Tune into our new podcast, Startup + Prosper! Our podcast is dedicated to the key elements of the entrepreneurial mindset, with a particular focus on the current state of Black entrepreneurship in Canada. Each of the episodes aims to inspire and educate listeners about Black-owned businesses and their reality while providing more insight into Futurpreneur’s goals to grow, learn and help address the disparities faced by the BIPOC entrepreneurial community. Read their stories, listen and subscribe to our podcast, Startup + Prosper:

E01: The Unexpected Momentum Generated by the Black Lives Matter Movement

In 2020, the tragic death of George Floyd led to the resurgence of the Black Lives Matter movement. What followed was a major societal awakening to the issues facing
Black communities, which in turn propelled many Black-owned businesses toward their rightful place.

Two years later, social impact designer Danièle-Jocelyne Otou is still feeling the effects. She is the co-founder of New Room, an organization that offers program and resource development services pertaining to diversity, equity and inclusion, a venture which was launched in 2021.

Transformation Through the Movement

“My impression has definitely changed. At first, I was divided,” recalls Danièle-Jocelyne Otou, thinking back to how the movement put Black people and communities in the spotlight. For many, the complexity of the situation generated a sense of ambivalence. “On the one hand, I was happy that people in general were confronted with certain things, and on the other, I was puzzled: it took the public death of a Black man for certain institutions to wake up,” explains the entrepreneur.

Progress is being made on the social and political fronts, and many have taken action. Programs such as the BlackNorth Initiative, Futurepreneur’s Black Entrepreneur Startup Program, and the federal government’s funding for Black entrepreneurs and organizations that work with Black communities are all initiatives born from the movement. “There is still work to be done, of course, but I think recognizing the progress that has been made is just as important as looking critically at the work that still needs to be done,” says Otou.

While Otou is not new to entrepreneurship, things have come a long way since 2020. “The difference I feel is the support of the entrepreneurial ecosystem and the resources that are available to us,” says the entrepreneur, who, eight years ago, was living a very different life when she started her first business. “I think it’s partly because in the last two years, a lot of these ecosystems realized how opportunities are not equal.”

What’s Next

The passage of time also allows us to see how far we’ve come in the wake of a movement. “Two years later, I consider that, depending on the initiatives, we have succeeded, as a community, in being able to gauge the level of sincerity of certain initiatives, posts or reflections,” says the entrepreneur. Things like performative statements are still hard to navigate–how do we know if those making them are actually putting in the work? “I think that today there is a real sense of accountability that is being demanded of companies and leaders, so there is a lot of demand, which has propelled us,” says the social design specialist, who, through her work, aims to turn momentum into concrete actions and real change.

In entrepreneurship, you cannot afford to overlook your personal growth. This is the advice of Danièle-Jocelyne Otou: invest in your personal and professional development. “Our businesses reflect who we are. By being the best version of ourselves, our businesses and the people they attract are also at their best,” says the entrepreneur. “We take just as much time to transform ourselves and contribute to the social transformation we want to see. The self always precedes the systemic. We can’t change the systems without changing ourselves.”

To learn more, listen to the podcast episode on how the resurgence of the Black Lives Matter movement has propelled businesses on Spotify and Youtube.

This article was written by Christelle Saint-Julien

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Écoutez notre nouveau podcast, Startup + Prosper ! Notre podcast se concentre sur les éléments clés de l’entrepreneuriat tout en mettant l’accent sur l’état actuel de l’entrepreneuriat noir au Canada. Chaque épisode a pour but d’inspirer et d’éduquer les auditeurs sur les entreprises appartenant à des Noirs et leur réalité, tout en donnant un aperçu des objectifs de Futurpreneur en matière de croissance, d’apprentissage et de lutte contre les disparités auxquelles est confrontée la communauté entrepreneuriale noire. Lisez leurs histoires, écoutez et abonnez-vous à notre podcast, Startup + Prosper:

E01: Le tremplin inespéré du mouvement Black Lives Matter

En 2020, la mort tragique de George Floyd a conduit à la résurgence du mouvement Black Lives Matter. S’en est suivi un important réveil sociétal vis-à-vis les enjeux auxquels font face les communautés noires, qui a propulsé de nombreuses entreprises à propriété noire vers leur dû.

Des répercussions, qui, deux ans plus tard, se font toujours ressentir pour Danièle-Jocelyne Otou, designer d’impact social. Elle est la cofondatrice de New Room, qui offre des services de développement de programmes et de ressources a trait à la diversité, l’équité et l’inclusion, une entreprise qui a vu le jour en 2021.

La transformation dans le mouvement

« Mon impression a définitivement évolué. Au début, j’étais partagée », se souvient Danièle-Jocelyne Otou du mouvement qui a mis les personnes et communautés noires sous les feux des projecteurs. Pour plusieurs, la complexité de la situation provoque de l’ambivalence. « D’une part j’étais contente que les gens en générale soient confrontés à certaines choses et de l’autre j’étais perplexe; ça a pris le décès public d’un homme noir pour que certaines institutions se réveillent », confie l’entrepreneure.

Plusieurs sont passés à l’action — que ce soit avec des programmes tels que l’Initiative BlackNorth, le programme de démarrage pour entrepreneur.e.s noir.e.s de Futurepreneur, ou encore le financement que le gouvernement fédéral a alloué aux entrepreneurs noirs et aux organismes qui agissent auprès des communautés noires, alors qu’on observe du progrès sur le plan social et politique . « Il reste du travail à faire évidemment, mais je pense que reconnaître le progrès qu’on a fait est tout aussi important que d’observer d’un œil critique le travail qui reste à faire », indique Mme Otou.

Si Mme Otou n’en est pas à sa première entreprise entrepreneuriale, les choses ont beaucoup progressé à ce niveau après 2020. « La différence que je ressens c’est le support de l’écosystème entrepreneurial et des ressources qui nous sont disponibles », témoigne Mme Otou, qui 8 ans plutôt, vivait une tout autre réalité alors qu’elle lançait sa première entreprise. « Je crois que c’est en partie grâce aux deux dernières années que beaucoup de ces écosystèmes se sont développés en réalisant à quel point les chances ne sont pas égales. »

La suite des choses

Le temps qui s’est écoulé permet également de constater le chemin accompli dans le sillon du mouvement. « Deux ans plus tard, je considère que dépendamment des initiatives, nous avons réussi, en tant que communauté, à être plus en mesure de jauger le niveau de sincérité de certaines initiatives, publications ou réflexions », souligne l’entrepreneure. Cela reste cependant toujours un un aspect difficile à naviguer, à savoir lorsqu’un discours est performatif, ou si ceux qui le prononcent mettent la main à la pâte.  « Je pense qu’aujourd’hui, il y a vraiment un sens de responsabilisation qui est demandé des compagnies et des leaders faisant en sorte qu’il y a énormément de demandes, ce qui nous a propulsés » , déclare la spécialiste en design social, qui par son travail, souhaite transformer le momentum en actions concrètes et en changement réel.

En entrepreneuriat, il ne faut pas se négliger. Ainsi va le conseil de Danièle-Jocelyne Otou :  investir tout autant dans son développement personnel que professionnel. « Nos entreprises reflètent qui nous sommes. En étant la meilleure version de nous-même, nos entreprises ainsi que les gens qu’elles attirent sont aussi à leur

Pour en savoir plus, écoutez l’épisode du podcast intitulé « La résurgence du mouvement Black Lives Matter a propulsé mon entreprise » sur Spotify et Youtube.

Obtenez jusqu'à 60 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →