On January 8, I went to France for a ten-day entrepreneurial mission with a group of students from the CÉGEP of Saint-Jérôme, accompanied by their teacher, Mr. Pierre Savard.

These students had previously shown a clear interest in entrepreneurship. Therefore, they were engaged in the mission to learn more about what it’s like to be an entrepreneur while also discovering the French entrepreneurial ecosystem.

As a start-up coach, I had three roles to play during this mission: contribute to the development of the course of our delegation, lead the discussions with the various stakeholders and answer the students’ questions about entrepreneurship.

This was a one-of-a-kind experience for the students, as well as for me. In this post, I share with you the highlights of this unique journey that took us to the heart of French entrepreneurship.

A busy journey

After a seven-hour flight from Toronto, we landed at Charles de Gaulle Airport at 10 am, Paris time. Our young cohort had to quickly overcome a jet lag of six hours as we had a busy agenda ahead.

Four trips by train, a dozen trams and more than thirty trips by metro would allow the students of the cohort to discover the entrepreneurial ecosystems of Paris, Nantes and Lille.

The next few days were going to be tough, but so exciting!

A warm welcome

We had the chance to meet the people of Moovjee, Incubaschool, Beleev, Positive Planet,  Station F, EuraTechnologies, Novapuls, Le Village by CA, Pépite France, Enactus France and the Délégation Générale du Québec in Paris. At each of these meetings, our delegation was treated to an exceptional welcome by the speakers. The students benefited from the experience, expertise and network of each of them.

I was deeply touched to realize how much France appreciates Canada and its people; it seems that we have a natural connection. For having personally maintained various links internationally, I would say that the relationship between Canada and France is particularly marked by warmth and mutual enthusiasm. The students also noticed and appreciated it.

Interesting discoveries

During our journey, we have of course noticed some differences between our entrepreneurial universe and the French one. Here is what comes out of it.

First, we observed that the French have easier access to unemployment benefits to start their business. Although we have a similar measure in Quebec, the STA, it seems that the French program is less restrictive at the industry level, more generous over time and more flexible. For example, the French have the opportunity to capitalize a portion of their benefits to invest in their start-up business, making it easier to start a business.

Also, we found that student entrepreneurship was a little more developed in France. For example, the existence of a national student-entrepreneur status makes life easier for many students who want to embark on the entrepreneurial adventure. In addition, organizations such as Pépite France offer specialized programs for students wishing to start their business.

The networking between large companies and entrepreneurs is also a distinctive strength of the French entrepreneurial ecosystem. Businesses are well aware of entrepreneurs’ potential for innovation. Therefore, they collaborate with them in different ways, which benefits both parties.

A unique experience

This entrepreneurial mission has been intense, but so rich! We’ve all learned from it. The unique path of our delegation allowed us to discover the entrepreneurial side of France and develop lasting relationships.

Some people say that you never really come back from a trip. This entrepreneurial mission left us somewhere, on a piece of land of the continent of possibilities, where the other nourishes our own ambitions.

Written by: Jean-Philippe Écuyer, Entrepreneur-in-Residence, Futurpreneur Canada

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Jean-Philippe L’Écuyer

Le 8 janvier dernier, je partais en France pour une mission entrepreneuriale de dix jours avec un groupe d’étudiants du CÉGEP de Saint-Jérôme, accompagnés de leur enseignant, monsieur Pierre Savard.

Ces étudiants avaient préalablement démontré un intérêt marqué pour l’entrepreneuriat. Ainsi, ils s’étaient engagés dans la mission afin d’en apprendre davantage sur le métier d’entrepreneur, tout en découvrant l’écosystème entrepreneurial français.

En tant que coach en démarrage d’entreprise et accompagnateur du groupe, j’ai eu trois rôles à jouer lors de cette mission : contribuer à l’élaboration du parcours de notre délégation, animer les discussions avec les différents intervenants rencontrés et répondre aux interrogations des étudiants en matière d’entrepreneuriat.

Cette expérience a été des plus riches pour les étudiants, comme pour moi-même. Dans ce billet, je vous partage les éléments marquants de ce parcours unique qui nous a conduits au cœur de l’entrepreneuriat français.

Un parcours chargé

Le 9 janvier dernier, après un vol de 7h au départ de Toronto, nous sommes atterris à l’Aéroport Charles de Gaulle à 10h, heure locale de Paris. Notre jeune cohorte allait devoir rapidement encaisser un décalage de 6h, car le parcours qui l’attendait durant les prochains jours était des plus chargés.

Quatre trajets en TGV, une dizaine de trajets en tramways et plus d’une trentaine de trajets en métro allaient permettre aux étudiants de la cohorte de découvrir les écosystèmes entrepreneuriaux parisien, nantais et lillois. Les prochains jours allaient être éprouvants, mais ô combien stimulants !

Un accueil qui fait chaud au cœur

Nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer les gens de Moovjee, Incubaschool, Beleev, Positive Planet, Station F, EuraTechnologies, Novapuls, Le Village by CA, Pépite France, Enactus France et la Délégation Générale du Québec à Paris. À chacune de ces rencontres, notre délégation a eu droit à un accueil exceptionnel de la part des intervenants. Les étudiants ont pu bénéficier de l’expérience, de l’expertise et du réseau de chacun d’entre eux.

J’ai été profondément touché de réaliser à quel point les Canadiens sont appréciés des Français. Il semble que nous ayons une connexion toute naturelle avec nos homologues Français. Pour avoir personnellement entretenu différents liens à l’international, je vous dirais que la relation canado-française est particulièrement empreinte de chaleur et d’enthousiasme mutuel. Les étudiants l’ont remarqué et ils l’ont apprécié.

Des découvertes intéressantes

Lors de notre parcours, nous avons bien entendu constaté quelques différences entre notre univers entrepreneurial et celui des Français. Voici ce qui en ressort.

D’abord, nous avons observé que nos homologues Français jouissent d’un accès facilité aux prestations de chômage pour lancer leur entreprise. Bien que nous ayons une mesure semblable au Québec, soit la mesure STA, il semble que le programme français soit moins restrictif au niveau des industries, plus généreux sur la durée et plus flexible au niveau des modalités. À titre d’exemple, les Français ont la possibilité de capitaliser une portion de leurs prestations afin de les investir dans leur entreprise en démarrage. Voilà une mesure qui facilite grandement le démarrage d’une entreprise.

Également, nous avons constaté que l’entrepreneuriat étudiant était un peu plus développé en France. Par exemple, l’existence d’un statut national d’étudiant-entrepreneur facilite la vie à beaucoup d’étudiants qui souhaitent se lancer dans l’aventure entrepreneuriale. Par ailleurs, des organisations telles Pépite France offrent des programmes spécialisés pour les étudiants qui souhaitent entreprendre.

Le maillage entre les grandes entreprises et les entrepreneurs est également une force distinctive de l’écosystème entrepreneurial Français. Les entreprises sont bien conscientes du potentiel des entrepreneurs en matière d’innovation. Ainsi, elles collaborent avec eux de différentes façons, ce qui bénéficie aux deux partis.

Une expérience unique  

Cette mission entrepreneuriale a été intense, mais tellement riche ! Autant les étudiants que les accompagnateurs en ont tiré des apprentissages. Le parcours unique de notre délégation nous a permis de découvrir la France entrepreneuriale et d’y développer des relations durables.

On dit qu’on ne revient jamais vraiment d’un voyage. Ainsi, cette mission entrepreneuriale nous a laissé quelque part entre chez nous et cet ailleurs inspirant. Elle nous a laissé quelque part, sur un bout de terre du continent des possibles, où les avancées de l’Autre nourrissent nos propres ambitions.

Rédigé par: Jean-Philippe Écuyer, entrepreneur-en-résidence, Futurpreneur Canada