Frenie Jean-Baptiste fondly remembers inhaling the smell of rum syrup simmering on her grandmother’s stove before pouring the sticky sauce on a boldly flavoured rum cake they would bake together. Her grandmother always let her taste everything as it cooked – it’s what made her fall in love with the art of baking.

Jean-Baptiste comes from a Haitian family, where cakes and baked goods were always part of any celebration. “I was a child when I fell in love with baking. My grandmother taught me all the basics and I have the most beautiful memories of her,” Jean-Baptiste says.

When her grandmother passed away in 2015, Jean-Baptiste decided to honour her memory through Bayard Gateaux to continue her legacy. Alongside the wonderful memories, Jean-Baptiste says, “she left me her kitchen mixer,” which she used to replicate her grandmother’s childhood recipes.

“When I first started, before launching my spirits cakes, I made a lot of personalized cakes and that’s how I developed my artistic side and worked with buttercream, flowers and other decorating elements,” she says. “But I prefer decorations to be simple – as for flavours, I’ve always loved to create. I love combining and testing flavours from here and elsewhere.”

Despite having incredible products and an entourage that was very supportive, getting the business to take off required a lot of effort. “The biggest challenge was to make myself known. It took a lot of collaboration, sponsorships, participation in trade shows and a constant presence on social media.”

Looking back at her startup experience, she emphasizes the importance of surrounding yourself with experts: “From the very beginning, find people you can go to – especially for the financial stuff. Do not be afraid to go to people. In my early days I contacted event organizers and experienced pastry chefs, and everyone was happy to talk to me and give me advice.”

Her efforts did eventually pay off, and Jean-Baptiste decided it was time to expand. “At the end of 2019, I decided to make a big investment and launch a brand-new range of cakes. I wanted to market rum cakes, soaked in rum syrup without frosting and vacuum-sealed. I needed big machines, several moulds and a production space.”

That growth required a lot of support, and while financing helped her get started, it was the mentorship that she deeply valued: “Thanks to Futurpreneur, I was able not only to get financing to realize this project, but also have a mentor accompany me at the beginning.”

The support she received has helped her realize the importance of mentorship and surrounding yourself with people that are supportive and can help guide you through your journey. Similarly, the experience she’s gained helps her support others experiencing similar challenges.

Since COVID-19 began, Jean-Baptiste has been strictly offering socially distanced local deliveries. She hopes to expand to all of Canada in the future.

If you are craving something sweet, find her cakes online at bayardgateaux.com.

 

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Frenie Jean-Baptiste se souvient des odeurs délicieuses de sirop de rhum qui mijotent sur le fourneau de sa grand-mère. Ensemble, ils versaient la sauce collante sur un gâteau au goût audacieux. Sa grand-mère lui laissait toujours goûter tout ce qu’ils cuisinaient – c’est ce qui l’a fait tomber en amour avec l’art de la pâtisserie.

Jean-Baptiste vient d’une famille haïtienne, où les gâteaux et les pâtisseries faisaient toujours partie de la fête. « Dès mon enfance, j’ai développé une passion pour la cuisine et la pâtisserie. Ma grand-mère était une excellente cuisinière et pâtissière, » nous dit Jean-Baptiste. C’est avec sa grand-mère qu’elle a les plus beaux souvenirs.

Lorsque sa grand-mère est décédée en 2015, elle a décidé d’honorer sa mémoire en lançant Bayard Gateaux. « J’ai hérité son mixer de cuisine », dit-elle, qu’elle utilisait pour reproduire les recettes de son enfance.

« À mes débutes, avant de lancer mes gâteaux spiritueux, j’ai fait beaucoup de gâteaux personnalisés et c’est ainsi que j’ai pu développer mon côté artistique et travaillé avec de la crème au beurre, des fleurs et d’autres éléments de décoration ». Jean-Baptiste a déclaré : « je préfère que les décorations soient simples – quant aux saveurs, j’ai toujours aimé la création. J’adore marier des saveurs d’ici et d’ailleurs. »

Malgré des produits incroyables et un entourage qui l’a beaucoup soutenu, le démarrage de l’entreprise a demandé beaucoup d’efforts. « Le plus grand défi a été de me faire connaître. Il a fallu beaucoup de collaborations, sponsorisations, participation à des salons événementiels et une présence constante sur les médias sociaux. »

En se reportant à son expérience de démarrage, elle souligne l’importance de s’entourer d’experts :  « Il faut s’entourer dans la mesure du possible d’experts – surtout pour les questions financières. N’ayez pas peur d’aller vers les gens. À mes débuts, j’ai contacté des organisateurs d’événements et des pâtissiers expérimentés, et pas mal tout le monde était heureux de me parler et de me donner des conseils. »

Le succès de l’entreprise a permis Jean-Baptiste de se développer. « Fin 2019, j’ai décidé de faire un gros investissement et de lancer une toute nouvelle gamme de gâteaux. Je voulais commercialiser des gâteaux au rhum, imbibé de sirop de rhum sans glaçage et scellés sous vide. J’avais besoin de grosses machines, de plusieurs moules et d’un espace de production. »

Cette croissance a nécessité beaucoup de soutien. Bien que le financement l’ait aidée à démarrer, c’est le jumelage avec un mentor qu’elle a profondément apprécié: « Grâce à Futurpreneur, j’ai pu non seulement avoir du financement pour réaliser ce projet mais aussi me faire accompagner à mes débuts par un mentor. »

Le soutien qu’elle a reçu l’a aidée à réaliser l’importance du jumelage et à s’entourer de personnes qui la soutiennent et qui peuvent l’aider dans son parcours. De même, l’expérience qu’elle a acquise l’aide à soutenir d’autres personnes confrontées à des défis semblables.

Depuis le début de COVID-19, Jean-Baptiste fait strictement des livraisons locales à distance sociale. Elle espère pouvoir livrer ses gâteux bientôt partout au Canada.

Si vous avez envie de quelque chose de sucré, vous pouvez trouver ses gâteaux en ligne: https://bayardgateaux.com/

Obtenez jusqu'à 60 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →