

Mon parcours

Créer un lieu où les nouveaux parents se sentent soutenus

Lisa et sa partenaire d’affaires, Nancy Rector, se trouvaient toutes les deux à la croisée des chemins dans leur vie professionnelle. Incapables de trouver des cadeaux appropriés pour les mamans modernes, elles ont constaté une lacune dans le marché – et l’occasion rêvée de lancer une entreprise axée sur les valeurs et conçue pour répondre aux besoins des clients. Elles imaginaient un endroit qui réunirait des produits de haute qualité, écologiques, fabriqués à la main et presque neufs, avec un environnement de style boutique, chaleureux et positif, bien ancré dans la collectivité locale.

Leurs produits ont beaucoup de style, tout en étant fonctionnels et sans tracas, puisqu’ils ne présentent aucun risque pour la santé. Dans la mesure du possible, Lisa et Nancy tentent de dénicher des articles fabriqués localement et à partir de matériaux durables et naturels. Elles fournissent également du soutien aux parents, au moyen d’ateliers et de cours qu’elles offrent sur place et qui traitent d’une foule de sujets : de l’utilisation de couches de coton à la discipline pour les tout-petits. Ce tutorat a pour effet d’apaiser les parents dépassés.

L’organisme Center for Entrepreneurship Education and Development (CEED) a mis Lisa en contact avec Futurpreneur Canada, laquelle lui a accordé du financement, du mentorat et des ressources et l’a jumelée avec Linda Daley qui, à titre de mentor, lui offre ses conseils et de l’encouragement pour l’aider à exploiter son entreprise.

« J’aime beaucoup être entrepreneure. Chaque jour apporte son lot de joies et de défis et m’offre la chance d’entrer en contact avec les gens et de les aider. De plus, l’entrepreneuriat touche à tout : la créativité, le sens de l’organisation, les connaissances générales en affaires, la gestion des ressources humaines, la planification financière, les relations avec les médias, le marketing social et bien plus encore », explique Lisa.

Conseil

«« Je pense que, dans une nouvelle entreprise, vous ne pouvez jamais avoir trop de personnes d’expérience pour vous aider. Le fait de pouvoir compter sur Linda Daley a été très profitable, parce qu’à titre de mentor, elle a apporté une perspective nouvelle et une expérience des affaires extrêmement importante.» »