The Futurpreneur Canada 2017 Awards are presented to the entrepreneurs and mentors who have made a positive contribution to Canada’s entrepreneurial community. We are thrilled with the winning entrepreneurs who are truly moving and shaping Canada’s entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Here are this year’s Futurpreneur Canada Award recipients!

Entrepreneur of the Year, presented by Canada Post

Natasha Wilch, Symphony Rehabilitation
Nanaimo, British Colombia

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award, presented by Canada Post, goes to a young entrepreneur who has made a mark on the entrepreneurial landscape through their exemplary activities and leadership of their company, as well as their engagement in the entrepreneurship community.

Symphony Rehabilitation is a multi-disciplinary rehabilitation clinic that provides client-centered care, founded by physiotherapist Natasha Wilch. The clinic offers both in-clinic and mobile services, as well as a Telehealth option in BC, Alberta and the Northwest Territories. Natasha’s ability to lead and grow her business while innovating within her field is to be admired.

Disruption Award

Marie-Eve Lachance, Clinique de Soins Infirmiers de Lévis
Lévis, Quebec

The Disruption Award goes to a business that demonstrates innovation and industry disruption that benefits their community.

Marie-Eve Lachance is the owner of Clinique, a medical clinic entirely managed by registered nurses. Clinique offers faster health services in a relaxed atmosphere with hours of operation that are more in tune with the everyday person’s work schedule.

The facility deals with minor health issues, thus alleviating the pressure on urgent care facilities and reducing patient wait times. The clinic has become Lévis’ main support in regards to travel-related health services. Clinique challenges the status quo of the industry, and makes a positive impact on the local community.

Growing Strong Award

Sheena Brady, Tease Tea
Orleans, Ontario

The Growing Strong award goes to a business that has successfully expanded its operations to new locations outside of their original market, either nationally or internationally.

Tease Tea was built on a dream and vision to create modern tea blends while supporting women’s empowerment around the world. Over the past year, Tease has expanded its reach to customers in over 50 countries, while also opening two successful pop-ups in New York City.

Additionally, as it is a core part of Tease Tea’s DNA to celebrate modern feminism, successes and the achievements of women around the globe, Tease proudly donates a portion of the proceeds of every order to organizations dedicated to the empowerment of women through its Chari’tea program. Sheena’s successful efforts to grow a global tribe of Tease lovers and become a Canadian leader in tea e-commerce have been impressive.

Grit Award

Byanca Neveu, Byanca Neveu – Adjointe administrative virtuelle
Mascouche, Quebec

The Grit Award goes to a business that demonstrates overcoming failure while showing dedication, perseverance and finding success in spite of those challenges.

As the owner of Byanca Neveu – Adjointe administrative virtuelle, Byanca Neveu specializes in small business and independent worker administrative support. She takes care of all of her clients’ administrative duties so that they can focus more productively on developing their businesses. She also assists in the growth of their venture through her innovative services and structuring of operational and follow-up procedures.

A few weeks after Byanca launched her business, her mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer. That same week, her young nephew was also diagnosed with cancer; a rare and incurable type of brain tumor. Byanca put the care of her mother and nephew first, temporarily putting her business on hold before moving forward and operating full time.

Mentor of the Year

Donald Haché
Moncton, New Brunswick

The Mentor of the Year award goes to a mentor who demonstrates a sincere and empowering commitment to mentoring young entrepreneurs and helping build the small business community.

Donald Haché is the CEO of the Selltron Group, an executive management consulting group based in New Brunswick. As a testament to his ability as a mentor, Donald was nominated by his mentees who believe he is making a real difference for small businesses in the province. They praised his ability to help guide them entrepreneurs down the right path and move forward with their decisions comfortably.

Partner of the Year

Serge Lazure – CAE Haute-Montérégie
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
Futurpreneur CP for over four years

The Partner of the Year award goes to an organization or individual who works closely with Futurpreneur to go above and beyond in their support of young entrepreneurs in their community.

Serge Lazure is an entrepreneurship advisor with the Centre d’aide aux enterprises Haute-Montérégie. For over 20 years, he has met and supported hundreds of entrepreneurs in the growth and development of their businesses. He also organizes an annual marketplace for the entrepreneurs supported by his organization, including those who have received Futurpreneur support. Serge is a humble yet mighty force in the entrepreneurial community in the Montérégie region and a valued advocate for Futurpreneur.

Les Prix Futurpreneur Canada 2017 sont remis à des entrepreneurs et mentors qui ont contribué de manière positive à la scène entrepreneuriale canadienne. Ces entrepreneurs façonnent véritablement le paysage entrepreneurial du Canada et le font évoluer.

C’est donc avec joie que nous vous présentons les lauréats des Prix Futurpreneur Canada de cette année!

Le prix de l’Entrepreneur de l’année, présenté par Postes Canada

Natasha Wilch, Symphony Rehabilitation
Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique)

Le prix de l’Entrepreneur de l’année, présenté par Postes Canada, est remis à un jeune entrepreneur s’étant démarqué dans le paysage entrepreneurial, grâce aux actions exemplaires et à l’esprit d’initiative affichés par son entreprise, mais aussi son engagement remarquable au sein de la communauté entrepreneuriale.

Symphony Rehabilitation est une clinique de réadaptation multidisciplinaire qui propose des soins axés sur les besoins du client. Fondée par Natasha Wilch, physiothérapeute, l’entreprise offre des services en clinique et des services mobiles, en plus de Telehealth, une plateforme numérique accessible aux résidents de la Colombie‑Britannique, de l’Alberta et des Territoires du Nord‑Ouest. La capacité de Natasha à diriger et à développer son entreprise tout en innovant dans son domaine est tout à fait admirable.

Prix Audace

Marie-Ève Lachance, Clinique de Soins Infirmiers de Lévis
Lévis (Québec)

Le prix Audace est remis à une entreprise qui a fait preuve d’innovation et qui a ébranlé le statu quo de son secteur d’activité au profit de sa communauté.

Marie‑Ève Lachance est propriétaire de la clinique, qui relève entièrement d’infirmières autorisées. Celles‑ci offrent des services de soins de santé rapides dans un environnement calme et à des heures flexibles, qui cadrent avec l’horaire de travail de tout un chacun.

Elles traitent certains problèmes de santé mineurs, ce qui réduit le nombre de patients aux urgences et leur évite les longues heures d’attente. La clinique est maintenant la référence en santé‑voyage dans le secteur de Lévis. Elle ébranle le statu quo de l’industrie et a une incidence positive sur la collectivité locale.

Prix Forte croissance

Sheena Brady, Tease Tea
Orleans (Ontario)

Le prix Forte croissance est décerné à une entreprise qui a réussi son expansion en dehors de son marché initial, à l’échelle nationale ou internationale.

À l’origine de Tease Tea, il y avait une vision : celle de créer des mélanges de thé tout en faisant la promotion de l’émancipation des femmes à travers le monde. Au cours de la dernière année, Tease aura conquis les palais dans plus de 50 pays, notamment avec deux points de vente temporaires dans la ville de New York.

Qui plus est, avec chaque commande, Tease Tea fait un don à différents organismes voués à l’émancipation des femmes par l’entremise de son programme Chari’tea. L’appui à la cause et aux initiatives féministes contemporaines est ancré dans l’ADN de l’entreprise. Les efforts récompensés que Sheena a accomplis pour rassembler des adeptes à travers le monde et devenir un chef de file canadien dans le commerce électronique du thé sont impressionnants.

Prix Endurance

Byanca Neveu, Byanca Neveu – Adjointe administrative virtuelle
Mascouche (Québec)

Le prix Endurance est remis à une entreprise qui, en surmontant un échec grâce à sa persévérance et à son dévouement, est parvenue à renouer avec le succès malgré les épreuves.

Propriétaire de Byanca Neveu – Adjointe administrative virtuelle, Byanca Neveu se spécialise dans le soutien administratif aux petites entreprises et aux travailleurs autonomes. Elle prend en charge le volet administratif des entreprises de façon à ce que ses clients puissent se consacrer à l’expansion de leurs activités.  Elle aide également ses clients à amener leur entreprise à un autre niveau en leur proposant des services innovateurs et en offrant une solide structure et mise en place de suivis.

Quelques semaines après avoir démarré son entreprise, Byanca a appris que sa mère était atteinte d’un cancer terminal. Dans la même semaine, elle apprenait que son jeune neveu avait une tumeur cérébrale très rare et inopérable. Elle a donc décidé d’accompagner sa mère et son neveu pour les quelques mois de vie qu’il leur restait et de mettre son entreprise en semi-activité.

Mentor de l’année

Donald Haché
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Le prix Mentor de l’année est attribué à un mentor qui exerce son rôle auprès des jeunes entrepreneurs avec dévouement, en s’engageant dans son activité de mentorat de manière sincère et en aidant à bâtir de petites entreprises locales.

Donald Haché est chef de la direction de Selltron Group, un groupe d’experts‑conseils en gestion supérieure établi au Nouveau‑Brunswick. Ses mentorés croient qu’il influence réellement le cours des choses pour les petites entreprises de la province. Le fait qu’ils aient eux‑mêmes posé la candidature de Donald à ce prix témoigne de ses qualités de mentor.   Ils ont salué sa capacité d’aider les entrepreneurs à trouver la bonne voie et à donner suite à leurs décisions en toute confiance.

Partenaire de l’année

Serge Lazure, CAE Haute-Montérégie
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec)
Partenaire communautaire de Futurpreneur depuis plus de quatre ans

Le prix Partenaire de l’année est remis à un organisme ou à une personne qui, en étroite collaboration avec Futurpreneur, aide les jeunes entrepreneurs de sa communauté en faisant preuve d’un dévouement exceptionnel.

Serge Lazure est conseiller en entrepreneuriat au Centre d’aide aux entreprises Haute‑Montérégie. Depuis plus de 20 ans, il rencontre des centaines d’entrepreneurs et les aide à développer leur entreprise.  Il organise également un rassemblement annuel (financé par son organisme) à l’intention des entrepreneurs, notamment ceux qui ont reçu le soutien de Futurpreneur. Serge est une force formidable bien que modeste sur la scène entrepreneuriale de la Montérégie, en plus d’être un précieux ambassadeur de Futurpreneur.