GEW On The Road Ambassadors 2017

From November 13 to 19, we are celebrating Global Entrepreneurship Week (GEW) in Canada and across the globe.

As the GEW Canadian hosts, we wanted to give you an inside look at some rockstar entrepreneurs and small businesses across the country, as well as showcase some of the great events and initiatives that will be happening this year. We thought, what better way to do this than to send three ambassadors across the country to show you the entrepreneurial landscape in Canada from their perspective?

Last year, we sent ambassadors Anthony Taylor, Cierra Bray and Colin Corcoran and this year, we teamed up with Amway Canada again to pick three new ambassadors for 2017. We asked Canadians to submit a video telling us why they felt they should represent Futurpreneur Canada and showcase the various entrepreneurial landscapes across our nation during GEW. After receiving an overwhelming amount of entries, a panel of judges selected three winners to represent Futurpreneur on the road this year.

Meet your 2017 On The Road ambassadors!

Catherine Begin GEW On The Road

Catherine Bégin
From: Montreal, Quebec
Ambassador for: St. John’s, Ottawa and Québec City

About Catherine:
Catherine Bégin, 39, is the founder of POPS ART, an artisanal ice pop company based in Montreal, Quebec. Catherine founded POPS ART with the simple objective of selling happiness and providing healthy snack solutions for customers young and old. She is also a proud laureate of the VIVA MTL contest. As an ambassador, Catherine looks forward to shining a spotlight on the people who are making a difference in their city and making their neighbourhood shine. She describes herself as someone who is dynamic, takes on challenges with a smile and hopes to make a difference in her local community.

Alex Henniffent GEW On The Road

Alex Henniffent
From: Grand Falls, Newfoundland and Labrador
Ambassador for: Saskatoon, Winnipeg and Toronto

About Alex:
Alex Henniffent, 21, is the founder of VOLTFUSE, a specialty headwear and apparel brand primarily catering towards the snowboarding market. Hailing from Central Newfoundland, Alex always knew that he wanted to pursue a career doing what he enjoyed. Since establishing VOLTFUSE at the age of 14, Alex has gone on to mentor other young entrepreneurs, speak at a number of conferences and be featured in publications like Maclean’s Magazine and The Globe and Mail. He was also a Dragon’s Den Future Dragon Contest Winner in 2013. Alex is passionate about Canada’s entrepreneurial environment and is constantly seeking new opportunities to innovate and create.

Ismail Attitalla GEW On The Road

Ismail Attitalla
From: Edmonton, Alberta
Ambassador for: Terrace, Vancouver and Calgary

About Ismail:
Ismail Attitalla, 32, is the founder of Stashii, a community-based storage company based in Edmonton, Alberta. Ismail is an experienced entrepreneur with a string of successful Alberta-based businesses behind him. He started his first business at the age of 24 and his ventures haven’t stopped growing since. Passionate about community and an avid follower of new technology, he believes that community can be brought even closer together when the two are married. Ismail prides himself on getting things done and constantly thinking about new and innovative ways to tackle daily activities.

We are excited to have our 2017 ambassadors showcase entrepreneurship across Canada as they start their journeys on Monday, November 13.

Follow their journeys right here on our blog, Twitter and Instagram!

GEW On The Road Ambassadors 2017

Du 13 au 19 novembre, nous célébrons la Semaine mondiale de l’entrepreneuriat (SME), au Canada et partout sur la planète.

En qualité d’hôtes canadiens de la SME, nous tenons à vous faire découvrir quelques-uns de nos entrepreneurs et petites entreprises vedettes au pays, et à vous présenter les formidables événements et projets qui auront lieu cette année. Alors, il n’y a pas meilleure façon que de dépêcher trois ambassadeurs partout au pays pour vous brosser le portrait entrepreneurial du Canada selon leur point de vue?

L’année dernière, les ambassadeurs Anthony Taylor, Cierra Bray et Colin Corcoran ont pris la route à travers le pays; et cette année, nous avons collaboré une fois de plus avec Amway Canada afin de sélectionner trois nouveaux ambassadeurs pour 2017. Nous avons demandé aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes de nous soumettre une vidéo expliquant les raisons pour lesquelles ils devraient représenter Futurpreneur Canada, et ce, en dressant un panorama de l’entrepreneuriat varié de notre pays durant la SME. Nous avons reçu un nombre impressionnant d’inscriptions parmi lesquelles un jury a choisi trois personnes gagnantes qui représenteront Futurpreneur sur la route cette année.

À la rencontre des ambassadeurs de la SME 2017.

Catherine Begin GEW On The Road

Catherine Bégin
Originaire de : Montréal (Québec)
Ambassadeur pour : St. John’s, Ottawa et la ville de Québec

À propos de Catherine :
Catherine Bégin, fondatrice de POPS ART, une entreprise de sucettes glacées artisanales située à Montréal, au Québec. En lançant POPS ART, Catherine, 39 ans, a réalisé son objectif de répandre de la joie en proposant des collations santé aux consommateurs de tous âges. Fière lauréate du concours VIVA MTL, Catherine, en tant qu’ambassadrice, souhaite exposer sous les feux des projecteurs les personnes qui se sont démarquées dans leur ville en faisant rayonner leur quartier. Elle se décrit comme une personne dynamique qui affronte les défis en souriant et qui espère contribuer à améliorer la qualité de vie de sa collectivité.

Alex Henniffent GEW On The Road

Alex Henniffent
Originaire de : Grand Falls (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Ambassadeur pour : Saskatoon, Winnipeg et Toronto

À propos d’Alex :
Alex Henniffent, 21 ans, est le fondateur de VOLTFUSE, une entreprise spécialisée en vêtements et chapeaux destinés surtout au marché du snowboarding. Originaire du centre de Terre-Neuve, Alex sait depuis toujours qu’il ferait carrière dans un domaine qu’il aime par-dessus tout. Depuis qu’il a lancé VOLTFUSE à 14 ans, Alex a joué le rôle de mentor auprès des jeunes entrepreneurs, a prononcé de nombreuses conférences et a fait l’objet de plusieurs articles de publications telles que le Maclean’s Magazine et le Globe and Mail. En 2013, il a remporté le concours Dragon’s Den (version originale anglaise de Dans l’œil du dragon). Alex se passionne pour l’entrepreneuriat canadien, alors qu’il est toujours à la recherche nouvelles possibilités innovantes et créatives.

Ismail Attitalla GEW On The Road

Ismail Attitalla
Originaire de : Edmonton (Alberta)
Ambassadeur pour : Terrace, Vancouver et Calgary

À propos d’Ismail :
Ismail Attitalla est le fondateur de Stashii, une entreprise d’entreposage communautaire, située à Edmonton, en Alberta. Entrepreneur d’expérience, Ismail, 32 ans, possède à son palmarès plusieurs entreprises couronnées de succès. À 24 ans, il a lancé sa première entreprise et depuis lors il n’a cessé de grandir. Passionné d’engagement communautaire et avide de nouvelles technologies, il pense qu’en jumelant les deux pouvoir rapprocher les membres de sa collectivité. Fier de ses accomplissements, Ismail est constamment à la recherche de nouvelles façons innovantes de relever les défis au quotidien.

Nous nous réjouissons de voir nos ambassadeurs parcourir le Canada afin de représenter notre entrepreneuriat à compter du lundi 13 novembre.

Suivez-les durant leur périple sur notre blogue, Twitter et Instagram!