Getting a new business up and running is a major accomplishment. However, the growth stage is a whole different beast.

To help new businesses grow to new heights, Futurpreneur Canada, in partnership with Spin Master Inc. and supported by Morrison Financial and Dentons Canada, created the Growth Accelerator program. Exclusive to growth-focused Futurpreneur entrepreneurs, it provides them with coaching, resources and support from experts in order to maximize their chance of successfully scaling their business.

In order to be accepted into the program, candidates needed to demonstrate that they had an innovative and proven business model that offered a unique product or service, an improved process or the potential to impact the market in new ways. After pitching live to a panel of judges, ten businesses were selected for this new cohort. The successful participants will be provided with travel stipends and accommodation for Accelerator workshops, 1-on-1 mentoring with executives, networking and pitching opportunities, and much more.

After a successful Fall 2017 cohort, we are very excited to announce our new Growth Accelerator participants for Spring 2018!

spring 2018 growth accelerator weatherlogics

Weatherlogics

Matthieu Desorcy and Scott Kehler are the co-founders of Weatherlogics, a Winnipeg-based weather forecasting and research firm that specializes in providing accurate, high-quality weather information to their clients. Matt is the Chief Meteorologist at Weatherlogics and oversees weather forecasting operations to ensure clients receive timely and accurate weather information. Scott is the Chief Scientist at Weatherlogics and oversees the development of new products and services which incorporate the latest technology and meteorological techniques.

spring 2018 growth accelerator immune biosolutions

Immune Biosolutions

Frédéric Leduc, Simon Gaudreau and Jean-François Larrivée are the co-founders of Immune Biosolutions, a company that produces proprietary antibody technologies. Frederic, the CEO, holds a Ph.D. in Biochemistry with a specialty in epigenetics and has won numerous awards for scientific presentations and pitch competitions. Simon is primarily responsible for the development of new antibody candidates and new methodologies. He holds an M.Sc. and a Ph.D. in immunology with a unique expertise in diabetes. Jean-François holds a Ph.D. in immunology and manages the production and incorporates new technologies within the Nebula platform.

spring 2018 growth accelerator FRANC - Brandy Mercredi

FRANC

Brandy Mercredi is the founder of FRANC, a women’s basics brand made ethically in Canada. With a background in fashion design and blogging, Brandy also has experience working with both large and small brands over the past 13 years. With FRANC, Brandy aims to create clothes that are timeless and versatile – clothes that complement personal style rather than dictate it.

spring 2018 growth accelerator Wastenot Farms - Jocelyn Molyneux

Wastenot Farms

A regenerative-agriculture farmer and life-long environmentalist, Jocelyn Molyneux is the owner of Wastenot Farms. Her business provides compost collection in the Greater Toronto Area, transforming organic waste into a healthy alternative to chemical fertilizers called Jocelyn’s Soil Booster worm manure. Jocelyn holds a Masters of Applied Environmental Science and is constantly working towards reducing waste, sequestering carbon in soil and building a foundation for Ontario’s circular economy.

spring 2018 growth accelerator coffrets prestige

Coffrets Prestige

Charles-Étienne Dion and Pierre-Olivier Dion and are the founders of Coffrets Prestige, the number one activity gift box seller in Quebec. With a team of 20 passionate employees and products available in more than 500 stores – more than 260 of those placements secured in the last year alone – the Coffrets Prestige team is ready to attack new markets.

spring 2018 growth accelerator Olive The Senses - Emily

Olive the Senses

Emily Lycopolus is the owner of Olive the Senses, a luxury olive oil and vinegar tasting room and the founder of This Table Collective, an online artisan food market featuring over 500 artisan food items and 400 custom recipes. Emily lives in Victoria, B.C. with her husband, Steve, and their pug, Cedrik.

spring 2018 growth accelerator VanHack - Ilya Brotzky

VanHack

Fluent in Russian, Portuguese and English, Ilya Brotzky is the CEO and founder of VanHack, a community of over 150,000 Software Developers, Designers and Digital Marketers who are ready to relocate. After graduating from Cornell University with a Degree in Applied Economics and Management, Ilya spent four years working in the Brazilian startup scene where he joined the country’s most successful early-stage accelerator. Later, he returned to Canada where he began creating the talent community that is VanHack. He is also the founder of Mountains for Moms, a student-run non-profit that has raised over $50,000 for women’s charities.

spring 2018 growth accelerator Tribe of Lambs - Philip Haley

Tribe of Lambs

Founded by Bobbi Paidel and Phil Haley, Tribe of Lambs is a unisex jewelry and clothing brand that designs and produces its products ethically in India. As Creative Director, Bobbi’s passion and expertise shines through in their high quality, high demand products. In his role as Director of Marketing, Phil’s background in advertising, branding and digital marketing allows him to share the Tribe’s message with the world, inspiring others to get involved with the organization.

spring 2018 growth accelerator Strategie Agilean - Alexandre Dube

Strategie Agilean

Strategie Agilean produces a ‘virtual supervisor’ application that gives companies the ability to view and manage operations in an efficient and seamless manner. Founder Alexandre Dubé studied mechanical engineering before moving to industrial engineering, which he combined with a Master’s degree in business administration (MBA). These three areas of expertise provided him with an excellent understanding of challenges faced by small to medium-sized businesses in the manufacturing sector. Alexandre has spent more than fifteen years in industrial, service and research and development environments.

spring 2018 growth accelerator brows by G

Brows by G

Brows by G is an industry leader in all things brows. The company provides microblading, micropigmentation and brow styling services, as well as training and products. Scott Russell is the CEO of Brows by G and is responsible for the strategy, growth, and overall management of the company. Before joining Brows by G, Scott was responsible for the development and management of projects in more than twenty countries around the world. Giovanna Minenna is the Founder and Creative Director of Brows by G. She was the first to bring the Brow Bar concept to Manitoba and is passionate about continuous innovation, growth and entrepreneurship both in her business and personal life.

Get up to $45,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Spring 2018 Growth Accelerator

Créer une nouvelle entreprise est une réussite majeure. Cependant, la phase de croissance est une autre paire de manches.

Pour aider les nouvelles entreprises à atteindre de nouveaux sommets, Futurpreneur Canada, en partenariat avec Spin Master Inc., et soutenu par Morrison Financial et Dentons Canada, a créé l’Accélérateur de croissance. Ce programme s’adresse exclusivement aux entrepreneurs Futurpreneur axés sur la croissance. Il leur fournit un encadrement, des ressources et un soutien d’experts afin de maximiser leurs chances de réussir à l’échelle de leur entreprise.

Afin d’être acceptés dans le programme, les candidats devaient démontrer que leur modèle d’affaires était novateur et prouvé, qui offrait un produit ou un service unique, un processus amélioré ou le potentiel d’influencer le marché de nouvelles façons. Après avoir présenté en direct à un panel de juges, dix entreprises ont été sélectionnées. Les participants retenus recevront des allocations de voyage et des frais d’hébergement pour des ateliers de l’Accélérateur, du mentorat individuel avec des cadres, des possibilités de réseautage et de présentation, et bien plus encore.

Après une cohorte réussie à l’automne 2017, nous sommes très heureux d’annoncer nos nouveaux participants à l’Accélérateur de croissance pour le printemps 2018!

spring 2018 growth accelerator weatherlogics

Weatherlogics

Matthieu Desorcy et Scott Kehler sont les cofondateurs de Weatherlogics, une firme de recherche et de prévisions météorologiques à Winnipeg spécialisée dans la fourniture de renseignements météorologiques précis et de grande qualité pour ses clients. Matt est le météorologiste en chef chez Weatherlogics et supervise les opérations de prévisions météorologiques pour s’assurer que les clients reçoivent des informations précises et en temps opportun. Scott est le scientifique en chef chez Weatherlogics et supervise le développement de nouveaux produits et services qui intègrent les dernières technologies et techniques en matière de météo.

Immune Biosolutions

Frédéric Leduc, Simon Gaudreau et Jean-François Larrivée sont les co-fondateurs d’Immune Biosolutions, une société qui produit des technologies d’anticorps brevetées. Frédéric, le PDG, détient un doctorat en biochimie avec une spécialité en épigénétique et a remporté de nombreux prix pour des présentations scientifiques et des concours de pitch. Simon est principalement responsable du développement de nouveaux candidats anticorps et de nouvelles méthodologies. Il est titulaire d’un M.Sc. et d’un doctorat en immunologie avec une expertise unique en matière de diabète. Jean-François détient un doctorat en immunologie et gère la production et intègre les nouvelles technologies au sein de la plateforme Nebula.

spring 2018 growth accelerator FRANC - Brandy Mercredi

FRANC

Brandy Mercredi est la fondatrice de FRANC, une marque de vêtements de base pour les femmes fabriquée de façon éthique au Canada. Avec une expérience de blogueuse et de design de mode, ainsi qu’une expérience de travail avec des grandes et petites marques au cours des 13 dernières années. Avec FRANC, Brandy vise à créer des vêtements intemporels et polyvalents – des vêtements qui complètent le style personnel plutôt que de le dicter.

spring 2018 growth accelerator Wastenot Farms - Jocelyn Molyneux

Wastenot Farms

Jocelyn Molyneux, agriculteur en agriculture régénératrice et écologiste de longue date, est propriétaire de Wastenot Farms. Son entreprise fournit de la collecte de compost dans la région du Grand Toronto, transformant les déchets organiques en une solution alternative aux engrais chimiques, appelée fumier Jocelyn’s Soil Booster. Jocelyn est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences environnementales appliquées et travaille constamment à réduire les déchets, à séquestrer le carbone dans le sol et à jeter les bases de l’économie circulaire de l’Ontario.

Coffrets Prestige

Charles-Étienne Dion et Pierre-Olivier sont les fondateurs de Coffrets Prestige, l’entreprise de boîtes-cadeaux numéro une au Québec. Avec une équipe de 20 employés passionnés et des produits disponibles dans plus de 500 magasins – plus de 260 de ces placements sécurisés l’année dernière seulement – l’équipe Coffrets Prestige est prête à attaquer de nouveaux marchés.

Olive the Senses

Emily Lycopolus est propriétaire d’Olive the Senses, une salle de dégustation d’huile d’olive et de vinaigre de luxe, ainsi que le fondateur de This Table Collective, un marché d’aliments artisanaux en ligne proposant plus de 500 produits et 400 recettes personnalisées. Elle vit à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, avec son mari, Steve, et leur carlin, Cedrik.

VanHack

Parlant couramment russe, portugais et anglais, Ilya Brotzky est le PDG et le fondateur de VanHack, une communauté de plus de 150 000 développeurs de logiciels, concepteurs et spécialistes du marketing numérique. Après avoir obtenu un diplôme en économie appliquée et en gestion de l’Université Cornell, Ilya a passé quatre ans dans la start-up brésilienne où il a rejoint l’accélérateur de début de cycle le plus réussi du pays. Plus tard, il est revenu au Canada où il a commencé à créer la communauté VanHack. Il est également le fondateur de Mountains for Moms, un organisme à but non lucratif géré par des étudiants qui a recueilli plus de 50 000 $ pour des organismes de bienfaisance pour femmes.

Tribe of Lambs

Fondée par Bobbi Paidel et Phil Haley, Tribe of Lambs est une marque de bijoux et de vêtements unisexe qui conçoit et produit ses produits de façon éthique en Inde. En tant que directeur de la création, la passion et l’expertise de Bobbi rayonnent grâce à leurs produits de haute qualité. Dans son rôle de directeur marketing, l’expérience de Phil dans la publicité, l’image de marque et le marketing numérique lui permettent de partager le message de la tribu avec le monde, en ralliant les gens à cette organisation inspirante.

Strategie Agilean

Strategie Agilean produit une application de «superviseur virtuel» qui permet aux entreprises de visualiser et de gérer les opérations de manière efficace et transparente. Le fondateur, Alexandre Dubé, a étudié le génie mécanique avant de passer à l’ingénierie industrielle, qu’il a complété par une maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA). Ces trois domaines d’expertise lui ont permis de bien comprendre tous les défis auxquels sont confrontées les petites et moyennes entreprises du secteur manufacturier. Il a passé plus de quinze ans dans des environnements industriels, de service et de recherche et développement.

spring 2018 growth accelerator brows by G

Brows by G

Brows by G est un des leaders de l’industrie dans l’industrie sourcilière. La société fournit des services de microblading, de micropigmentation et de coiffage des sourcils, ainsi que des formations et des produits. Scott Russell est le PDG de Brows by G et est responsable de la stratégie, de la croissance et de la gestion globale de l’entreprise. Avant de rejoindre Brows by G, Scott était responsable du développement et de la gestion de projets dans plus de vingt pays à travers le monde. Giovanna Minenna est la fondatrice et la directrice artistique de Brows by G. Elle a été la première à introduire le concept du Brow Bar au Manitoba et est passionnée par l’innovation, la croissance et l’entrepreneuriat tant dans sa vie professionnelle que personnelle.