The 2018 Futurpreneur Canada Awards presents a picture of innovation and diversity as we celebrate the contribution and achievements of young entrepreneurs changing the face of small business in Canada.

Futurpreneur is proud to be facilitating the changing entrepreneurial landscape in Canada as small businesses continue to play an increasingly instrumental role in the growth and development of the national economy.

The Futurpreneur Canada Awards recognizes entrepreneurs making an impact on the community in four categories: Entrepreneur of the Year, Grit, Growing Strong and Disruption.

The initiative also recognizes the critical role of mentors in the growth, empowerment and success of young entrepreneurs with the Vivian Prokop Mirchandani Mentorship Award, named for the late Vivian Prokop Mirchandani, former Futurpreneur Canada CEO.

The 2018 Futurpreneur Canada Award Winners represent a new breed of entrepreneurs, contributing to vital areas such as job creation, and driving innovation with businesses accommodating the evolving needs of communities across Canada.

After a total of 131 applications and more than 4,470 online votes we are excited to present the 2018 Futurpreneur Canada Award Winners.

 


 

Entrepreneur of the Year

Israa Hilles, Escritoire Coworking Spaces

Israa Hilles is the owner and founder of Escritoire Coworking Space Inc, a unique shared workspace in Montreal where modern professionals can work productively—right in their local communities. New to Canada, Israa developed Escritoire with a focus on the genuine passion of members for their neighbours and neighbourhoods, working to foster rather than force a sense of community and connection.

 

Grit Award

Harman Kaur & Gabrielle Zoppa, Spa Botanica

Harman went into business with $0 in her personal and business accounts, relying on food banks to feed herself and her children. She overcame struggles and sacrifices to launch and grow Spa Botanica with her business partner, Gabrielle. Spa Botanica is a full service day spa with an Ayurvedic influence specializing in custom-made skincare using pure ingredients such as turmeric, Multani clay, sandalwood, rose petals, coconut, cucumber and more.

 

Growing Strong Award

Armen Bakirtzian, Intellijoint Surgical

Intellijoint’s flagship product, Intellijoint HIP®, provides surgeons with real-time, intra-operative measurements to ensure accurate size selection, positioning, and alignment of orthopaedic implants during total hip replacements. In just two years of commercialization, Intellijoint HIP has been used to more accurately reconstruct over 6,500 total hip replacements. With the adoption rate of Intellijoint HIP growing rapidly, Intellijoint Surgical knew though that it needed to grow beyond its established markets. In 2017, Intellijoint expanded into the Australian and New Zealand markets with its newly earned CE Mark, and in September 2018 entered the European Union market.

 

Disruption Award

Gabriel Laliberté, Objectif Motivation Gym

Driven by a passion to leave a healthy legacy throughout his community in the south shore of Quebec City, Gabriel launched Objectif Motivation Gym to provide a customized training service that would guide his clients in achieving their objectives and modifying life habits considered harmful.

Gabriel aims to broaden his horizons in the medium term with an additional two to three employees, offering a home service and web programs, and developing partnerships with complementary people and companies.

 

The Vivian Prokop Mirchandani Mentorship Award

Juliana MacEwen, Precision Digital

Starting a business can feel very lonely at times, unless you have people that you can talk to who understand what you are going through. Juliana MacEwen realizes this and tries to lend a hand whenever she can to people who are taking the leap of faith to start their own business.

Juliana was nominated for going above and beyond her mentoring role, supporting her mentees in a range of ways, from hiring new employees to providing guidance on business decisions such as new ideas or changes in direction.

Most importantly, Juliana has helped her mentees to become more confident with themselves as women in business, inspiring and empowering those around her.

 


 

Congratulations to all of our finalists and to everyone who applied; it is thanks to the grit and the efforts of entrepreneurs that we are able to continue and contribute to growing Canada one business at a time!

 

Get up to $45,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Les Prix Futurpreneur Canada  2018 présentent un tableau de l’innovation et de la diversité alors que nous célébrons la contribution et les réalisations de jeunes entrepreneurs qui changent le visage de la petite entreprise au Canada.

Futurpreneur est fier de faciliter l’évolution du paysage entrepreneurial au Canada, alors que les petites entreprises continuent de jouer un rôle de plus en plus déterminant dans la croissance et le développement de l’économie nationale.

Les prix Futurpreneur Canada reconnaissent les entrepreneurs qui ont un impact sur la communauté dans quatre catégories: Entrepreneur de l’année, Audace, Forte Croissance et Endurance.

L’initiative reconnaît également le rôle crucial des mentors dans la croissance, l’autonomisation et le succès des jeunes entrepreneurs avec le Prix de mentorat Vivian Prokop Mirchandani, nommé en l’honneur de Vivian Prokop Mirchandani, ancienne PDG de Futurpreneur Canada.

Les lauréats du Prix Futurpreneur Canada 2018 représentent un nouveau type d’entrepreneurs, contribuant à des domaines essentiels tels que la création d’emplois et stimulant l’innovation avec des entreprises répondant aux besoins changeants des communautés partout au Canada.

Après un total de 131 candidatures et plus de 4 400 votes, nous sommes ravis de présenter les lauréats du Prix Futurpreneur Canada 2018.

 


 

Entrepreneure de l’année

Israa Hilles, Escritoire Coworking Spaces

Israa Hilles est la fondatrice de Escritoire Coworking Space Inc, un espace de travail partagé unique où les professionnels peuvent travailler de manière productive, directement dans leurs communautés locales. L’entreprise est avant tout concentrée sur la véritable passion de leurs membres. L’entreprise travaille donc pour favoriser la communauté (au lieu de la forcer) en s’efforçant d’être de bons voisins – d’adhérer et d’être accueillis par les quartiers qu’elle dessert et de faciliter les relations locales entre membres.

 

Prix Endurance

Harman Kaur & Gabrielle Zoppa, Spa Botanica

Harman a démarré ses affaires avec 0 $ dans ses comptes personnel et professionnel, s’appuyant sur les banques alimentaires pour se nourrir et nourrir ses enfants, et a surmonté de nombreuses difficultés et de nombreux sacrifices pour lancer et développer Spa Botanica, au sein de son entreprise actuelle, avec sa partenaire d’affaires Gabrielle.

 

Prix Forte Croissance

Armen Bakirtzian, Intellijoint Surgical

Le produit phare d’Intellijoint, Intellijoint HIP®, fournit aux chirurgiens des mesures peropératoires en temps réel afin d’assurer une sélection précise de la taille, le positionnement et l’alignement des implants orthopédiques lors du remplacement total de la hanche. En seulement deux ans de commercialisation, Intellijoint HIP a été utilisé pour reconstruire avec plus de précision plus de 6 500 arthroplasties totales de la hanche. Avec le taux d’adoption d’Intellijoint HIP en croissance rapide, Intellijoint Surgical savait cependant qu’il lui fallait se développer au-delà de ses marchés établis. En 2017, Intellijoint s’est étendu aux marchés australien et néo-zélandais avec son nouveau label CE et est entré en septembre 2018 sur le marché de l’Union européenne.

 

Prix Audace

Gabriel Laliberté, Objectif Motivation Gym

Animé par la passion de laisser un héritage sain dans sa communauté de la rive sud de la ville de Québec, Gabriel a lancé Objectif Motivation Gym afin de fournir un service de formation personnalisé qui guiderait ses clients dans la réalisation de leurs objectifs et la modification d’habitudes de vie jugées néfastes.

Gabriel vise à élargir ses horizons à moyen terme avec deux ou trois employés supplémentaires, en offrant un service à domicile et des programmes Web et en développant des partenariats avec des personnes et des entreprises complémentaires.

 

Le Prix de Mentorat Vivian Prokop Mirchandani

Juliana MacEwen, Precision Digital

Le démarrage d’une entreprise peut parfois être très solitaire, à moins que vous puissiez parler à des personnes qui comprennent ce que vous vivez.

Juliana MacEwen essaie de donner un coup de main chaque fois qu’elle le peut aux personnes qui se lancent pour créer leur propre entreprise. Juliana est un excellent mentor, car elle va au-delà de son rôle de mentor. Elle aide ses mentorés dans de nombreux domaines, tels que le recrutement.

Plus important encore, elle a aidé ses mentorés à devenir plus confiants en tant que femmes dans les affaires. Juliana est très accueillante et confiante. Elle dégage une ambiance qui donne le pouvoir à tout le monde autour d’elle

 


 

Félicitations à tous nos finalistes et à tous ceux qui ont posé leur candidature; c’est grâce au courage et aux efforts des entrepreneurs que nous sommes en mesure de continuer à contribuer à la croissance du Canada, une entreprise à la fois!

 

Obtenez jusqu'à 45 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →