Derrick Hunter

If you’re in the entrepreneurial scene in Calgary, chances are you’re familiar with the name “Hunter.”

Derrick Hunter is the President of Bluesky Equities Ltd., an investment management company with interests in real estate, energy, distilling and alternative strategies. Earlier this year, Derrick was named to Futurpreneur Canada’s Board of Directors. Nevertheless, he and his family have been championing entrepreneurship in Calgary for decades.

“I grew up in an entrepreneurial family,” says Derrick. “Unlike a lot of families where people tell their kids to go get a job with a big company, my parents always had the exact opposite point of view.”

Derrick’s educational background is in Geology – he has a Bachelor’s degree in the subject from Queen’s University. However, graduating during a recession meant he had a difficult experience finding a job.

“The market was rough, kind of like how it is today, so that led me to go back to school to expand my toolbox of skills,” says Derrick.

So he went to the University of Calgary to get his MBA. Since then, he has founded or co-founded 14 companies including several exploration companies, two technology companies and a property management firm. He has also been an active member of the local angel investment community for the past ten years. Bluesky Equities is one of the most active angel investors in Southern Alberta, having invested in over two dozen local start-up businesses during that period.

However, Derrick is also invested in entrepreneurship in another way – through education. As a Trustee of his family’s foundation, he helps facilitate impactful donations to innovative organizations and causes that demonstrate entrepreneurial thinking. To date, the Hunter Family Foundation has donated millions of dollars to charitable organizations in the Calgary region.

In the last few years, the foundation has turned its focus to supporting entrepreneurial education at the University of Calgary – Derrick’s alma mater. While the university had an entrepreneurial stream when Derrick was a student, it was shut down in 2002.

“We had this situation where the University of Calgary was the only significant business school in the country that didn’t teach entrepreneurship,” says Derrick.

That all changed in 2013 when his family’s foundation made a transformative gift to the Haskayne School of Business at the University of Calgary to help it create the “Hunter Centre for Entrepreneurship and Innovation.”

This year, the Hunter Family expanded on their mission at the University of Calgary with the creation of the Hunter Hub for Entrepreneurial Thinking. According to the website, “The Hunter Hub is the University of Calgary’s new initiative to engage students, faculty, staff and the community with entrepreneurial thinking, placing it at the forefront of teaching and student discovery.”

“I think of it as trying to demystify the entrepreneurial process,” says Derrick, who describes the Hub as a centralized place for students to access the Hunter Centre’s curriculum as well as engage with their peers from other faculties.

It’s clear that Derrick Hunter and his family have made an indelible impact on the University of Calgary and the Calgary entrepreneurial ecosystem as a whole, and they’re only getting started. In the future, Derrick aspires to bring his entrepreneurial education to other members of the community, from elementary school students to unemployed workers who may be looking to start a business.

“We take the view that if even if a student is going to graduate and go work at Deloitte, it’s still a good experience to build a business case, fund it and compete against others on the quality of your idea,” says Derrick. “And if they do decide down the road that they want to pursue something entrepreneurial, then at least they have an idea of how to get started.”

Written by: Jasmine Williams, Social Media and Content Specialist, Futurpreneur Canada

Derrick Hunter

Si vous faites partie de la scène entrepreneuriale à Calgary, il y a de fortes chances que le nom « Hunter » vous soit familier.

Derrick Hunter est le président de Bluesky Equities Ltd, une société de gestion de placements qui détient des participations dans l’immobilier, l’énergie, les distilleries et les nouvelles stratégies. Plus tôt cette année, Derrick a été nommé sur le conseil d’administration de Futurpreneur Canada. Par contre, depuis plusieurs décennies, l’entrepreneuriat à Calgary a toujours été une partie intrinsèque de sa famille.

« J’ai grandi au milieu d’une famille d’entrepreneurs, affirme Derrick, mes parents pensaient différemment de plusieurs familles où les gens disent à leurs enfants de se trouver un emploi dans une grande entreprise. »

Derrick a étudié en géologie et détient un baccalauréat de l’Université Queen dans ce domaine. Malheureusement, il a terminé ses études durant la récession alors qu’il était difficile de trouver un emploi.

« Le marché était difficile, un peu comme aujourd’hui, je suis donc retourné sur les bancs de l’école afin de parfaire mes compétences », ajoute Derrick.

Alors, il a fréquenté l’Université de Calgary où il a obtenu son MBA. Depuis lors, il a fondé ou cofondé 14 entreprises, dont plusieurs sociétés d’exploration, deux entreprises spécialisées dans la technologie et une firme de gestion immobilière. Durant les dix dernières années, il agit comme membre actif auprès d’une collectivité d’investissements providentiels. Durant cette période, Bluesky Equities, l’une des sociétés d’investisseurs privés les plus actives du sud de l’Alberta, a investi dans plus de deux douzaines d’entreprises locales en démarrage.

En outre, Derrick s’est également impliqué d’une autre façon dans l’entrepreneuriat, et ce, à travers l’éducation. Grâce à son rôle d’administrateur de sa fondation familiale, il fait en sorte que les dons soient effectués pour soutenir efficacement des causes et des organisations novatrices qui manifestent un esprit entrepreneurial. À ce jour, la Hunter Family Foundation a fait don de plusieurs millions de dollars à des organismes de bienfaisance de la région de Calgary.

Au cours des dernières années, la fondation a prioritairement accordé son soutien à la formation entrepreneuriale de l’Université de Calgary, l’alma mater de Derrick. Lorsqu’il étudiait à cette université, il y avait un programme d’étude en partenariat qui a pris fin en 2002.

« L’Université de Calgary était la seule école de commerce importante de la région qui n’enseignait pas l’entrepreneuriat, » selon Derrick.

Mais en 2013, cette situation a changé alors que sa fondation familiale offrit un cadeau de taille à la Haskayne School of Business de l’Université de Calgary afin de créer le « Hunter Centre for Entrepreneurship and Innovation ».

Cette année, la fondation Hunter Family a élargi sa mission à l’Université de Calgary par la création du pôle « Hunter Hub for Entrepreneurial Thinking ». Selon le site Web, le pôle Hunter Hub de l’Université de Calgary est une nouvelle approche qui encourage l’esprit d’entreprise auprès des étudiants, de la faculté, du corps professoral et de la collectivité, au service de la pédagogie et des recherches des étudiants.

« Je pense qu’il faut démystifier le processus d’entrepreneuriat », selon Derrick qui décrit le pôle comme étant un lieu central pour donner accès aux étudiants au programme du Hunter Centre et pour favoriser les échanges avec leurs pairs des autres facultés.

De toute évidence, Derrick Hunter et sa famille ont marqué de façon indélébile l’Université de Calgary et l’écosystème entrepreneurial du tout Calgary, et ce n’est qu’un début! Dans un proche avenir, Derrick souhaite offrir de la formation entrepreneuriale aux autres membres de la collectivité en commençant par les élèves du primaire jusqu’aux travailleurs sans emploi qui souhaitent démarrer une entreprise.

« Nous considérons même qu’un étudiant qui termine ses études et va travailler chez Deloitte, il y acquiert une bonne expérience tout en apprenant à faire une analyse de rentabilité, de financement et de concurrence, et à comparer la qualité de son idée face à la concurrence », affirme Derrick. « S’il décide de se jeter dans la mêlée et de créer sa propre entreprise, il aura au moins une bonne idée de la façon dont il doit s’y prendre. »