Founder of Sumac, Tarek and mentor, Patrick

This week Futurpreneur Canada is celebrating National Volunteer Week with the rest of Canada by showing our appreciation for our almost 3,000 volunteer business mentors who work with our young entrepreneurs to help them succeed. To celebrate, we’re sharing some of the stories of our mentor and mentee matches to showcase just how valuable mentors can be to new entrepreneurs.

Tarek Jaml grew up in Syria and left at 19 years old to move to Abu Dhabi where he lived for 17 years. It was there where he met his wife and later moved to St. John’s, Newfoundland. Tarek had always been an entrepreneur, even long before moving to Canada and starting Sumac Middle Eastern Market and Eatery. In Abu Dhabi he managed a construction company and when he moved to St. John’s, he wanted to find something else that he could run and grow on his own. Sumac is a pantry where customers can get halal foods, authentic Middle Eastern foods, and other products. It also serves traditional Middle Eastern food such as falafel, shawarma and lentil soup.

When Tarek became a part of the Futurpreneur program which helped him turn his dream of creating his restaurant into reality, he was paired with an experienced business mentor, Patrick Martin. Patrick has years of experience working in a number of technical and education positions at Memorial University, and serving on two dozen local and national boards. He currently is part of the Rotary Club of St. John’s, on the board of the Autism Society and an executive on the local Canadian Mental Health Association board. In 1998 Patrick started his own business called Plum Creative Works which provides creative design, technical support, strategy development and marketing.

As soon as Patrick leaped into entrepreneurship he decided to become a mentor. He was one of Futurpreneur’s first mentors to get involved in the program. “While I did not have a lot of experience at the time, there were many things that I would have done differently if I had someone to help me,” he explained. Since becoming a mentor Patrick has not only helped several young entrepreneurs but also reaped the rewards himself. “As a mentor I am constantly meeting new people and some have become great friends. The relationships you are building and developing can be some of the strongest business relationships you’ll have,” he shared.

Patrick’s most recent mentee, Tarek has given Patrick even more opportunities to grow. One of the biggest learning curves for him was learning about the Middle Eastern culture and aesthetics. He spent a lot of time reading, watching and listening to get a better understanding of this part of the world to be able to really help Tarek start and grow his business. Tarek explains how valuable it has been to have Patrick to ask questions to and ask for advice. “He had great ideas and plenty of solutions to potential issues I could have,” Tarek shared. Patrick helps Tarek with his branding and marketing—from designing his brand, materials, signage, menus and overall image.

Having an experienced professional in your court can be such a valuable asset to any new business. You don’t feel like you’re doing it all alone and have someone to turn to for support. Tarek believes that the right mentor can be the difference between the success and failure of your business. “A good mentor will be a sounding board for your ideas, no matter how crazy. They will listen when you have problems or questions. They will provide answers to your questions or often provide you with the way to find an answer. They will give you encouragement when you are having difficulties. They provide advice when it is needed and they are honest with you,” Tarek explains.

The pair will continue to work together for up to two years and likely their relationship will go well beyond the Futurpreneur program. Both Patrick and Tarek have greatly benefited from one another and Futurpreneur can’t wait to continue to see how the pair works together to grow Sumac Middle Eastern Market and Eatery.

If you’re interested in becoming a mentor with Futurpreneur or interested in interested in our financing and mentorship program for entrepreneurs aged 18-39, click here.

Written by: Lauren Marinigh, Social Media & Content Specialist, Futurpreneur Canada

Founder of Sumac, Tarek and mentor, Patrick

Du 23 au 29 avril, l’équipe de Futurpreneur Canada fête la Semaine de l’action bénévole avec le reste du pays en exprimant sa reconnaissance pour ses quelque 3 000 mentors bénévoles qui accompagnent ses jeunes entrepreneurs dans leur réussite. Pour l’occasion, nous vous présentons le récit de certaines collaborations entre nos mentors et leurs mentorés. Le mentorat peut jouer un grand rôle dans la réussite d’un nouvel entrepreneur… En voici la preuve.

Tarek Jaml a grandi en Syrie. À 19 ans, il déménage à Abou Dhabi où il passe les 17 années suivantes. C’est là qu’il rencontre son épouse avant de partir pour St. John’s, capitale de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Tarek a toujours eu la fibre entrepreneuriale, bien avant d’émigrer au Canada et de démarrer . En effet, aux Émirats arabes unis, il a dirigé une entreprise dans le domaine de la construction. À son arrivée à St. John’s, il a donc cherché un projet dont il pourrait lui-même assurer la direction et la croissance. Dans son commerce, les clients peuvent y trouver de la nourriture halal, des aliments authentiques du Moyen-Orient et bien d’autres produits. On peut également y manger des mets traditionnels comme des falafels, des chawarmas et de la soupe aux lentilles.

Le programme de Futurpreneur a aidé Tarek à concrétiser son rêve et à ouvrir son restaurant. À son inscription, il a été jumelé à Patrick Martin, un mentor d’expérience. Patrick compte de nombreuses années d’expérience à titre de professeur à l’Université Memorial, où il a également occupé divers postes techniques, en plus de siéger à deux douzaines de conseils d’administration locaux et nationaux. Aujourd’hui, il est membre du Rotary Club de St. John’s et il siège au conseil d’administration de la Société canadienne de l’autisme et au conseil de direction de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale de sa région. En 1998, il a fondé Plum Creative Works, une entreprise offrant des services de conception graphique, de soutien technique, de planification stratégique et de marketing.

Dès qu’il s’est lancé en affaires, Patrick est également devenu mentor. Il a même été l’un des premiers mentors du programme Futurpreneur. « Même si je n’avais pas beaucoup d’expérience à l’époque, j’aurais fait bien des choses différemment si j’avais eu quelqu’un pour m’aider », raconte-t-il. Depuis, Patrick a épaulé plusieurs jeunes entrepreneurs, une aide qui n’a pas été à sens unique. « Comme mentor, je fais constamment de nouvelles rencontres dont certaines sont devenues de belles amitiés. Les relations qu’on bâtit et qu’on entretient grâce au mentorat sont parfois les relations d’affaires les plus durables. »

Son tout dernier mentoré, Tarek, lui a donné de nouvelles occasions d’évoluer. Patrick a notamment beaucoup appris au sujet de la culture et de l’esthétique du Moyen-Orient. Pour mieux comprendre cette région du monde et aider Tarek à se lancer en affaires et à progresser, il a passé beaucoup de temps à lire, à observer et à écouter. De son côté, pouvoir poser des questions et demander conseil à Patrick a été d’une grande importance pour Tarek : « Il avait d’excellentes idées et une tonne de solutions à proposer en cas de problèmes ». Encore aujourd’hui, Patrick aide Tarek à définir sa marque et à la mettre en marché : conception, matériel publicitaire, enseignes, menus et image générale.

Connaître un professionnel expérimenté est un atout précieux pour tout nouvel entrepreneur. On ne se sent plus seul dans l’aventure, on a quelqu’un vers qui se tourner. Tarek croit que le bon mentor peut faire la différence entre la réussite ou l’échec d’une entreprise. « Un bon mentor, c’est quelqu’un à qui on peut soumettre ses idées, même les plus folles. C’est quelqu’un qui écoute lorsqu’on a un problème ou une question, qui nous donne des réponses, et, souvent, qui nous guide pour qu’on trouve les réponses par nous-mêmes. Le mentor nous encourage dans les moments difficiles, il nous conseille au besoin et il est toujours honnête », explique Tarek.

Le tandem continuera à travailler ensemble jusqu’à l’échéance du programme Futurpreneur, soit deux ans. Mais parions que leur relation ne s’arrêtera pas là! Patrick et Tarek ont grandement bénéficié de cette collaboration et de leur participation au programme. L’équipe de Futurpreneur a très hâte de voir jusqu’où cette collaboration mènera Sumac Middle Eastern Market and Eatery.

Si vous souhaitez devenir mentor pour Futurpreneur ou si vous êtes intéressé par notre programme de financement et de mentorat pour les entrepreneurs de 18 à 39 ans, cliquez ici.

Texte de : Lauren Marinigh, spécialiste de la création de contenus et des médias sociaux, Futurpreneur Canada