Browse all stories by:

#Hashtag Gallery

Graeme Luey and Johnny Hollick of #Hashtag Gallery. / Graeme Luey et Johnny Hollick, de #Hashtag Gallery.
  • Owner:

    Graeme Luey, Johnny Hollick

  • Jobs Created:

    4

  • Inception:

    2012

  • Mentor:

    David Nash

  • Industry:

    Other

  • Location:

    Toronto, Ontario

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

#Hashtag Gallery Ltd. is a contemporary gallery in Toronto’s Trinity Bellwoods area that offers emerging and mid-career artists a professional environment to display their work. Acknowledging the creative potential of the online revolution through its name, the gallery strives to push Canada’s next generation of talented artists to the forefront of the contemporary arts world.

My Story

Owners Graeme Luey and Johnny Hollick launched their business in 2012 after growing increasingly frustrated with the lack of job opportunities available in the city. “It’s often about who you know rather than what you know or how talented you are,” says Graeme, a trained graphic designer and web developer. “I was tired of looking for a job so I decided to go into business and work for myself.”

Besides providing the pair with the financial capital necessary to start #Hashtag Gallery, Futurpreneur connected Graeme and Johnny with a mentor that answered all of their business-related questions and provided moral support along the way. “Neither Graeme nor myself went to business school,” says Johnny, who works as a DJ on the side. “With our mentor’s help, we were able to get our business off the ground the right way.”

For Graeme, the best part of being an entrepreneur is having the freedom to create his own work schedule. “Being my own boss means I can set my own hours,” he says.

Johnny, on the other hand, appreciates being able to build something he can be proud of. “I like knowing at the end of each day that I’ve made something that is uniquely mine. Being an entrepreneur has allowed me to create a career that I’m interested in, rather than simply spending my time making someone else’s business successful. The feeling is truly exhilarating.”

Advice

Try it and see what happens. Starting your own business is a lot of work and it may not be for you, but it’s better to have tried it and to know for sure. You won’t go to work and complain about your boss if you are the boss. – Graeme

Do as much research as you can beforehand. It’s best to ask a lot of questions when you’re just starting out so that you avoid falling into any unnecessary traps later on. – Johnny ”

Parcourir les histoires par:

#Hashtag Gallery

Graeme Luey and Johnny Hollick of #Hashtag Gallery. / Graeme Luey et Johnny Hollick, de #Hashtag Gallery.
  • Propriétaire :

    Graeme Luey, Johnny Hollick

  • Emplois créés :

    4

  • Fondation :

    2012

  • Mentor :

    David Nash

  • Industrie :

    Autre

  • Emplacement :

    Toronto, Ontario

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Située à Toronto dans le quartier de Trinity Bellwoods, #Hashtag Gallery Ltée est une galerie d’art contemporain qui offre aux artistes émergents et en milieu de carrière, un environnement professionnel pour exposer leur travail. La galerie, dont le nom fait référence au potentiel créatif de la révolution en ligne, met sur le devant de la scène mondiale contemporaine la prochaine génération d’artistes talentueux canadiens.

Mon parcours

Parce qu’ils se sentaient de plus en plus frustrés face au peu d’opportunités disponibles sur le marché de l’emploi, les deux co-fondateurs, Graeme Luey et Johnny Hollick, ont décidé de démarrer leur entreprise en 2012. « La plupart du temps, les employeurs veulent d’abord savoir qui tu connais avant de s’intéresser à ton talent », explique Graeme, graphique designer et développeur web. « J’étais fatigué de chercher un travail, alors j’ai décidé de créer une entreprise pour travailler à mon compte ».

En plus de fournir le financement nécessaire à la création de #Hastag Gallery, Futurpreneur Canada a mis en relation les deux entrepreneurs avec un mentor qui les a accompagné et encouragé tout au long de leur aventure entrepreneuriale en les aidant à faire face aux difficultés. « Ni Graeme, ni moi-même avons étudié dans une école de commerce”, précise Johnny, qui travaille en tant que DJ en parallèle. « Avec l’aide de notre mentor, nous avons pu démarrer notre entreprise dans de bonnes conditions ».

Selon Graeme, le plus grand avantage lié à son statut d’entrepreneur est de pouvoir gérer son temps comme il le souhaite. « Être mon propre patron signifie que je peux décider de mon emploi du temps », dit-il.

De son côté, Johnny apprécie pouvoir construire quelque chose dont il peut être fier. « J’aime le fait de savoir qu’à la fin de chaque journée, j’ai créé quelque chose d’unique qui m’appartient. Devenir entrepreneur m’a permis de créer un plan de carrière qui m’intéresse, plutôt que de simplement consacrer mon temps à contribuer au succès de l’entreprise de quelqu’un d’autre. C’est un sentiment très exaltant ».

Conseil

«Essayez et vous verrez bien ce qui se passe. Démarrer sa propre entreprise nécessite beaucoup de travail et ce n’est peut-être pas fait pour vous, mais c’est toujours bien d’essayer pour en être certain. Vous n’irez pas au travail en vous plaignant de votre patron si c’est vous le patron. – Graeme

Faites autant de recherches que vous le pouvez en amont. Il est préférable de se poser beaucoup de questions lorsque vous commencez, cela vous évite de tomber dans tous les pièges inutiles par la suite. – Johnny »