Browse all stories by:

The Juice Truck

Ryan Slater and Zach Berman of The Juice Truck. / Ryan Slater et Zach Berman, de The Juice Truck.
  • Owner:

    Ryan Slater and Zach Berman

  • Jobs Created:

    4

  • Inception:

    2010

  • Mentor:

    Devon Brooks

  • Industry:

    Food and Beverage

  • Location:

    Vancouver, British Columbia

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

The Juice Truck is a new-school juicing concept on four wheels. Serving up juices inspired from their world travels, their hand-crafted gourmet juices, smoothies, and soups nourish their customers’ bodies, and their community, with seriously contagious energy.

My Story

Serving up global tastes in a fun new way

Zach Berman and Ryan Slater have been friends since they were 15. After Zach obtained his degree in Fine Arts and Ryan wrapped up his degree in Urban Geography, they set out on a backpacking trip. While in a small town in Nepal, they noticed the locals drinking a bright nutrient-rich juice. This was the inspiration behind their business idea of hydration and health on wheels. Once they returned to Vancouver, they contacted Futurpreneur Canada to set their plan in motion.

Entrepreneurship continues to be a rewarding experience for Zach and Ryan. Ryan says, “Our business has been a creative outlet that has allowed us to share our passion for health and juice.” They have had the opportunity to collaborate with charities such as F Cancer by creating cancer preventive juices and smoothies to raise money.

These young entrepreneurs enjoy the many benefits associated with owning their own business, such as becoming active members in their community and being able to think of creative strategies to expand their brand and implement them quickly. These juice tenders had this short but sweet advice for future entrepreneurs, “Never be too serious. Find your passion. Act on it.”

Small Business BC connected Ryan and Zach with Futurpreneur Canad, where they received financing, mentoring and business resources. They were also matched with mentor Devon Brooks who provided valuable advice and resources to help them start and successfully run their business.

Advice

Devon has been an incredible mentor for us. We leave each meeting inspired and excited for our journey ahead. She is able to critique and advise us in a way where we can directly implement her feedback into our business model. She is able to see the big and the small picture of where our business is heading and always keeps us on the right track. We are two young males, and having Devon’s female perspective is constantly refreshing.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

The Juice Truck

Ryan Slater and Zach Berman of The Juice Truck. / Ryan Slater et Zach Berman, de The Juice Truck.
  • Propriétaire :

    Ryan Slater et Zach Berman

  • Emplois créés :

    4

  • Fondation :

    2010

  • Mentor :

    Devon Brooks

  • Industrie :

    Aliments et boissons

  • Emplacement :

    Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

The Juice Truck est un nouveau concept de préparation de jus sur quatre roues. Les deux partenaires servent, avec une énergie contagieuse, des jus inspirés de leurs voyages à travers le monde et leurs mélanges gourmet, leurs smoothies et leurs soupes régalent leurs clients et leur collectivité.

Mon parcours

Des saveurs du monde entier servies de manière créative

Zach Berman et Ryan Slater sont amis depuis l’âge de 15 ans. Une fois leurs études terminées, Zach en beaux-arts et Ryan en géographie urbaine, ils sont partis à la conquête du monde, sac au dos. Alors qu’ils se trouvaient dans un petit village du Népal, ils ont remarqué que les habitants buvaient un jus à la couleur brillante, riche en nutriments. C’est ce qui leur a donné l’idée de lancer une entreprise mobile, axée sur l’hydratation et la santé. De retour à Vancouver, ils ont communiqué avec Futurpreneur Canada pour mettre leur plan à exécution.

L’entrepreneuriat continue d’être une expérience enrichissante, pour Zach et Ryan. Ce dernier explique : « Notre entreprise est un exutoire créatif qui nous permet de communiquer notre passion pour la santé et le jus. » Ils ont eu la possibilité de collaborer avec des organismes de bienfaisance, comme F Cancer, en créant des jus et des smoothies qui préviennent le cancer et permettent de recueillir des fonds.

Ces jeunes entrepreneurs apprécient les nombreux avantages offerts par l’exploitation de leur propre entreprise, tels que le fait d’être des membres actifs de la communauté et de pouvoir imaginer et mettre rapidement en œuvre des stratégies créatives, visant à améliorer la notoriété de leur marque. Le conseil que ces deux fournisseurs de jus ont à offrir aux futurs entrepreneurs est bref, mais futé: « Ne soyez pas trop sérieux. Trouvez votre passion. Passez à l’action. »

Small Business BC a mis Ryan et Zach en contact avec Futurpreneur Canada, où ils ont reçu du financement, du mentorat et des ressources pour leur entreprise. Ils ont également été jumelés avec un mentor, Devon Brooks, qui leur a fourni de précieux conseils pour les aider à lancer et à exploiter leur entreprise.

Conseil

«« Futurpreneur Canada a été une source intarissable de possibilités, en matière de réseautage et de diffusion de notre marque. Grâce à elle, nous avons tissé des liens précieux et bénéficié d’occasions intéressantes qui ne se seraient peut-être pas présentées autrement. Futurpreneur nous a aidés à atteindre notre objectif! » »