Browse all stories by:

Offset Market Exchange (OMX)

Nicole Verkindt of Offset Market Exchange (OMX). / Nicole Verkindt, d'Offset Market Exchange (OMX).
  • Owner:

    Nicole Verkindt

  • Jobs Created:

    4

  • Inception:

    2012

  • Mentor:

    Jim Latimer

  • Industry:

    Computer/Software Applications

  • Location:

    Toronto, Ontario

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

OMX is an online subscription based platform to connect Canadian companies with large government contractors in order to help them fulfill their Canadian content obligations. The platform also helps those contractors manage, comply and track their obligations to buy Canadian.

When used at its highest capacity, corporations can search, filter, message, collaborate, track and store compliance documents on Canadian companies. They can then initiate government proposals and projects and track against contract obligations with the government and break down all Canadian jobs and spending per region (political riding in fact).

My Story

I was inspired after having to shut down a high tech “signature management” business that had been in operations for nearly 40 years, started by my family. There was a policy in place that was supposed to drive local content with government procurements, but we were never able to realize any benefit from it. I was inspired to help other small technology businesses in Canada connect with foreign corporations to drive sales. I was also passionate about helping big foreign companies track and manage and increase the value of their investments in Canada.

Advice

Focus on sales first. A good entrepreneurial friend once told me that “sales saves all sins”, and was she ever right.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Offset Market Exchange (OMX)

Nicole Verkindt of Offset Market Exchange (OMX). / Nicole Verkindt, d'Offset Market Exchange (OMX).
  • Propriétaire :

    Nicole Verkindt

  • Emplois créés :

    4

  • Fondation :

    2012

  • Mentor :

    Jim Latimer

  • Industrie :

    Informatique/Logiciel/ Applications

  • Emplacement :

    Toronto, Ontario

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

OMX est une plateforme d’abonnement en ligne, qui met les grands entrepreneurs du gouvernement en contact avec des entreprises canadiennes afin de les aider à remplir leurs obligations en matière de contenu canadien et à gérer, respecter et assurer le suivi de leurs obligations à se procurer des produits canadiens.

À l’aide de cette plateforme, les grandes sociétés peuvent rechercher, filtrer, envoyer des messages, collaborer, suivre et compiler les documents de conformité des entreprises canadiennes. Elles peuvent ensuite initier les propositions et projets publics, faire le suivi des obligations contractuelles avec le gouvernement et répartir les travaux et les dépenses au Canada par région (par circonscription politique, dans les faits).

Mon parcours

J’ai eu cette idée, après avoir dû fermer les portes d’une entreprise de haute technologie, en exploitation depuis près de 40 ans, qui avait été lancée par ma famille. Une politique nous assurait d’obtenir des marchés publics, mais ces derniers ne nous permettaient jamais de réaliser des bénéfices. J’ai alors pensé que je pourrais aider d’autres petites entreprises technologiques canadiennes à entrer en contact avec des sociétés étrangères afin de stimuler les ventes. J’avais également la passion d’aider les grandes entreprises à faire le suivi et à assurer la gestion et l’augmentation de la valeur de leurs investissements au Canada.

Conseil

«Concentrez-vous sur les ventes, d’abord. Une bonne amie entrepreneure m’a déjà dit : « Les ventes sauvent de tous les péchés. » Elle n’avait jamais si bien dit. »