Njeri Watkins is passionate about helping entrepreneurs at every stage of their journey.

She comes by that passion honestly: As a seventh-generation member of a foundational Black community in Nova Scotia, Watkins, of Njeri Watkins Consulting, says she grew in up a community that was steadfast in its support for Black business leaders and entrepreneurs.

“We tend to be trailblazers, because of our historical component – a lot of the Black firsts in Canada have come out of Nova Scotia. I do very much walk with and stand on the shoulders of that confidence and leadership,” she says.

“That’s where I can see so many strong women in my community that have literally been the first in their industries while making amazing progress. From that perspective, I have a lot of role models, a lot of ‘Black first women’ in my community specifically. That’s given me a lot of strength and foundation in my approach to the business world.”

In her work as a business consultant and analyst, Vancouver-based Watkins is called upon by a broad array of entrepreneurs and business leaders for her expertise across a variety of topics. In any given week, she might be aiding businesses with their COVID pivot strategies, counseling impact leaders looking to enter the digital space, helping successful entrepreneurs transition smoothly out of the companies they helped build, and even coaching business leaders on how to project confidence in the era of Zoom calls.

But Watkins also works with entrepreneurs who have only just taken that first leap – including mentoring young entrepreneurs through the Futurpreneur program.

Watkins first learned about Futurpreneur when a young couple she’d mentored through another program put her name forward as a potential mentor. In the six or so years since, she’s worked with a number of businesses in the education and technology fields. Most recently, she’s mentored the entrepreneur behind Ace It Tutoring, a coworking-style study space aimed at helping high school students complete their homework with onsite tutors in a distraction-free environment.

Watkins says she didn’t have formal mentors early in her career: “Part of that was because in the era I grew up in, there weren’t a lot of mentorship programs,” she says.

And career coaching, which was often geared at well-established individuals looking to switch careers, was expensive and difficult to access.

In 2008, she completed a consulting certificate program, and positioned herself as a coach, focusing on career progression for workers in digital media, marketing and creative industries.

Later, she started teaching digital marketing and data analytics at UBC’s Sauder School of Business: “It seemed like a natural progression – helping people understand social media, personal branding, communications.” (Today, she says, many of her students are actively pursuing self-employment and entrepreneurship as a career path.)

Watkins’ strong background in data analytics has helped her to steer newly minted entrepreneurs toward understanding the role data can play in growing their business – a concept she urges companies of all sizes to embrace.

“I think that the biggest challenge that entrepreneurs face is, once they finish their business plan and start to execute, they realize digital marketing, social media, and having an engagement strategy are a lot more challenging than they anticipated,” she says.

“It’s so important to build a data-driven culture – you have to have everyone asking, at all levels, what is the problem you want data to solve?”

Though Watkins is generous with her time and expertise, she says her mentees also provide her with something valuable: Insight into the next big waves in tech and entrepreneurship.

“I love being able to really stay on the cusp of trends, especially with Futurpreneur and through working with tech innovators. To play a small part in providing solutions to some of the big problems we’re having in society is really exciting for me,” she says.

She’s also grateful for the opportunity to make an impact on the startup ecosystem.

“I may not have grown a company worth $100 million, but I feel it’s extremely rewarding to have made a contribution to companies that have, collectively, impacted a lot of lives,” she says.

“My personal mission of supporting impact leaders, people who value ROI as much as they do return on impact, can be fulfilled through mentorship – especially through Futurpreneur. This next generation of impact leaders – millennials in particular – are really going to shape the world in a way that I am 100% behind.”

BREAKING DOWN BARRIERS

Watkins acknowledges that the more recent availability of mentorship – particularly through structured programs like Futurpreneur, which “helps on so many levels” – will help pave the way for more women entrepreneurs and entrepreneurs of colour.

That’s particularly important, since traditional business advice or existing supports often don’t take the needs of those groups into consideration, she says.

Taking someone successful out to lunch, for example, is often touted as a great way to get a mentor: “That’s really great advice for a young man, but telling a young woman to go to an older man and invite him to lunch can turn into a very different situation,” she says.

“There are so many social dynamics at play that won’t resonate with a woman, let alone a Black woman … Not to marginalize us as women, but I do think we need to have more evolved strategies that really speak to the real world of how we will navigate the entrepreneurial ecosystem as a woman.”

Meanwhile, institutional support for Black women entrepreneurs is even more scarce. Watkins says that up until last year, she wasn’t aware of a single large-scale program that catered specifically to Black women entrepreneurs.

“A lot happened in 2020, and I think that’s opened some doors,” she adds.

Watkins adds that she’s heartened that the business world now seems more broadly prepared to tackle issues of gender and race: “What I’ve seen in the past year, there are so many efforts in place to just create a new normal. I’m so empowered, emboldened, excited to see what I see right now taking place.

“I know 2020 was a challenging year, but I’ve seen so much introspection, reflection and connection on a human level, that common ground of: ‘We want this to be a beautiful world. We want to work together harmoniously.’ And we can do that.”

Click here to learn more about how Futurpreneur’s mentors can help you on your entrepreneurship journey.

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Njeri Watkins a pour ambition d’aider les entrepreneur-e-s à chaque étape de leur cheminement.

Cette passion lui vient honnêtement : en tant que membre de la septième génération d’une communauté noire fondatrice en Nouvelle-Écosse, Watkins, de Njeri Watkins Consulting [link], raconte qu’elle a grandi dans une communauté qui a toujours soutenu les chefs d’entreprise et les entrepreneur-e-s noir-e-s.

« Nous avons tendance à être des innovateurs, en raison de notre héritage culturel – beaucoup de premières noires au Canada viennent évidemment de Nouvelle-Écosse. Je me suis inspirée de cette confiance en mes capacités de dirigeante », dit-elle.

« C’est là que je peux voir tant de femmes fortes dans ma communauté qui ont littéralement été les premières dans leurs industries à faire des choses. De ce point de vue, j’ai beaucoup de modèles, beaucoup de « premières femmes noires » dans ma communauté en particulier. Cela m’a donné beaucoup de force et de base, pour faire la transition vers le monde des affaires. »

Dans son travail comme consultante et analyste commerciale, Watkins, basée à Vancouver, est demandée par un grand nombre d’entrepreneurs et de chefs d’entreprise pour son expertise sur une variété de sujets. Au cours d’une semaine donnée, elle peut aider les entreprises avec leurs stratégies de pivot COVID, conseiller les leaders d’impact qui cherchent à entrer dans l’espace virtuel, aider les entrepreneur-e-s qui réussissent à plus facilement quitter les entreprises qu’ils ont créées, et même offre des conseils au chefs d’entreprise sur la façon de projeter la confiance à l’ère des appels Zoom.

Mais Watkins travaille également avec des entrepreneurs qui viennent tout juste de faire ce premier pas – notamment en conseillant les jeunes entrepreneur-e-s dans le cadre du programme Futurpreneur.

Watkins a découvert Futurpreneur lorsqu’un jeune couple dont elle avait parlé dans le cadre d’un autre programme a proposé son nom comme mentor potentiel. Au cours des six années qui ont suivi, elle a travaillé avec de nombreuses entreprises dans les domaines de l’éducation et de la technologie. Plus récemment, elle a été le mentor de l’entrepreneur-e de l’entreprise Ace It, un espace d’étude de type collaboratif visant à aider les élèves du secondaire à faire leurs devoirs dans un environnement sans distraction.

Watkins dit qu’elle-même n’a pas eu de mentors formels au début de sa carrière : « Cela s’explique en partie par le fait qu’à l’époque où j’ai grandi, il n’y avait pas beaucoup de programmes de jumelage », dit-elle.

Et le conseil en carrière, qui s’adressait souvent à des personnes bien établies cherchant à changer de carrière, était coûteux et difficile à accéder.

En 2008, elle a suivi un programme de certificat de consultant et s’est positionnée comme conseillère, en se concentrant sur la progression de carrière dans les médias digitaux, le marketing et les industries créatives.

Plus tard, elle a commencé à enseigner le marketing digital et l’analyse de données à l’école de business Sauder de l’UBC : « Cela semblait être une progression naturelle – aider les gens à comprendre les médias sociaux, les marques personnelles, les communications ». (Aujourd’hui, dit-elle, beaucoup de ses étudiant-e-s poursuivent activement leur carrière en tant qu’indépendant-e-s et entrepreneur-e-s).

Son expertise en analyse de données l’a aidée à guider les nouveaux entrepreneur-e-s vers la compréhension du rôle que les données peuvent jouer dans la croissance de leur entreprise – un concept qu’elle encourage les entreprises de toutes grandeur à adopter.

« Je pense que le plus grand défi auquel les entrepreneur-e-s sont confrontés est qu’une fois qu’ils ont terminé leur plan d’affaires et commencé à l’exécuter, ils réalisent que le marketing digital, les médias sociaux et le fait d’avoir une stratégie d’engagement sont beaucoup plus difficiles qu’ils ne l’avaient prévu », dit-elle.

« Il est tellement important de construire une culture axée sur les données – vous devez avoir tout le monde qui demande, à tous les niveaux, quel est le problème que vous voulez que les données résolvent ».

Bien que Watkins soit généreuse de son temps et de son expertise, elle dit que ses mentorés lui fournissent également quelque chose de précieux : Un aperçu des prochaines grandes vagues dans le domaine de la technologie et de l’entreprenariat.

« J’aime pouvoir, surtout avec Futurpreneur et en travaillant avec des innovateurs et innovatrices technologiques, rester vraiment à jour sur les tendances. Jouer un petit rôle dans la recherche de solutions à certains des grands problèmes que nous connaissons dans la société est vraiment passionnant pour moi », dit-elle.

Elle est également reconnaissante d’avoir la possibilité d’avoir un impact sur l’écosystème des start-ups.

« Je n’ai peut-être pas fait croître une entreprise de 100 millions de dollars, mais je pense qu’il est extrêmement gratifiant d’avoir apporté une contribution à des entreprises qui, collectivement, ont eu un impact sur de nombreuses vies », dit-elle.

« Ma mission personnelle de soutien aux leaders d’impact, des personnes qui accordent autant d’importance au retour sur investissement qu’au rendement de l’impact, peut être accomplie grâce au jumelage avec un mentor, notamment avec Futurpreneur. Cette prochaine génération d’impact – les millénaires en particulier – va vraiment forger le monde d’une manière que je supporte à 100% ».

ABATTRE LES BARRIÈRES

Watkins reconnaît que la disponibilité plus récente du jumelage avec un mentor – en particulier par le biais de programmes structurés comme Futurpreneur, qui « aide à de nombreux niveaux » – aidera à ouvrir la voie à davantage de femmes entrepreneures et d’entrepreneur-e-s de couleur.

« C’est particulièrement important, car les conseils traditionnels aux entreprises ou les aides existantes ne tiennent souvent pas compte des besoins de ces groupes », dit-elle.

Par exemple, on dit souvent que le fait d’inviter à dîner une personne qui a réussi est un excellent moyen de trouver un mentor : « C’est un très bon conseil pour un jeune homme, mais dire à une jeune femme d’aller voir un homme plus âgé et de l’inviter à dîner peut se transformer en une situation très différente », dit-elle.

« Il y a tellement de dynamiques sociales en jeu qu’une femme, et encore moins une femme noire, ne peut pas s’y retrouver… Je ne veux pas nous marginaliser en tant que femmes, mais je pense que nous avons besoin de stratégies plus évoluées qui nous permettent de savoir comment nous allons naviguer dans l’écosystème entrepreneurial en tant que femme. »

En attendant, le soutien institutionnel aux femmes noires chefs d’entreprise est encore plus rare. Watkins dit que jusqu’à l’année dernière, elle n’avait pas connaissance d’un seul programme à grande échelle qui s’adressait spécifiquement aux femmes noires chefs d’entreprise.

« Beaucoup de changements sont arrivés en 2020, et je pense que cela a ouvert des portes », ajoute-t-elle.

Watkins ajoute qu’elle est encouragée par le fait que le monde des affaires semble maintenant plus largement préparé à aborder les questions de genre et de communautés ethniques: « Ce que j’ai vu l’année dernière, c’est qu’il y a tant d’efforts en place pour créer une nouvelle normalité. Je suis tellement motivée et excitée de voir ce que je vois actuellement se produire. »

« Je sais que 2020 a été une année difficile, mais j’ai vu tant d’introspection, de rassemblement et de réflexion, de connexion au niveau humain, ce terrain commun : Nous voulons que ce monde soit beau. Nous voulons travailler ensemble de manière harmonieuse. Et nous pouvons y parvenir ».

Obtenez jusqu'à 60 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →