Seahorse Salon Team

Getting your hair done is a great feeling. While you might arrive looking less-than-perfect, by the end of your appointment, your new ‘do will have you feeling like a changed person.

However, the salon experience does not always go so smoothly for everyone. Anyone with textured or curly hair can understand the struggle of finding a hair salon that caters to you. Fortunately, entrepreneur Jenn Ghaney saw this hole in the market and decided to do something about it. She started The Seahorse Salon with the goal of it being a “safe haven for clients with wavy, curly and textured hair.”

Seahorse Salon

Jenn was born and raised in Newfoundland and Labrador and starting her career as a hairstylist in St John’s. While she was passionate about her work, she always knew there was something more in store for her. “I moved around the world only to return home again with ideas for starting a business,” she said. “Newfoundland and Labrador hold a great deal of potential for entrepreneurs; locals are very eager to support small businesses and I wanted to start a business that would support and connect others like me.”

The idea for Seahorse Salon stemmed from Jenn working with clients with curly, kinky and wavy hair. “Listening to each curly client in my chair, I sensed the frustration with a lifetime of having unmanageable hair,” she said. “By establishing my own safe haven for curly clients, they could feel comfortable in an environment that catered just to them.”

In addition to their vision of inclusivity, Seahorse only works with natural hair products and prides itself on providing “top education to every client on how to care for their hair.”

Jenn is also a very community-oriented entrepreneur. Her salon sells local goods and displays local art to support her community’s economy. Jenn is also connected to Green Circle Salons, an organization dedicated to reducing salon waste, and the Dresscode Project, which is dedicated to creating a safe salon space for the LGBT+ community. In the future, Jenn plans to collaborate and engage with other local businesses.

Jenn has had great success in building Seahorse Salon’s team and customer base and is looking to hire a new stylist in the future as their client list continues to grow.

When Jenn was starting out, she turned to Futurpreneur Canada for financing and mentoring support. “Without this amazing initiative, my company could not exist,” she says. “From providing me with the blueprint for writing a business plan to having my mentor, Kevin Pomroy, and the local Business Development Manager, Scott Andrews, answer any business questions I may have, Futurpreneur has proved invaluable to my success, both in financing and in mentorship.”

Seahorse salon Founder

Whether you’re just starting out or have been in business for a few years, having a mentor is incredibly valuable for an entrepreneur. “I knew my industry and my trade inside and out; however, I was lacking in the skills needed to apply to the business side. My mentor has assisted me with these concerns and has directed me to the people that I should seek additional help from,” she said.

Her advice to service-based entrepreneurs looking to launch their first business? “Know your craft and follow your gut. Be the absolute best you can be at your craft and deliver that to each and every client.  Stay true to your passion and open to learning as you go. If your clients feel connected to the company, they will help grow the business with you.”

Have a great business idea? Check out our programs and services

Written by: Sara Pivato, Social Media & Content Coordinator, Futurpreneur Canada

Seahorse Salon Team

Une visite au salon de coiffure procure un sentiment de satisfaction. Même si vous arrivez à votre rendez-vous avec une apparence négligée, vous repartez avec une tête rafraîchie.

Toutefois, ces visites ne se déroulent pas toujours aussi bien pour tout le monde. Les personnes ayant des cheveux ondulés ou bouclés ont du mal à trouver un salon de coiffure qui répond à leurs besoins. Fort heureusement, l’entrepreneure Jenn Ghaney s’en est aperçue et a décidé de combler cette lacune du marché. Elle a fondé The Seahorse Salon dans le but de créer un « havre de paix pour les clients ayant une chevelure ondulée ou bouclée ».

Jenn est née et a grandi à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, et c’est à St. John’s qu’elle a entamé sa carrière. Malgré sa passion pour son travail, elle a toujours su que l’avenir lui réservait autre chose. « Après avoir voyagé autour du monde, je suis rentrée chez moi la tête pleine d’idées pour démarrer une entreprise. Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador possède un fort potentiel pour les entrepreneurs. Les gens ici se montrent enthousiastes à l’idée de soutenir les petites entreprises. Je voulais donc lancer un projet qui soutient et rassemble d’autres personnes comme moi », confie-t-elle.

C’est en travaillant avec des clients aux cheveux bouclés et ondulés que l’idée de créer Seahorse Salon est venue à Jenn. « Chaque fois que j’écoutais mes clients aux cheveux bouclés parler, je sentais la frustration accumulée, car personne ne pouvait s’occuper de leurs cheveux. En mettant en place ce sanctuaire, je leur ai offert un endroit où ils peuvent se sentir à l’aise et un environnement qui répond précisément à leurs besoins », dit-elle.

Outre l’inclusivité qu’il prône, le salon Seahorse est fier d’utiliser exclusivement des produits naturels et d’enseigner à tous ses clients la meilleure façon de prendre soin de leurs cheveux.

Jenn est également très active au sein de sa collectivité. Son salon vend des produits locaux et expose des œuvres d’artistes de la région afin de soutenir l’économie du coin. De plus, elle fait partie de la Green Circle Salons, une organisation qui travaille pour la réduction des déchets provenant des salons de coiffure et de Dresscode Project dont le but est de fournir des salons sûrs pour la communauté LGBTQ+. Dans l’avenir, elle compte collaborer avec d’autres entreprises locales.

Jenn a parfaitement réussi à bâtir l’équipe de Seahorse et à développer sa clientèle. Aujourd’hui, elle souhaite embaucher une nouvelle personne pour satisfaire sa clientèle grandissante.

À ses débuts, Jenn s’est tournée vers Futurpreneur Canada pour solliciter du financement et du mentorat. « Sans ce programme extraordinaire, mon entreprise n’existerait pas. En mettant à ma disposition l’outil de rédaction de plans d’affaires, le financement et les conseils de mon mentor, Kevin Pomroy, et du directeur régional du développement des affaires, Scott Andrews, qui répondaient à toutes mes questions, Futurpreneur m’a fourni une aide inestimable », raconte Jenn.

Avoir un mentor est extrêmement important pour un entrepreneur, qu’il en soit à ses débuts ou propriétaire de son entreprise depuis quelques années. « Je connaissais parfaitement mon secteur et mon métier. Cependant, je n’avais pas toutes les compétences entrepreneuriales nécessaires pour me lancer en affaires. Mon mentor m’a aidé à aborder ces préoccupations et m’a recommandé de me tourner vers d’autres personnes susceptibles de m’aider davantage », dit-elle.

Son conseil pour les aspirants entrepreneurs qui souhaitent offrir des services et démarrer leur première entreprise? « Apprenez bien votre métier et suivez votre instinct. Excellez dans votre métier et faites-le sentir à chaque client. Restez fidèle à votre passion et ouvert à l’apprentissage tout au long de votre aventure. Si vos clients s’identifient à votre entreprise, ils vous aideront à le développer », explique-t-elle.

Vous avez un bon projet d’entreprise? Jetez un coup dœil à nos programmes et services