January is Mentoring Month and to celebrate, we wanted to share the mentoring story of one of Futurpreneur Canada’s most passionate ambassadors.

Margo Soucy is the Executive Director of Community Business Development Corporation (CBDC) Cabot, an organization that assists in the creation of small businesses and in the expansion and modernization of existing businesses by providing financial and technical services to entrepreneurs.

We caught up with her to learn more about her career in business development and her experience as a Futurpreneur mentor.

Tell me a bit about yourself.

I worked in business development on the east coast of Canada. Newfoundland and Labrador will always be my home – I enjoy all that it has to offer and the people that make it amazing. Business is a long time passion, and being on the advisory side is most rewarding – and never a dull moment!

I get energized by the entrepreneurs I work with and organizations I volunteer with. I’ve been employed by the Community Business Development Corporation for over fifteen years, a family I’m grateful to have lucked into! I also volunteer with several organizations, largely with a business-related theme.

Tell me about your experience and career path. 

I had no idea how rewarding a career in business development would be when I started out.  I was pursuing a career in accounting when a mentor of my own opened my eyes to business development, an unexpected but most welcome career focus.

From the very first day on the job, I’ve had the opportunity to meet incredible people, and am proud to be a part of their stories now; it’s inspiring, each and every day. Entities like the Community Business Development Corporation and Futurpreneur Canada have had a significant impact on the lives of many, including my own, and truly shaping small business in Canada.

What made you want to become a mentor?

I first viewed mentoring as a specific relationship with defined terms, more or less, but I’ve learned it is about much more.

For me, perhaps it was due to not having exposure to entrepreneurial programs through my own youth that when I learned all there was to offer, I had to get involved and wanted to inspire others, for my own missed opportunities.

It’s also a great way to pass on some of the great stories, knowledge and experiences I’ve been immersed in, in working with entrepreneurs – many of whom who are too proud to tell their own stories.

What has been the most rewarding part of being a mentor?

I think it all boils down to impact. Simple gestures of thanks, or seeing entrepreneurs progress through challenging times, reaffirm the power of relationships and reaching out for help when needed.

What has been the biggest challenge of mentoring?

I would have to say working with people that success doesn’t happen easily for.  Some are fully committed and doing “all the right things” but for one reason or another face challenges that even the best of supports are unable to help them get beyond.

Those are particularly tough, as when you work so closely with people you become part of their business, and their challenges often become your challenges.

Why do you feel it’s important young entrepreneurs have mentors?

Not just for youth, but everyone stands to gain from having a trusted mentor. I often see youth being dismissed for lacking years of experience to learn from past mistakes.

However, young entrepreneurs often make up for their years in other ways, like thinking more creatively, being more open to possibilities, or being passionate and following instincts without reservation.  The relationship also works both ways, as I often get more from the deal than those mentored!

Why would you recommend that other people become mentors?

It is a great opportunity for growth, self-reflection and making a positive impact. We all have share-worthy insight, knowledge and experience; if we don’t pass it on, no one stands to gain.

What do you feel makes a successful mentor/mentee relationship?

Trust, respect and openness. Mentoring lends more to personal and professional growth and connections than knowledge found in textbooks and online sources.  Mentoring can happen in a variety of ways, but I have always found face-to-face interaction tough to beat.

Anything else you’d like to add?

We all have a unique perspective, based on our education, experience and the relationships we’ve developed, that others stand to benefit in learning from.

While it is easy to find ourselves overwhelmed at times, life and opportunities can pass us by quickly, so use the resources around you to keep you forward focused.

Challenge yourself to keep thinking big!

Interested in becoming a Futurpreneur mentor? Learn more here

Written by: Jasmine Williams, Social Media and Content Specialist, Futurpreneur Canada

Get up to $45,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Janvier est le mois du mentorat et en guise de célébration, nous voulions partager l’histoire de l’un de nos mentors ambassadeurs les plus passionnés de Futurpreneur Canada.

Margo Soucy est la directrice exécutive des Corporations au bénéfice du développement communautaire (CBDC) Cabot, une organisation qui aide à la création de petites entreprises et à l’expansion et la modernisation d’entreprises existantes en fournissant des services financiers et techniques aux entrepreneurs.

Nous l’avons rencontrée pour en savoir plus sur sa carrière en développement des affaires et son expérience en tant que mentor Futurpreneur.

Dites-nous en un peu plus sur vous

J’ai travaillé au développement des affaires sur la côte Est du Canada. Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador sera toujours ma maison – j’apprécie tout ce que cette province a à offrir et les gens la rendent incroyable. Les affaires sont une passion de longue date, et le fait d’être conseiller est très gratifiant – et jamais ennuyeux !

Je suis stimulée par les entrepreneurs avec lesquels je travaille et les organisations avec lesquelles je fais du bénévolat. Je suis employé par la CBDC depuis plus de quinze ans, une famille dans laquelle je suis reconnaissante d’avoir eu de la chance d’être intégrée ! Je fais également du bénévolat auprès de plusieurs organisations, principalement lié aux affaires.

Parlez-moi de votre expérience et de votre carrière

Je n’avais aucune idée à quel point une carrière dans le développement des affaires serait enrichissante au début. Je poursuivais une carrière en comptabilité lorsqu’un de mes mentors m’a ouvert les yeux sur le développement des affaires, un objectif de carrière inattendu mais très apprécié.

Dès le premier jour de travail, j’ai eu l’occasion de rencontrer des gens incroyables et je suis fière de faire partie de leurs histoires maintenant ; c’est inspirant, chaque jour. Des entités comme la CBDC et Futurpreneur Canada ont eu des répercussions importantes sur la vie de nombreuses personnes, dont la mienne, et ont vraiment façonné la petite entreprise au Canada.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a donné envie de devenir un mentor ?

J’ai d’abord considéré le mentorat comme une relation spécifique avec des termes définis, plus ou moins, mais j’ai appris que c’était beaucoup plus.

Pour moi, c’était peut-être parce que je n’avais pas été exposée aux programmes entrepreneuriaux pendant ma jeunesse que lorsque j’ai appris tout ce qu’il y avait à offrir, je devais m’impliquer et vouloir inspirer les autres, pour mes propres occasions manquées.

C’est aussi un excellent moyen de transmettre quelques-unes des grandes histoires, connaissances et expériences dans lesquelles j’ai été immergée, en travaillant avec des entrepreneurs – dont beaucoup sont trop fiers de raconter leurs propres histoires.

Quelle a été la partie la plus enrichissante du mentorat ?

Je pense que tout se résume à l’impact. Des gestes simples de remerciement, ou le fait de voir des entrepreneurs progresser dans des moments difficiles, réaffirment le pouvoir des relations et demandent de l’aide en cas de besoin.

Quel a été le plus grand défi du mentorat ?

Je devrais dire travailler avec des gens avec qui le succès n’arrive pas facilement. Certains sont pleinement engagés et font tout ce qu’il faut pour y arriver, mais, pour une raison ou une autre, sont confrontés à des défis que même le meilleur des soutiens est incapable de les aider à aller au-delà.

Ces moments sont particulièrement difficiles, car lorsque vous travaillez en étroite collaboration avec des personnes, vous devenez une partie de leur entreprise, et leurs défis deviennent souvent vos défis.

Pourquoi pensez-vous qu’il est important que les jeunes entrepreneurs aient des mentors?

Pas seulement pour les jeunes, mais tout le monde gagne à avoir un mentor de confiance. Je vois souvent des jeunes renvoyés parce qu’ils manquent d’années d’expérience pour apprendre des erreurs du passé.

Cependant, les jeunes entrepreneurs compensent souvent leurs années par d’autres moyens, comme penser de façon plus créative, être plus ouvert aux possibilités, ou être passionné et suivre leurs instincts sans réserve. La relation fonctionne également dans les deux sens.

Pourquoi recommanderiez-vous à  d’autres personnes de devenir mentors?

C’est une formidable opportunité de croissance, d’autoréflexion et d’impact positif. Nous avons tous une perspicacité, une connaissance et une expérience qui valent la peine d’être partagées ; si nous ne le transmettons pas, personne ne peut y gagner.

Selon vous, qu’est-ce qui vous permet de réussir votre relation mentor / mentoré?

Confiance, respect et ouverture. Le mentorat contribue davantage à la croissance personnelle et professionnelle et aux liens que les connaissances trouvées dans les manuels et les sources en ligne. Le mentorat peut se produire de diverses façons, mais j’ai toujours trouvé que l’interaction face à face était la meilleure.

Autre chose que vous aimeriez ajouter?

Nous avons tous une perspective unique, basée sur notre éducation, notre expérience et les relations que nous avons développées, dont les autres peuvent tirer profit.

Bien qu’il soit facile de nous trouver débordés parfois, la vie et les opportunités peuvent  passer rapidement, alors utilisez les ressources autour de vous pour vous aider à rester concentré.

 

Relevez le défi de penser grand !

Obtenez jusqu'à 45 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →