Mentorly is the brainchild of two women artists and entrepreneurs, Ashley Werhun and Katherine Macnaughton, who after facing the personal experience and pain points echoed by hundreds of artists and young entrepreneurs, sought to make mentorship more intentional, accessible, and immediate. They created Mentorly.co to bridge the gap in education, offering mentees “real world” guidance and, ultimately, contributing to a more vibrant, global community.

Mentoring is a proven approach that can improve a start-up’s chances for success. When starting a business, simply adding a mentor relationship into the equation can increase an entrepreneur’s success rate by 20-30%. Mentoring is not limited to the entrepreneurial world alone, however. Similar results can be seen in the more traditional work world, as well as in education.

Mentorly: towards a more inclusive mentorship

At a time when inclusion is more important than ever, the two women have successfully met the challenge of expanding this vital educational approach, making it accessible to a broader audience.

Mentoring has long been seen as a relationship between two people from the same community, the same network or the same social circle. The drawback to this approach is that an island effect is created where only people in the same social circles ever have access to making connections and finding mentors, while diverse and underrated talent is sidelined. With an online platform like Mentorly, mentees and mentors from different cities, provinces or even different countries can connect easily and take advantage of an experience they would not have gotten in a traditional face-to-face setting.

“Four years ago when we started Mentorly, we were dismayed to find that mentorship, if not sidestepped altogether, was often informal, unstructured and inaccessible to most,” says Katherine Macnaughton, Co-founder and COO. “It drove us to create a solution that would break down barriers that keep mentees and mentors from connecting, so that they could focus on building strong, meaningful connections and leave the rest to us.”

Mentorly: supporting organizations through COVID-19

In the midst of the COVID-19 crisis, the platform launched a new business solution to help companies and organizations navigate this crisis. Originally designed for one-on-one mentoring sessions between emerging creatives and industry professionals, the new enterprise solution integrates perfectly into schools, workplaces and large organizations across industries.

Mentorly saw a rise in usage of over 300% in the month of April because it offers a complete and efficient system that includes easy navigation, a booking system, video calls, tracking tools, and mentor matching and recommendations. In addition, organizations were seeking to maintain their mentorship programs during these difficult times. Such was the case for Réseau Mentorat.

Formerly known as Réseau M, Réseau Mentorat has been a leading business mentorship provider in Quebec for the last 20 years, providing high-caliber, in-person mentoring programs to entrepreneurs from all backgrounds. Given the time and resources required for face-to-face meetings, the Montreal branch of the organization had already decided to team up with Mentorly prior to lockdown to incorporate digital mentoring into its offering. The COVID-19 crisis served as the accelerator to get the service up and running as soon as possible. Réseau Mentorat plans on rolling out digital mentoring services to all of its 3,000+ Quebec members after completion of the first phase.

To learn more about Mentorly, click here

 

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Mentorly est une idée originale de deux femmes artistes et entrepreneures, Ashley Werhun et Katherine Macnaughton. Grâce à leur expérience personnelle et à des problèmes rencontrés par des centaines d’artistes et de jeunes entrepreneur-e-s, les deux jeunes femmes ont cherché à rendre le mentorat plus formateur, plus accessible, mais aussi plus immédiat. Elles ont alors créé Mentorly.co pour combler un fossé éducatif et offrir aux mentoré-e-s des conseils « du monde réel ».

Le mentorat est une approche qui a fait ses preuves. Lors d’un démarrage d’entreprise, le simple fait de l’ajouter à l’équation augmente les chances de succès de l’entrepreneur-e de 20 à 30%. Mais le mentorat ne se limite pas à l’entrepreneuriat, ses résultats sont aussi perceptibles dans le monde du travail plus traditionnel, mais aussi de l’éducation.

Mentorly : vers un mentorat plus inclusif

À l’heure où l’inclusion est plus que jamais des sujets de société, les deux femmes ont réussi le pari de globaliser cette approche éducative.

Le mentorat a en effet longtemps été considéré comme une relation entre deux personnes d’une même communauté, d’un même réseau ou d’un même cercle social. En ce sens, les mêmes cercles sociaux de personnes partagent des connexions et des mentor-e-s, et créent un effet insulaire qui met à l’écart des talents divers et sous-estimés. Avec une plateforme en ligne comme Mentorly, des mentoré-e-s et des mentor-e-s de différentes villes, provinces ou même pays peuvent se connecter facilement et profiter d’une expérience qu’ils n’auraient pas acquise dans un cadre traditionnel en face-à-face.

« Il y a quatre ans, lorsque nous avons commencé Mentorly, nous étions consternés de savoir que le mentorat, quand il n’était pas inexistant, était souvent informel, non structuré et inaccessible à la plupart des gens. Dit Katherine Macnaughton, cofondatrice et directrice générale des opérations. Cela nous a poussés à créer une solution qui éliminerait les barrières qui empêchent les mentoré-e-s et les mentor-e-s de se rencontrer, afin qu’ils puissent se concentrer sur la création de liens solides, et nous laissant nous occuper du reste. »

Mentorly : accompagner les organisations à traverser la COVID-19

Au milieu de la crise de la COVID-19, la plateforme de mentorat Mentorly a lancé une nouvelle solution pour entreprises afin d’aider des compagnies et organisations à traverser cette crise. Conçue à l’origine pour des sessions de mentorat individuelles entre artistes émergents et professionnels de l’industrie, la nouvelle solution d’entreprise s’intègre parfaitement dans les écoles, les lieux de travail et les grandes organisations de tous les secteurs.

Mentorly a vu une augmentation de plus de 300 % dans l’utilisation de sa plateforme, en avril 2020. La cause, un système complet et efficace qui comprend une navigation facile, un système de réservation, des appels vidéo, des outils de suivi, et un jumelage de mentor-e-s. À cela, s’ajoute la volonté des organisations de maintenir leurs programmes de mentorat en ces temps difficiles. C’est le cas de Réseau Mentaorat.

Connu auparavant sous le nom de Réseau M, Réseau Mentorat est un des chefs de file du Québec en services de mentorat d’affaires, et ce, depuis 20 ans, offrant des programmes en personne à des entrepreneurs de tous les milieux.  En raison du temps et des ressources nécessaires pour les rencontres en personne, la branche montréalaise de l’organisation avait décidé de faire équipe avec Mentorly avant le confinement pour intégrer un mentorat numérique dans son offre; la crise de la COVID-19 a servi d’accélérateur pour que le service soit opérationnel dès que possible. Réseau M prévoit déployer des services de mentorat numérique à l’ensemble de ses 3 000 membres québécois dès la fin de la première phase du projet.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur l’actualité de Mentorly, c’est par ici.

Obtenez jusqu'à 60 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →