Futurpreneur Canada, in partnership with Spin Master Inc., and supported by Morrison Financial and Dentons Canada, recently launched the Growth Accelerator; an exclusive opportunity for growth-focused Futurpreneur entrepreneurs to receive coaching, resources and support from experts in order to maximize their chance of successfully scaling their business.

In order to be accepted into the program, candidates needed to demonstrate that they had an innovative and proven business model that offered a unique product or service, an improved process or the potential to impact the market in new ways. After pitching live to a panel of judges, ten businesses were selected to travel to Toronto and attend exclusive seminars and mentoring sessions from October 24 to 25.

Here’s a recap of their experience!

Day 1

Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator

On the first day, the Growth Accelerator cohort attended mentoring sessions at the Spin Master offices led by Spin Master leaders themselves, as well as global law firm Dentons. These 70 minute, one-on-one meetings allowed our entrepreneurs to discuss the specific growth challenges they face in their businesses and gain insight from key executives.

“I loved the format and the fact we could ask questions to the co-founder of Spin Master,” said Minh Phan of Naak about the meetings. “It was a really customized experience.”

Adds Jeremy Demont of PropertyGuys.com: “Meeting execs from Spin Master one-on-one on the specific topics and needs of the company is priceless.”

Following the mentoring sessions, the cohort participated in a Q&A with Spin Master co-founder Ronnen Harary, who shared some of the lessons he’s learned in growing the Spin Master business, brand and culture.

After a packed day of informative sessions, the cohort had dinner at Little Anthony’s. The dinner included guests from a variety of professional backgrounds, from investors and marketers to HR professionals and partners. At the dinner, the Growth Accelerator entrepreneurs got the chance to talk about their business and reflect on their first day in the program.

Day 2

Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator

The second day of the program was hosted at Dentons. The morning started with a panel on the topic of “Understanding Financing Vehicles.” Panelists included Alex Morrison of Morrison Financial, Kevin Taylor of SVX Toronto, Alain-Olivier Debois of Espace Inc and Rich Emerich of Altus Assessments. The panel discussed the pros and cons of debt and equity financing, crowdfunding and getting ready to access additional growth.

Stephanie Reid of PermissionClick found the talk, “very informative, especially the clear-cut view of the lifecycle of a start-up, opinions on ESOP, and options outside of VC.”

Next up was a presentation and workshop from James Chalmers and Laura Richard of Tack10 on hacking your growth through partnerships. The entrepreneurs were asked to look at case studies and find the differences between traditional partnerships versus strategic partnerships. Afterwards, the cohort was split up into breakout groups so they could dive into deeper conversations about this strategy. Following this, the entrepreneurs had one-on-one sessions with Alex Tveit of Morrison Financial.

“I like that it was a small group, that sessions were highly tailored, that we formed ongoing relationships, and that there will be a follow-up,” says cohort participant Meghan Athavale of LumoInteractive.

Lastly, the entrepreneurs got the exciting chance to pitch their businesses to Dentons and marketing and communications agency Ramp Communications for $10,000 worth of services from both organizations. The cohort only had two minutes each to pitch to the businesses. In the end, junk removal company 505-Junk and apparel company Wully Outerwear came out on top. After the mini pitch competition, the cohort ended the day with some goal setting.

Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator

Thank you to Spin Master, Dentons, Morrison Financial, Ramp Communications, Tack10 and our panelists and session hosts for contributing their support and expertise to the Growth Accelerator Program. You can learn more about the Growth Accelerator program here.

Futurpreneur Canada, en partenariat avec Spin Master Inc., a récemment lancé le programme Accélérateur de croissance, qui représente une occasion unique pour les entreprises en quête de croissance d’obtenir l’encadrement, les ressources et le soutien d’experts afin de maximiser leurs chances de passer avec succès au prochain stade de croissance.

Pour être admissibles à ce programme, les candidats ont dû prouver que leur modèle d’entreprise était novateur et solide et qu’il offrait un produit ou un service unique, une procédure améliorée ou la possibilité d’influencer le marché de façon inédite. À la suite de leur argumentaire présenté devant un jury, 10 entreprises ont été sélectionnées pour se rendre à Toronto les 24 au 25 octobre afin d’assister à des séminaires et des séances de mentorat exclusifs.

Voici un résumé de leur expérience!

Jour 1 

Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator

Le premier jour, les participants au programme Accélérateur de croissance ont assisté à des séances de mentorat dans les locaux de Spin Master. Ces dernières étaient animées par les dirigeants de Spin Master en personne et les représentants de Dentons, un cabinet d’avocats d’envergure mondiale. Ces rencontres de 70 minutes en tête à tête ont permis aux entrepreneurs de discuter des défis particuliers qu’ils doivent relever pour assurer la croissance de leur entreprise et d’obtenir des conseils de cadres de haut niveau.

« J’ai adoré la formule et le fait qu’on pouvait poser des questions au cofondateur de Spin Master. C’était vraiment une expérience personnalisée », raconte Minh Phan de Naak en commentant l’événement.

« Rencontrer des cadres de Spin Master en tête à tête pour discuter de sujets et besoins spécifiques à notre entreprise est inestimable », ajoute Jeremy Demont de PropertyGuys.com.

À la suite des rencontres de mentorat, les entrepreneurs ont participé à une séance de questions et réponses avec le cofondateur de Spin Master, Ronnen Harary, qui a partagé quelques leçons apprises au cours de son aventure avec Spin Master à propos du développement de l’entreprise, de la marque et de la culture.

Après cette journée chargée de sessions d’information, les participants ont soupé au restaurant Little Anthony’s. Cette soirée a réuni des invités de différents milieux professionnels comme des investisseurs, des spécialistes en marketing, des spécialistes en ressources humaines et d’autres partenaires. Les entrepreneurs ont eu l’occasion de discuter de leur entreprise et de commenter leur premier jour du programme Accélérateur de croissance.

Jour 2 

Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator

Les activités du deuxième jour ont eu lieu aux locaux de Dentons. La journée a commencé par une table ronde dont le sujet était : « Comprendre les outils de financement ». Parmi les participants figuraient Alex Morrison (Morrison Financial), Kevin Taylor (SVX Toronto), Alain-Olivier Debois (Espace Inc) et Rich Emerich (Altus Assessments). La discussion a porté sur les avantages et les inconvénients de l’endettement et du financement par actions, sur le financement participatif et sur l’élaboration des stratégies pour assurer plus de croissance.

« L’échange était très instructif, notamment lorsqu’il a été question du cycle de vie d’une jeune entreprise, du régime d’actionnariat des salariés et des possibilités de financement autres que le capital de risque », raconte Stephanie Reid de PermissionClick.

La discussion a été suivie d’une présentation et d’un atelier animés par James Chalmers et Laura Richard, de Tack10, sur l’accélération de la croissance grâce aux partenariats. Les entrepreneurs ont été invités à examiner des études de cas et à repérer les différences entre les partenariats habituels et les partenariats stratégiques. Ensuite, ils ont été invités à se séparer en petits groupes pour aborder le sujet en profondeur. Après l’atelier, les entrepreneurs ont eu des rencontres en tête à tête avec Alex Tveit de Morrison Financial.

« J’apprécie le fait que nous étions un petit groupe et que les séances étaient très personnalisées. Ceci nous aidera à maintenir les relations établies et nous permettra d’assurer un suivi », explique la participante Meghan Athavale de LumoInteractive.

Les entrepreneurs ont également eu la chance de présenter l’argumentaire de leur entreprise à Dentons et à l’agence de marketing et communication Ramp Communications dans l’espoir de remporter des services d’une valeur de 10 000 $ de la part des deux entreprises. Chaque entrepreneur ne disposait que de deux minutes pour présenter son argumentaire. L’entreprise de collecte de déchets 505-Junk et l’entreprise spécialisée en vêtements Wully Outerwear sont arrivées en tête. Après cette petite compétition, les participants ont terminé leur journée en définissant des objectifs.

Fall 2017 Growth Accelerator

Merci à Spin Master, à Dentons, à Morrison Financial, à Ramp Communications, à Track10, à nos participants et aux animateurs des séances pour leur soutien et pour avoir partagé leur savoir dans le cadre du programme Accélérateur de croissance. Pour en savoir plus sur le programme Accélérateur de croissance, cliquez ici.