GEW On The Road Ambassador Catherine

For Global Entrepreneurship Week (GEW) this week, we have teamed up with Amway Canada to send three ambassadors across the country to report live from the road as they visit Canadian entrepreneurs, small businesses, community partners in the entrepreneurial ecosystem and attend GEW events. Yesterday, GEW On The Road Ambassador Catherine was on the road in Quebec City for the day. Here is a recap of her time in the city and some of the ‘ah-ha’ moments she had along the way.

To kick off the day, Catherine visited Université Laval, accompanied by Futurpreneur’s own Stephane Gagnon. There she met Sophie D’Amours, the first woman to be elected rector of the university, along with many other inspiring women leaders.

Following this, Catherine had the exciting opportunity to attend the launch of Le Centre de formation professionnelle de Neufchâtel, a modern and dynamic environment that provides companies with personalized training in areas such as computers and accounting, industrial design, mechanics and more.

After this event, Catherine was off to visit some inspiring entrepreneurs. She got the chance to meet Geneviève Simard and Chrystelle Chamberland, founder and franchisee Le Gribouillis, a creative coffee shop designed for families. Everything from high chairs to nursing pillows is available on site.

Catherine then headed over to business incubator and accelerator Le Camp, where she met a variety of Futurpreneur-supported business as well as one of our mentors, Ronald Bannon.

While at Le Camp, Catherine had the opportunity to attend a panel discussion on entrepreneurship and immigration entitled, “Sortie de Zone” and get a better feel of the entrepreneurial community at coworking space.

After a whirlwind week of meeting entrepreneurs, visiting businesses and exploring the entrepreneurial communities in cities across Canada, Catherine’s On The Road journey finally came to an end. After her time in Quebec City, Catherine will be heading back to her home and business in Montreal.

GEW On The Road Ambassador Catherine

Dans le cadre de la Semaine mondiale de l’entrepreneuriat, nous avons fait équipe avec Amway Canada afin d’envoyer trois ambassadeurs sillonner le pays pour nous transmettre leurs impressions des rencontres qu’ils allaient faire avec des entrepreneurs canadiens, de petites entreprises et des partenaires communautaires gravitant dans l’écosystème entrepreneurial – en plus d’assister à des événements de la SME. Hier, Catherine a passé la journée à Québec. Voici un résumé de sa journée en ville et de certaines découvertes qu’elle a faites durant son aventure.

Accompagnée de Stéphane Gagnon de Futurpreneur, Catherine a commencé la journée par une visite de l’Université Laval, où elle a rencontré Sophie D’Amours ( première femme à être élue rectrice de cette université) ainsi que d’autres dirigeantes inspirantes.

À la suite de cette visite, Catherine a saisi une occasion formidable, celle de participer au lancement du Centre de formation professionnelle de Neufchâtel, un établissement moderne et dynamique qui offre aux entreprises des formations personnalisées dans des disciplines comme l’informatique, la comptabilité, le design industriel et la mécanique.

Après cet événement, Catherine est partie à la rencontre d’entrepreneures dynamiques. Elle a eu la chance de discuter avec Geneviève Simard et Chrystelle Chamberland, respectivement fondatrice et franchisée du café créatif Le Gribouillis, un lieu pensé pour les familles. En effet, des chaises hautes aux oreillers d’allaitement, on trouve une gamme complète d’articles sur place.

Catherine a ensuite visité l’incubateur-accélérateur d’entreprises LE CAMP, où elle a rencontré plusieurs entreprises soutenues par Futurpreneur ainsi que Ronald Bannon, un de nos mentors.

Pendant qu’elle était au CAMP, Catherine a eu l’occasion de participer à un panel sur l’entrepreneuriat et l’immigration intitulé « Sortie de Zone »; elle a également pu observer de près le fonctionnement des espaces de travail partagés par des entrepreneurs.

Après une semaine animée de rencontres avec des entrepreneurs, de visites d’entreprises et de découvertes de collectivités entrepreneuriales dans différentes villes canadiennes, l’aventure de Catherine a pris fin. À la suite de sa journée à Québec, elle regagnera Montréal, et son entreprise.