Veronique Dumont

Véronique Dumont immediately turns heads when she enters a room.

She is dynamic, cheerful and full of energy, so right away, you want to talk to her. A self-employed young woman in a male environment, Véronique started a residential renovation and construction company and recently completed the transformation of an entire condo. When she talks about renovation, you can sense her passion for this field of work. She truly makes you want to entrust her with your own living space.

Véronique recently participated in Rock My Business Plan, a Foundation for an Entrepreneurial Canada program supported by RBC Future Launch. She has described this step in her career as “an enriching human experience and a stimulating business experience.”

Véronique was motivated to register for the Rock My Business Plan workshops by her need to better understand her competitors and to assess her value proposition. She also hoped that this training would help her start implementing her business plan on a solid foundation. She admits that this was difficult for her.

Rock My Business Plan is distinguished from other training programs by its experiential methodology. The training aims to help participants advance their business projects through the sharing of each participant’s experiences. Sharing and mutual assistance of the participants are the pillars of this approach, which Véronique greatly appreciated:

“On the professional level, networking with all these people who have amazing cross-disciplinary skills enabled me to think about my marketing strategy (…) My main observation: networking is crucial. It allows us to meet people who share our daily life, our fears and our hopes. Moreover, it’s natural for people to help each other and we find ourselves building, without realizing it, a powerful network of contacts and mutual support.”

In addition, Véronique found that being with the other entrepreneurs was very inspiring:

“It was extremely enriching to meet with other people, other entrepreneurs, people who dream and dare, people who have created a unique idea and single-handedly carried it forward.”

Among the benefits she drew from the experience, Véronique notes having thereafter focused on business development. In 2018, she hopes to withdraw from operations so that she can seek out new clients for her company. She also assigned herself the task of completing her business plan. To do so, she restructured her schedule and gave herself concrete means to succeed.

And succeed she will because Véronique Dumont is a true entrepreneur. She possesses the abundant energy a businesswoman who achieves positive results. The highly conservative construction industry will be shaken up by this woman who will change the norms. Véronique Dumont has a very promising future as an entrepreneur!

Click here to find a Rock My Business Plan workshop in your area!

Written by: Jean-Philippe Écuyer, Entrepreneur in Residence, Futurpreneur Canada

Veronique Dumont

Lorsque Véronique Dumont entre dans une pièce, on la remarque immédiatement. Fonceuse, souriante et pleine d’énergie, on a tout de suite envie d’aller lui parler. Jeune travailleuse autonome dans un milieu d’hommes, Véronique a lancé une entreprise de rénovation et de construction résidentielle. Récemment, elle a réalisé la transformation d’un condo tout entier. Quand elle nous parle de rénovation, on ressent bien sa passion pour ce domaine. Elle nous donne sincèrement envie de lui confier notre espace de vie !

Véronique a récemment participé à Cap sur mon plan d’affaires, un programme de la Fondation pour un Canada entrepreneurial appuyé par «Objectif avenir RBC». Elle décrit ce parcours comme étant « une expérience humaine enrichissante et une expérience d’affaires stimulante »

Ce qui a amené Véronique à s’inscrire aux ateliers Cap sur mon plan d’affaires, c’était son besoin de mieux connaître ses concurrents et d’évaluer sa proposition de valeur. Également, elle souhaitait que cette formation puisse l’aider à débuter son plan d’affaires sur de bonnes bases. Elle l’avoue, cette tâche n’était pas facile pour elle.

Ce qui distingue Cap sur mon plan d’affaires des autres formations, c’est sa méthodologie expérientielle. La formation vise à faire progresser les participants dans leur projet d’affaires, à travers la mise en commun des expériences respectives de chacun d’entre eux. Le partage et l’entraide des participants sont les piliers de cette approche, ce que Véronique a grandement apprécié :

« Sur le plan professionnel, le réseautage avec tous ces gens qui possèdent des compétences transversales énormes m’ont permis de réfléchir sur ma stratégie marketing (…) Mon constat principal : le réseautage est essentiel. Il nous permet de rencontrer des gens qui partagent notre quotidien, nos craintes et nos espoirs. En plus, les gens s’entraident naturellement et nous nous retrouvons à bâtir, sans le savoir, un réseau de contact et d’entraide puissant. »

Par ailleurs, Véronique a trouvé que le contact avec les autres entrepreneurs était fort inspirant :

« En effet, la rencontre avec d’autres gens, d’autres entrepreneurs, des gens qui rêvent et qui osent, des gens qui ont créé une idée singulière et qui la portent à bout de bras a été très enrichissante pour moi »

Parmi les gains qu’elle retire de l’expérience, Véronique nous mentionne avoir désormais mis le focus sur son développement d’affaires. En 2018, elle souhaite se dégager des opérations pour être en mesure d’aller chercher de nouveaux clients pour son entreprise. Également, elle s’est mise à la tâche de compléter son plan d’affaires. Pour y arriver elle a structuré son horaire différemment et elle s’est donné des moyens concrets pour y arriver.

Et elle y arrivera, parce que Véronique Dumont est une entrepreneure, une vraie ! Son énergie débordante est celle d’une femme d’affaires qui réussira bien des exploits. Fort conservateur, le milieu de la construction sera bousculé par cette femme qui changera les standards. Véronique Dumont a un avenir entrepreneurial prometteur !

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire à un atelier Cap sur mon plan d’affaires dans votre région!

Rédigé par: Jean-Philippe Écuyer, entrepreneur-en-résidence, Futurpreneur Canada