Browse all stories by:

Sweet Petite Confectioner

Cindy Tran of Sweet Petite Confectioner. / Cindy Tran of Sweet Petite Confectioner.
  • Owner:

    Cindy Tran

  • Jobs Created:

    1 Full-Time; 3 Part-Time

  • Inception:

    2013

  • Mentor:

    Rob Potts

  • Industry:

    Bakery

  • Location:

    Vancouver, British Columbia

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Sweet Petite Confectioner offers customers an opportunity to indulge in memorable edibles that literally leave a sweet impression. A wholesale manufacturer, distributor and caterer of gourmet desserts and baked goods, the Vancouver-based confectionery proudly creates these tasty treats for individuals, corporate events and weddings.

My Story

The descendent of a long line of self-starters, Cindy Tran knew that building her own business was an idea she would explore at some point in her life. As a child, she found watching the hard work her father put into running his own series of small businesses particularly inspiring.
“Seeing how he navigated the ups and downs that come with owning a business didn’t deter me from my own dreams of being an entrepreneur,” she says. “I viewed his experiences as lessons I could learn from when I eventually built my company.”

Leaving her corporate bank job in 2013, Cindy inched her way into the entrepreneurial realm, partnering for a short time with another baking business before taking the leap and building Sweet Petite Confectioner on her own. The choice to enter the dessert industry came from her strong love for food and bringing people together.
“In my culture, food is seen as something that bonds people. I wanted to create a business that married collaboration with other bakers and pastry chefs with innovative dessert products and services, making for an overall exceptional experience.”

Futurpreneur provided Cindy with the funding necessary to start her business, and connected her with knowledgeable mentors she may not have otherwise met. “Futurpreneur is like a silent partner or investor whose only interest is to champion your growth and success,” she says. “The mentor they provided constantly encourages me to think critically about every decision I make for my business.”

Five years from now, Cindy envisions exploring the idea of adding pop-up shops or custom dessert trucks to her business plan. “Currently, I’m thinking of ways I can bring my dessert business to as many different markets in Canada as possible,” she says. “Ultimately, I would love to create a business model or system for the dessert industry that other businesses can replicate.

Advice

Don’t go into creating your own business alone when there are so many resources out there to help you. Also, be open to negative feedback, as this is the easiest way to fix a potential problem with your business that you may not have noticed before.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Sweet Petite Confectioner

Cindy Tran of Sweet Petite Confectioner. / Cindy Tran of Sweet Petite Confectioner.
  • Propriétaire :

    Cindy Tran

  • Emplois créés :

    1 plein temps; 3 mi-temps

  • Fondation :

    2013

  • Mentor :

    Rob Potts

  • Industrie :

    Boulangerie/pâtisserie

  • Emplacement :

    Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Sweet Petite Confectioner offre à ses clients la possibilité de se faire plaisir en s’offrant des douceurs à déguster qui leur laisseront littéralement une impression sucrée. Fabricant en gros, distributeur et traiteur, la confiserie basée à Vancouver fabrique avec fierté de savoureuses friandises pour les particuliers, les événements d’entreprise et les mariages.

Mon parcours

Descendante d’une longue lignée de créateurs d’entreprise, Cindy Tran savait que démarrer sa propre entreprise était une idée qu’elle explorerait à un moment donné dans sa vie. Lorsqu’elle était enfant, elle trouvait qu’observer les durs efforts que son père consacrait à la gestion de ses propres petites entreprises était particulièrement inspirant.
« Le voir manœuvrer entre les hauts et les bas liés à la gestion de sa propre entreprise ne m’a aucunement découragé de suivre mes propres rêves d’entrepreneure, » dit-elle. « Je considérais ses expériences comme des leçons à tirer pour le jour où je démarrerai mon entreprise. »

Après avoir quitté son emploi en banque en 2013, Cindy a progressé petit à petit vers le domaine de l’entrepreneuriat en s’associant pendant une courte période avec une entreprise qui faisait des desserts, avant de faire le grand saut et de créer Sweet Petite Confectioner toute seule. Son choix de se lancer dans l’industrie des desserts est né de sa passion pour la nourriture et ce qui rassemble les gens.
« Dans ma culture, la nourriture est perçue comme quelque chose qui réunit les gens. Je souhaitais créer une entreprise qui alliait la coopération avec d’autres boulangers et pâtissiers ainsi qu’avec des produits et des services innovants, afin de créer une expérience d’ensemble exceptionnelle. »

Futurpreneur a fourni à Cindy le financement nécessaire pour démarrer son entreprise et l’a mise en relation avec des mentors qui s’y connaissent bien et qu’elle n’aurait peut-être pas eu la chance de rencontrer.
« Futurpreneur est comme un partenaire silencieux ou un investisseur dont le seul intérêt est de soutenir votre développement et votre succès », dit-elle. « Le mentor auquel ils m’ont jumelé m’encourage constamment à penser avec un œil critique à chaque moment où je dois prendre une décision pour mon entreprise. »

Cindy envisage l’idée d’ajouter des magasins « pop-up » ou un camion de desserts personnalisé à son plan d’affaires dans cinq ans. « Présentement, je pense aux façons qui me permettraient d’introduire mon entreprise de desserts au plus grand nombre de marchés différents au Canada, » explique-t-elle. « En fin de compte, j’adorerais créer un modèle d’affaires ou un système pour l’industrie des desserts et que les autres entreprises pourraient reproduire. »

Conseil

«N’essayez pas de créer votre propre entreprise seul alors qu’il y a tellement de ressources ici pour vous aider. Également, soyez ouvert aux remarques négatives puisque c’est le moyen le plus facile de résoudre un problème potentiel avec votre entreprise que vous n’auriez pas remarqué avant. »