Browse all stories by:

Permission Click Inc.

Chris Johnson of Permission Click Inc. / Chris Johnson, de Permission Click inc.
  • Owner:

    Chris Johnson

  • Jobs Created:

    5

  • Inception:

    2013

  • Mentor:

  • Industry:

    Computer/Software Applications

  • Location:

    Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Permission Click is a company and an application that creates digital permission slips and facilitates payment collection for kindergarten to grade 12 schools, allowing parents to approve attendance and pay for events in seconds on any device.

My Story

The idea for Permission Click started over a kitchen table discussion about the challenges a physical education teacher (and wife of one of the co-founders) was having chasing parents for her students’ permission slips. It was proving unnecessarily tiresome. Her husband, Scott Macaulay, came up with the idea of building an application to simplify the task. As an entrepreneurial lecturer at Red River College, he took the idea to an idea generating event ‘Ramp Up Weekend’ where Chris Johnson – a technology and software developer with sales and business planning experience – and Kevin Buckner – a Chartered Accountant who specializes in start-up accounting – took notice.

Once their partnership was formed, taking the idea to the next stage of development took a great deal of time, commitment, and research. “It’s all about creating something that can be built once, but used by many,” said Chris Johnson. “We spent a lot of time upfront focused on product fit and ensuring it was fully vetted by interviewing over 70 teachers, principals, administrators, and parents to understand what they needed and what would actually be used.”

The team tips their hats to the entrepreneurial spirit of the Winnipeg community as a great boost to their success. Johnson said, “It’s an amazing community of support. ‘Startup Winnipeg’, ‘Ramp Up Manitoba’ and, of course, a strong Futurpreneur Canada presence, along with several accelerators, and great government tax credits make it a great place to start a business.”

To date, a number of schools and districts (representing thousands of parent users and permission forms) are using the product.

Advice

Looking back on my first start-up venture, I wish I had the chance to integrate with other entrepreneurs and build an entrepreneurial community earlier. I can’t say enough about surrounding yourself with support. Having people around you who are going through the same thing is critical to survive the rollercoaster of start-up life.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Permission Click Inc.

Chris Johnson of Permission Click Inc. / Chris Johnson, de Permission Click inc.
  • Propriétaire :

    Chris Johnson

  • Emplois créés :

    5

  • Fondation :

    2013

  • Mentor :

  • Industrie :

    Informatique/Logiciel/ Applications

  • Emplacement :

    Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Permission Click offre, aux garderies et aux écoles primaires et secondaires, une application leur permettant d’obtenir des bons d’autorisation numériques et de recevoir le paiement, lors d’activités. Les parents peuvent ainsi autoriser et payer la participation de leurs enfants en quelques secondes, et ce, à partir de n’importe quel appareil.

Mon parcours

L’idée de Permission Click a surgi au cours d’une discussion autour de la table de la cuisine sur les difficultés qu’éprouvait une enseignante en éducation physique (et épouse de l’un des cofondateurs) à obtenir les bons d’autorisation des parents. C’était inutilement fastidieux. Son mari, Scott Macaulay, a alors eu l’idée de créer une application pour lui simplifier la tâche. Chargé de cours en entrepreneuriat au Collège Red River, il a soulevé l’idée lors de l’événement Ramp Up Weekend, lequel vise justement à générer des idées, et suscité l’intérêt de Chris Johnson – concepteur de technologies et de logiciels détenant une expérience dans les domaines de la vente et de la planification des activités – et de Kevin Buckner – comptable agréé spécialisé en comptabilité des entreprises en démarrage.

Une fois établi leur partenariat, faire passer l’idée à la phase suivante de son développement a demandé beaucoup de temps, d'engagement et de recherche. « Tout réside dans le fait de réaliser quelque chose une seule fois, pour qu’elle serve ensuite à de nombreux utilisateurs », explique Chris Johnson. « Nous avons consacré beaucoup de temps à l’ajustement initial du produit et à son examen minutieux, en sondant plus de 70 professeurs, directeurs d’école, administrateurs et parents pour mieux comprendre leurs besoins et les éléments qui leur seraient vraiment utiles. »

L'équipe lève son chapeau à la collectivité de Winnipeg qui a donné un bon coup de pouce à sa réussite. Chris Johnson ajoute : « C’est une extraordinaire communauté d’appui. Startup Winnipeg, Ramp Up Manitoba, la solide présence de Futurpreneur Canada et de plusieurs autres accélérateurs et un excellent programme de crédits fiscaux font de la région l’endroit idéal pour lancer une entreprise.»

À ce jour, un certain nombre d’écoles et de districts (représentant des milliers de parents et de formulaires d’autorisation) utilisent le produit.

Conseil

«« Lors du lancement de ma toute première entreprise, j’aurais aimé avoir la chance de collaborer avec d’autres entrepreneurs et créer une communauté entrepreneuriale plus tôt. Je ne peux assez vous recommander de vous entourer d’un bon réseau de soutien. Avoir autour de soi des gens qui sont déjà passés par là est essentiel si on veut survivre aux hauts et aux bas associés au démarrage d’une entreprise. » »