Browse all stories by:

Wear Your Label

Kyle MacNevin and Kayley Reed of Wear Your Label. / Kyle MacNevin and Kayley Reed of Wear Your Label.
  • Owner:

    Kyle MacNevin & Kayley Reed

  • Jobs Created:

    3

  • Inception:

    2014

  • Mentor:

    Philip Leblanc

  • Industry:

    Fashion/Clothing Design

  • Location:

    Fredericton, New Brunswick

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Wear Your Label is a conscious clothing line created with the goal to create conversations around mental health and ultimately end the stigma (in style). The Wear Your Label garments are designed to help wearers feel connected, and empowered to share their story. 10% of each purchase are also given back to make a bigger impact through local and national organizations.

My Story

Kyle MacNevin and Kayley Reed are the two young entrepreneurs behind Wear Your Label who both have lived with mental illnesses in their life. Kyle lives with Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Kayley is recovering from Anorexia Nervosa. But these are just labels! Kyle and Kayley’s struggles with mental illness and their experience working with mental health organizations are what inspired them to start Wear Your Label.

In December 2013, the two met while working on youth engagement workshops for a provincial mental health organization. Only a few weeks later, and after sharing their personal mental health journeys with each other, the idea for Wear Your Label came about. Kyle and Kayley realize there was a gap in the industry and they were passionate to fill it. In the first few months, the two eager entrepreneurs spent time researching, designing and pitching to anyone who would listen to their idea. Soon after, they were accepted to The Summer Institute in New Brunswick and it was only uphill from there.

“I have always been aware of fashion, and believe that a person’s wardrobe often speaks to the world in ways the wearer often cannot,” Kyle shared. “Clothing can make people feel a number of things, so what if we could use clothing a constant reminder, something has elasticity and makes you heal, not just feel.”

In 2015 alone, Wear Your Label has been on an uphill climb and featured in top media outlets such as MTV, Seventeen Magazine, Buzzfeed, People Magazine and The Today Show. Wear Your Label is quickly becoming highly talked about amongst those living with mental illness, and encouraging conversations to happen surrounding the topic.

Advice

Be cautious, but also be creative. Today there is number of enterprises that are doing things more ethically. What makes you different? Being socially conscious doesn’t always mean you have to give away a portion of your profits. Ask yourself how you can make the world a better place.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Wear Your Label

Kyle MacNevin and Kayley Reed of Wear Your Label. / Kyle MacNevin and Kayley Reed of Wear Your Label.
  • Propriétaire :

    Kyle MacNevin & Kayley Reed

  • Emplois créés :

    3

  • Fondation :

    2014

  • Mentor :

    Philip Leblanc

  • Industrie :

    Mode/Design de vêtements

  • Emplacement :

    Fredericton, Nouveau-Brunswick

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Wear Your Label est une ligne de vêtements responsable et engagée dont l’objectif est d’informer et de sensibiliser l’opinion publique aux maladies mentales afin d’en finir avec la stigmatisation. Les vêtements de Wear Your Label sont créés pour aider ceux qui les portent à se sentir connectés aux autres et à les inviter à partager leur histoire. Pour que l’impact soit encore plus grand, 10 % de chaque vente est reversé à des organismes locaux et nationaux.

Mon parcours

Kyle MacNevin et Kayley Reed, les deux entrepreneurs derrière Wear Your Label, ont tous les deux été affectés par des problèmes de santé mentale. Kyle vit avec un trouble d’anxiété généralisée et Kayley se remet d’anorexie mentale. Mais ce ne sont que des étiquettes! C’est la lutte contre leur maladie mentale et leur expérience auprès d’organismes œuvrant dans le domaine de la santé mentale qui les ont inspirés à créer Wear Your Label.

Ils se sont rencontrés en décembre 2013 alors qu’ils travaillaient sur des ateliers de mobilisation avec des jeunes pour un organisme provincial qui agit dans le domaine de la santé mentale. C’est seulement quelques semaines après s’être confié sur leurs problèmes de santé mentale respectifs que l’idée de Wear Your Label est née. Kyle et Kayley ont réalisé qu’il y avait une opportunité dans le marché et ils étaient plus que motivés pour la saisir. Au cours des premiers mois, les deux entrepreneurs passionnés ont passé du temps à faire des recherches, à préparer leur idée et à la présenter à quiconque voulait l’écoutait. Peu de temps après, ils furent acceptés à l’Institut d’été dans le Nouveau-Brunswick et cela marqua le début de leur aventure entrepreneuriale.

« J’ai toujours été sensible à la mode et je pense que la garde robe d’une personne peut adresser un message à l’extérieur lorsque celui ou celle qui porte ces vêtements ne le peut pas », explique Kyle. « Les vêtements peuvent faire ressentir de nombreuses choses, donc pourquoi ne pas les utiliser comme un rappel constant, quelque chose qui est flexible et qui ne vous transmet pas seulement un sentiment, mais qui peut guérir. »

En 2015, Wear Your Label a été mis à l’honneur dans les médias avec des mentions et parutions dans MTV, Seventeen Magazine, Buzzfeed, People Magazine et The Today Show. Wear Your Label est rapidement devenu populaire dans la communauté de personnes vivant avec des problèmes de santé mentale et stimule les discussions autour de ce sujet.

Conseil

«Soyez prudent, mais soyez aussi créatif. Aujourd’hui, il y a un certain nombre d’entreprises qui travaillent de manière plus équitable. Posez-vous la question de savoir ce qui vous différencie. Être socialement responsable ne veut pas dire que vous devez reverser une part de vos profits. Demandez-vous comment vous pouvez rendre le monde meilleur. »