International Women’s Day 2018 has arrived and Futurpreneur Canada is joining the world in celebrating the social, economic and cultural achievements of women across the globe.

This celebration is also a call-to-action to accelerate gender parity. This year, the International Women’s Day (IWD) organization launched the #PressForProgress campaign— “a strong call to motivate and unite friends, colleagues and whole communities to think, act and be gender inclusive.”

With this in mind, Futurpreneur is extending this invitation by celebrating the women we have supported over the years that have ‘pressed for progress’ in their own communities or around the world.

Here are six female entrepreneurs that are not only doing what they love while supporting social causes and making a real impact in the world.

 1. Alyssa Bertram, founder of Easy Period

 

International Women's Day

Before launching her business, Alyssa found that most tampons, pads and liners in the market were made in a harmful way. Easy Period delivers 100% organic and unbleached cotton feminine hygiene products to their subscribers’ doors every three, six or 12 months.

Menstruation and feminine hygiene products are still a taboo conversation to this day but Easy Period’s #PressforProgress is working towards eliminating the stigma. Alyssa’s business also makes a difference by donating 5% of every order’s profits to ZanaAfricana—an organization dedicated to providing pads and health education to girls in Kenya.

2. Bobbi Paidel, founder of Tribe of Lambs

International Women's Day

Tribe of Lambs is a unisex jewelry and clothing brand that designs and produces its products ethically in India. During her travels, Bobbi was made aware of the continuing epidemic of HIV+ children in India and wanted to make a difference.

The unique and high-quality pieces not only add a finishing touch to any outfit, but a portion of the proceeds from every order goes towards the brand’s current passion project. The last project focused on how HIV+ children still face prejudice when enrolling in school.

Bobbi and her team #PressForProgress to ensure that children aren’t losing out on an education based on discrimination. Tribe of Lambs was able to provide 48 children affected by HIV with tuition for their education.

3. Brianne Miller, founder of NADA

International Women's Day

The food and grocery industries often add to the ongoing destructive behaviours of food waste and plastic pollution. NADA, Vancouver’s first zero-waste food market, has customers bring their own containers when shopping. The pay-what-you-weigh system produces less food waste and eliminates unnecessary packaging by utilizing reusable containers.

Not only does Brianne Miller, founder and CEO, #PressForProgress by contributing to local community organizations, she also has a team of empowered women leading the NADA business and cause.

4. Merichel Diaz Fuentes Mora, founder of Maya Mia

Taking care of your skin does not always mean piling on a mountain of expensive creams and serums. Oftentimes, high-quality, simple ingredients can be more effective than unnatural fragrances and other harmful chemicals.

Maya Mia focuses on what the earth has to offer. Their soaps are all made by founder Merichel Diaz Fuentes Mora. Originally from Mexico, Merichel wanted her business to be as ethical as possible.

Maya Mia handmade soaps #PressForProgress by supporting the isolated Mayan beekeeping community through a Fairtrade business partnership, which benefits working women by offering better pay and childcare opportunities. The Mayan honey-enriched soaps were started by a woman who wanted more for her future and for the community that continues to inspire her.

5. Mai Eilia, Founder of Magnum Construction

International Women's Day

Labour and skilled trades are typically male-dominated industries and it’s not common to see women at the forefront of construction companies. Mai Eilie’s #PressForProgress is founding Magnum Construction despite the stereotypes and assumptions that many women face in the industry.

“To be honest, it has been a journey,” Eilie says. “It’s a man’s world but it gives you thicker skin. I wouldn’t have imagined in my whole life, a Syrian woman like myself, becoming a well-known contractor in Vancouver.”

From drywall, to interior design, Magnum Construction focuses on delivering a high quality product to customers with any budget. Eilie is a female entrepreneur with a variety of skill sets that enabled her to pierce through the market. Her success has been extraordinary. Since landing in Canada not too long ago as a Syrian refugee, Eilie has built a future for herself and her family in British Columbia.

6. Gelaine Santiago, co-founder of Cambio and Co.

International Women's Day

Cambio Market defines empowerment as you. While the world works in many ways to capitalize on the labour of the less empowered, Gelaine Santiago and her co-founder (and partner) Jérȏme Gagnon-Voyer, started this business to bring artisanal products from the Philippines and around the world to Canadian consumers.

Gelaine and Jérȏme, “discovered a vibrant community of ethical enterprises combatting poverty and inequality,” during their trip to the Philippines. This inspired them both to start a project that would empower the community they had met.

Gelaine’s #PressforProgress provides these artisans, many women, with a platform to sell their craft internationally. Cambio Market features original bags, jewelry and clothing from these various designers.

As you can see, Canadians have a lot to celebrate today. Happy International Women’s Day 2018!

Written by: Sara Pivato, Social Media & Content Coordinator, Futurpreneur Canada

Get up to $45,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

La Journée internationale de la femme 2018 est arrivée et Futurpreneur Canada se joint au monde entier pour célébrer les réalisations sociales, économiques et culturelles des femmes à travers le monde.

Cette célébration est également un appel à l’action pour accélérer la parité entre les sexes. Cette année, l’organisation de la Journée internationale de la femme (IWD) a lancé la campagne #PressForProgress – «un appel fort pour motiver et unir les amis, les collègues et les communautés entières à penser, agir et inclure le genre».

Dans cet esprit, Futurpreneur prolonge cette invitation en célébrant les femmes que nous avons soutenues au cours des années qui ont «pressé le progrès» dans leurs propres communautés ou autour du monde.

Voici six femmes entrepreneurs qui font non seulement ce qu’elles aiment, mais soutiennent des causes sociales et ont un impact réel dans le monde.

1. Alyssa Bertram, fondatrice de Easy Period

International Women's Day

Avant de lancer son entreprise, Alyssa a constaté que la plupart des tampons, des serviettes et des protège-slips du marché étaient fabriqués de façon dangereuse. Easy Period livre des produits d’hygiène féminine 100% bio et directement livrés à la porte de leurs abonnés tous les trois, six ou douze mois.

Les produits de menstruation et d’hygiène féminine sont toujours une conversation taboue à ce jour, mais #PressforProgress de Easy Period travaille à éliminer la stigmatisation. L’activité d’Alyssa fait également la différence en faisant don de 5% des bénéfices de chaque commande à ZanaAfricana, une organisation dédiée à fournir des serviettes hygiéniques et une éducation sanitaire aux filles au Kenya.

2. Bobbi Paidel, fondatrice de Tribe of Lambs

International Women's Day

Tribe of Lambs est une marque de bijoux et de vêtements unisexe qui conçoit et produit ses produits de façon éthique en Inde. Au cours de ses voyages, Bobbi s’est rendue compte de l’avancée constante de l’épidémie d’enfants séropositifs en Inde et voulait faire la différence.

Les pièces uniques et de haute qualité non seulement ajoutent une touche finale à n’importe quelle tenue, mais une partie des bénéfices sont reversés au projet de passion actuel de la marque. Le dernier projet en date se focalisait sur les enfants séropositifs font encore face à des préjugés lorsqu’ils s’inscrivent à l’école.

Bobbi et son équipe #PressForProgress pour s’assurer que les enfants ne perdent pas une éducation basée sur la discrimination. La tribu des agneaux a pu fournir à 48 enfants affectés par le VIH des frais de scolarité pour leur éducation.

3. Brianne Miller, fondatrice de NADA

International Women's Day

Les industries de l’alimentation et de la nourriture en général s’ajoutent souvent aux comportements destructeurs continus du gaspillage alimentaire et de la pollution plastique. NADA, le premier marché d’aliments sans déchets de Vancouver, offre aux clients d’apporter leurs propres contenants lorsqu’ils font leurs courses. Le système «payez ce que vous pesez» produit moins de déchets alimentaires et élimine les emballages inutiles en utilisant des contenants réutilisables.

Non seulement Brianne Miller, fondatrice et PDG de #PressForProgress en contribuant aux organisations communautaires locales, elle a aussi une équipe de femmes autonomes qui dirigent les affaires et la cause de NADA.

4. Merichel Diaz Fuentes Mora, fondatrice de Maya Mia

Prendre soin de sa peau ne signifie pas toujours empiler sur une montagne de crèmes et de sérums coûteux. Souvent, des ingrédients simples de haute qualité peuvent être plus efficaces que des parfums non naturels et d’autres produits chimiques nocifs.

Maya Mia se concentre sur ce que la terre a à offrir. Ses savons sont tous fabriqués par le fondateur Merichel Diaz Fuentes Mora. Originaire du Mexique, Merichel voulait que son entreprise soit aussi éthique que possible.

Ces savons faits à la main soutiennent la communauté apicole maya isolée grâce à un partenariat commercial Fairtrade, qui profite aux femmes qui travaillent en offrant de meilleures opportunités de salaire et de garde d’enfants. Les savons mayas enrichis en miel ont été créés par une femme qui en voulait plus pour son avenir et pour la communauté qui continue de l’inspirer.

5. Mai Eilia, fondatrice de Magnum Construction

International Women's Day

La main-d’œuvre et les métiers spécialisés sont généralement des industries dominées par les hommes et il n’est pas courant de voir les femmes à l’avant-garde des entreprises de construction. #PressForProgress Mai Eilie est en train de fonder Magnum Construction en dépit des stéréotypes et des suppositions auxquels de nombreuses femmes font face dans l’industrie.

«Pour être honnête, cela a été un voyage», explique Eilie. « C’est le monde d’un homme, mais il vous donne une peau plus épaisse. Je n’aurais jamais imaginé de toute ma vie, une femme syrienne comme moi, devenir une entrepreneure bien connue à Vancouver. »

De la cloison sèche au design d’intérieur, Magnum Construction se concentre sur la livraison d’un produit de haute qualité aux clients avec n’importe quel budget. Eilie est une femme entrepreneure avec une variété de compétences qui lui a permis de traverser le marché. Son succès a été extraordinaire. Depuis son arrivée au Canada il n’y a pas si longtemps en tant que réfugiée syrienne, Eilie a construit un avenir pour elle et sa famille en Colombie-Britannique.

6. Gelaine Santiago, co-fondatrice of Cambio Market

International Women's Day

Cambio Market définit l’automatisation comme vous. Tandis que le monde travaille de multiples façons à capitaliser sur le travail des plus démunis, Gelaine Santiago et son co-fondateur (et partenaire) Jérôme Gagnon-Voyer ont lancé cette activité pour offrir aux consommateurs canadiens des produits artisanaux des Philippines et du monde entier.

Gelaine et Jérôme, «ont découvert une communauté dynamique d’entreprises éthiques luttant contre la pauvreté et l’inégalité», lors de leur voyage aux Philippines. Cela les a inspirés tous les deux à lancer un projet qui renforcerait la communauté qu’ils avaient rencontrée.

#PressforProgress Gelaine fournit à ces artisans, de nombreuses femmes, une plateforme pour vendre leur artisanat à l’échelle internationale. Cambio Market propose des sacs originaux, des bijoux et des vêtements de ces différents designers.

Comme vous pouvez le voir, les Canadiens ont beaucoup à célébrer ce 8 mars. Bonne Journée internationale de la femme 2018!

Écrit par: Sara Pivato, coordonnatrice des médias sociaux et du contenu, Futurpreneur Canada