Written By: Sarah Landrum, Founder, Punched Clocks

Although many don’t realize it, Canada is home to many prolific entrepreneurs, long-running enterprises and even new start-ups. With names like John Molson of Molson Brewery fame and a shortlist of new business launches that includes the likes of Shopify, the country has provided the world with some of its most innovative and forward-thinking minds. And you’re on track to be the next big mind. It’s a lot of pressure.

Regardless of how progressive or advanced entrepreneurs’ thought patterns may be, the human brain is still susceptible to anxiety and other mental health disorders. While such obstacles can make your road to the top a little bumpier, they can be overcome with knowledge, dedication and career focus.

A problem amongst millennials

The issue of anxiety is a growing problem throughout the country. With nearly 3% of Canadians aged 15 or older indicating some amount of anxiety, most of whom are under the age 25, it’s safe to say that our country’s millennials are more susceptible to the issue than our established business professionals.

Mike Gozzo, Montreal-based entrepreneur and mobile app developer, experienced this problem firsthand after founding his first start-up, Appifier. After drawing a large share of the market and seeing near-instantaneous profits, Gozzo experienced a number of setbacks in the form of bad investment advice as well as the lack of promised funding. The company was ultimately sold, but it took Gozzo some time before he embraced the situation as a learning opportunity.

Today’s millennials are even using their own fight against anxiety as a means of reaching out to their peers and helping other entrepreneurs overcome their own personal issues. The team with TranQool, headquartered out of Toronto, provides group workshops as well as face-to-face mental health counseling via streaming video.

Dealing with anxiety on a day-to-day basis

Anxiety is best handled one step at a time. Moreover, it’s an issue that can be tackled at home as well as on the job. Exercising regularly and eating healthier is a great place to start. The improved flow of endorphins as well as the increase in brain chemistry associated with this type of healthy lifestyle will lead to happy thoughts, good feelings and a positive demeanor.

Sometimes, simply talking about your problems to a peer, friend or family member can be enough to ease the growing anxiety you face as an entrepreneur. The Internet provides plenty of resources, including online message boards, discussion forums and bulletin boards, where you can connect with other millennials, entrepreneurs and professionals who are battling their own similar issues.

You might find that it helps to remind yourself of why you started your entrepreneurial path in the first place. Not only does this ensure you maintain focus on your goals and dreams, but it can be used to find your sense of motivation when you’re in the darkest and lowest of places.

If you’ve tried every other solution imaginable, you may have no other choice than to reach out to a professional. There are a plethora of different services available, many of which are centered on anxiety and related disorders. Cognitive behavioral therapy, for example, has been proven highly effective against anxiety as well as stress. As it turns out, both of these issues tend to be common problems amongst today’s entrepreneurs.

Becoming a successful entrepreneur in spite of your anxiety

The issue of anxiety and mental health is a problem that has the potential to affect us all. Although entrepreneurs and self-made professionals are often viewed as happy-go-lucky, optimistic and charismatic individuals, many of them suffer from the same mental health issues as any other Canadian worker.

Seeking help doesn’t make you weak, and people, especially entrepreneurs, should make sure to take care of their mental health before anything else. This is what’s going to allow you to build a strong and successful business.

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Texte de : Sarah Landrum, fondatrice, Punched Clocks

Bien peu de gens le réalisent, mais le Canada est le foyer de nombreux entrepreneurs prolifiques, d’institutions commerciales et de jeunes entreprises. Avec de grands noms comme la brasserie Molson Coors fondée par John Molson et de nouveaux joueurs comme Shopify, le pays a offert au monde entier quelques-uns de ses plus grands créateurs et visionnaires. Et qui sait, peut-être êtes-vous le prochain? Toute une pression.

Les mentalités ont beau avoir grandement évolué dans le monde de l’entrepreneuriat, le cerveau n’est jamais à l’abri de l’anxiété et des autres problèmes de santé mentale. De tels obstacles rendront peut-être votre route vers le sommet un peu plus cahoteuse, mais rien n’est impossible avec un peu de préparation, de passion et de détermination.

Un problème chez les millénaires

L’anxiété est un problème grandissant au pays. Avec près de 3 % des Canadiens âgés de 15 ans et plus qui éprouvent des symptômes d’anxiété, dont une majorité n’a pas 25 ans, on peut dire que la relève entrepreneuriale de notre pays est plus à risque que ses entrepreneurs établis.

Mike Gozzo, entrepreneur montréalais et concepteur d’applications mobiles, a souffert d’anxiété tout de suite après avoir lancé sa première entreprise, Appifier. Après avoir conquis une grande part du marché et engrangé des profits presque instantanément, il a essuyé un certain nombre de revers, à savoir des faux pas en placements résultants de mauvais conseils et un manque de financement en raison d’une promesse non tenue. Le tout s’est soldé par la vente de l’entreprise, mais Mike a eu besoin de temps pour tirer une leçon positive de toute cette aventure.

De nos jours, les jeunes de la génération Y se servent même de leur propre lutte contre l’anxiété pour tendre la main à leurs pairs et pour aider les autres entrepreneurs à surmonter leurs problèmes personnels. Par exemple, le personnel de TranQool, une société de Toronto, propose des ateliers collectifs et des rencontres individuelles par vidéo en continu pour aborder les questions de santé mentale.

Gérer l’anxiété au quotidien

L’anxiété est un problème qu’il faut aborder un pas à la fois. C’est d’ailleurs un sujet à discuter tant à la maison qu’au travail. Pour commencer, il faut bouger régulièrement et manger sainement, un mode de vie qui favorise la sécrétion d’endorphines et augmente l’activité chimique du cerveau. Il s’ensuit des pensées, des émotions et des attitudes positives.

Parfois, se confier à un camarade, à un ami ou à un membre de la famille suffit à calmer l’anxiété croissante à laquelle on fait face comme entrepreneur. L’Internet déborde de ressources – babillard en ligne et forums de discussion – où il est possible de s’entretenir avec d’autres membres de la génération millénaire, des entrepreneurs et des professionnels aux prises avec les mêmes problèmes.

À toutes fins utiles, vous pourriez repenser aux raisons qui vous ont amené à vous lancer dans l’aventure entrepreneuriale. Vous pourrez ainsi garder le cap sur vos objectifs et vos rêves… et trouver la motivation nécessaire lorsque vous broyez du noir.

Si vous avez tout essayé, vous devrez peut-être vous tourner vers un professionnel. Parmi la multitude de services offerts, nombre d’entre eux portent essentiellement sur l’anxiété et les troubles connexes. La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, par exemple, s’est avérée particulièrement efficace dans la lutte contre l’anxiété et le stress, deux problèmes répandus chez les entrepreneurs d’aujourd’hui.

Réussir malgré l’anxiété

Personne n’est à l’abri de souffrir d’anxiété ou d’autres problèmes de santé mentale. Les entrepreneurs et les professionnels à leur compte sont souvent perçus comme des gens optimistes, charismatiques et à qui la chance sourit; pourtant, beaucoup d’entre eux souffrent des mêmes problèmes de santé mentale que tout autre travailleur canadien.

Chercher de l’aide n’est pas un aveu de faiblesse. Tout le monde devrait faire attention à sa santé mentale avant toute autre chose, surtout les entrepreneurs qui veulent bâtir une entreprise forte et florissante.

Obtenez jusqu'à 60 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →