Browse all stories by:

Fine Line Homes Ltd.

  • Owner:

    Christopher Joseph McLaren

  • Jobs Created:

    1

  • Inception:

    2011

  • Mentor:

    Wayne Chiu

  • Industry:

    Construction/Skilled Trades

  • Location:

    Calgary, Alberta

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Fine Line Homes Ltd.’s mission is to be one of the most energy-efficient home builders in the country, using the latest in technology and innovation to provide customers with an affordable, custom-built dream home that goes beyond their highest expectations. Their eco-friendly focus helps customers save money while lowering the impact on the environment.

valleycollege.ca.

My Story

Thinking outside the barriers of conventional building

Christopher’s passion for building started when he was very young – at the age of twelve he constructed a small shed for his parents. For the last thirteen years he was involved in small construction projects and renovations in addition to working full-time in industries like Communications and Information Technology.

During his graduate studies in 2009, while building his own custom energy efficient home and holding down a full time job, something just clicked. Christopher knew he wanted to work for himself and do something that could make a difference. He became excited about doing something innovative and created a new home building company that would inevitably take him back to his roots in construction.

In 2012, Christopher has been busy working on four projects and looks to build six to eight new custom homes next year. Now that he’s growing the company he is realizing his dream and truly loves being an entrepreneur.

Bow Valley College connected Christopher with Futurpreneur Canada, where he received financing, mentoring and business resources. Christopher was also matched with mentor Wayne Chiu who provided advice and support to help the young entrepreneur run his business.

“I love the flexibility that owning my own company gives me and doing something I am passionate about where the sky is the limit and the future is what you make of it,” explained Christopher.

Advice

My mentor, Wayne Chiu, is an inspiration to me because of his desire to give back to the community. He is a true businessman with a talent to lead and direct. Through his wealth of experience and wisdom which he has obtained through persistence and hard work, he gives distinctive advice to help me move forward.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Fine Line Homes Ltd.

FineLineHomes_Chris
  • Propriétaire :

    Christopher Joseph McLaren

  • Emplois créés :

    1

  • Fondation :

    2011

  • Mentor :

    Wayne Chiu

  • Industrie :

    Construction/Métiers spécialisés

  • Emplacement :

    Calgary, Alberta

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

La mission de Fine Line Homes Ltd est de faire partie des constructeurs dont les maisons présentent le plus haut rendement énergétique, au Canada. À l’aide d’innovation et d’une technologie à la fine pointe, Fine Line Homes fournit à ses clients des maisons de rêve abordables, conçues sur mesure et qui vont au-delà de leurs attentes les plus élevées. En étant axée sur la construction écologique, l’entreprise permet à ses clients d’économiser de l’argent et de réduire leur impact sur l’environnement.

Mon parcours

Lever les barrières imposées par la construction conventionnelle

Christopher s’est découvert une passion pour la construction à un très jeune âge – à douze ans, il construisait une remise pour ses parents. Au cours des treize dernières années, il a participé à de petits projets de construction et de rénovation, tout en travaillant à temps plein dans les industries des communications et des technologies de l’information.

Pendant ses études universitaires en 2009, alors qu’il construisait sa propre maison éconergétique et qu’il travaillait à temps plein, il y a eu un déclic. Christopher savait déjà qu’il voulait être son propre patron et changer les choses. C’est ainsi que l’idée d’innover et de créer une nouvelle entreprise en construction, qui le ramènerait inévitablement aux origines de sa passion, a commencé à l’enthousiasmer.

En 2012, Christopher a complété quatre projets. Il prévoit construire de six à huit nouvelles maisons, l’an prochain. Maintenant qu’il se consacre à la croissance de l’entreprise, il réalise son rêve et aime vraiment être entrepreneur.

Le Collège Bow Valley a mis Christopher en contact avec Futurpreneur, où il a reçu du financement, du mentorat et des ressources pour son entreprise. Il a également été jumelé à un mentor, Wayne Chiu, qui le conseille et lui fournit l’appui nécessaire à l’exploitation de son entreprise.

« J’aime la souplesse que m’offre le fait de détenir ma propre entreprise. Je poursuis ma passion. Mes possibilités ne connaissent aucune limite et je tiens mon avenir en main », a expliqué Christopher.

Conseil

«« Mon mentor, Wayne Chiu, est une source d’inspiration pour moi, en raison de sa volonté à redonner à la collectivité. Véritable homme d’affaires, il a un talent pour mener et diriger. Riche de son expérience et sa sagesse, acquises par la persévérance et beaucoup de travail, il est en mesure de m’offrir des conseils judicieux qui contribuent à me faire avancer. » »