Tune into our new podcast, Startup + Prosper! Our podcast is dedicated to the key elements of the entrepreneurial mindset, with a particular focus on the current state of Black entrepreneurship in Canada. Each of the episodes aims to inspire and educate listeners about Black-owned businesses and their reality while providing more insight into Futurpreneur’s goals to grow, learn and help address the disparities faced by the BIPOC entrepreneurial community. Read their stories, listen and subscribe to our podcast, Startup + Prosper:

E04: On Belonging and Taking Space with Alfred Burgesson

Alfred Burgesson hasn’t always felt as though he belonged. When he was six years old, he left Ghana with his family to settle in Canada: “I moved to a town called Port Hawkesbury in Nova Scotia, with a population of 4,000 people. And it’s not very diverse,” he recalls.

By then, the experience was already prompting some essential questions. “I feel like from a young age, I was always looking for—I was always looking for a sense of community and like, who are my people here, who can I relate to?”

Finding your Kind

Decades later, not only did Alfred take up the space that he was due—he made sure to bring along everybody who looked like him and their talents. In 2020, he founded Tribe Network, connecting Black, Indigenous and People of Colour pursuing entrepreneurship and innovation with opportunities and each other. “Tribe Networks came from my personal experience and from listening to the experience of other entrepreneurs. The organization is set out to be the BIPOC entrepreneurship hub in Canada,” he tells us.

Burgesson got an early start in entrepreneurship through an after-school program called Junior Achievement, where students come together with their peers to build a company. “I had a core group of people I was working with, and together, we were able to take up space,” explains the founder. “Entrepreneurship is about finding like-minded people who care about the problem you’re trying to solve. And together, you can take up space and create community,”, which is the mindset he carries with him still to this day.

Now, Tribe Network offers a space where entrepreneurs can support each other, which, in the eyes of the founder, is crucial. “You know, if I’m dealing with an issue, when I talk to an entrepreneur who’s already dealt with that, they’re able to give me direct feedback on how I can solve that issue, from their lived experience. So I think it’s really important that entrepreneurs surround themselves in a community where they belong.”

The idea for the network sprouted in the summer of 2020 through discussions between Alfred and his sister, who is an entrepreneur herself. The aim was to help build capacity for entrepreneurs and intrapreneurs and centralize that information. “The core of our conversation was—how can we give Black entrepreneurs a platform where they can sell their products and services to the world? How can we create a community where they can connect and learn from each other? How do we create a sense of belonging and community during COVID and lockdowns?”

Coaching, advising and mentoring are great ways to be supported, which you can access through Tribe. “I would encourage you to identify people who can support your entrepreneurial journey. But the crucial thing is that they believe in the problem you’re trying to solve, and that they believe in you.”

The Power of Data

Before launching his latest venture, Alfred Burgesson, an alumni of the Prime Minister’s Youth Council, was the co-chair of Canada’s first State of youth report.

He was also project lead at the African Canadian Senate group and the office of Senator Colin Deacon, a project aiming to dive deeper into the gaps for Black entrepreneurs in Canada. There, he was given the opportunity to study the problem he was initially exploring, gathering insight about the current state of Black entrepreneurship.

“The data that we collected definitely shed light on the state of Black entrepreneurs,” says the founder.

Information and numbers pertaining to BIPOC communities have historically been absent and underreported. “Fortunately or unfortunately, I think we are operating in a society and a system that often requires data to inform decisions,” says Burgesson. And when there’s data, there’s proof. Surveying has also allowed Black entrepreneurs to share their experiences and voice their concerns to governments.

“Through my work with the Senate, I realized that there were gaps in the entrepreneurship and innovation ecosystem. And the gaps had to do with entrepreneurs not being BIPOC, and not being connected with each other across the country,” says Burgesson. Furthermore, the entrepreneur states that his fellow BIPOC colleagues were not being connected to accelerators or incubators, which he is set on changing.

Turns out that these programs also need to be more representative of the population. “If they want more Black entrepreneurs, they need to have Black staff, coaches, mentors, plus language and resources that are tailored towards Black entrepreneurs,” Burgesson indicates.

Taking Up Space

Despite being an active entrepreneur for most of his life, Alfred Burgesson has felt at times that he was going through it alone. “Sometimes it’s challenging for entrepreneurs to walk into white spaces and thrive in them,” he says.

And it takes guts to get started and to keep at it. “It’s not an easy thing, and you need to have a lot of courage to succeed in entrepreneurship. So I think a part of that mindset is being able to walk in spaces where you’ll be the only one,” he says, speaking from experience.

And the burden shouldn’t only be ours to carry. “If an organization is going to make a commitment to being more diverse, I think it’s important that the team take a step back to recognize either the knowledge or lack of knowledge they have. It’s important to build capacity in the existing team to be able to support this new person or new people who are coming into your workplace,” pleads Burgersson. And we are talking about ongoing efforts, not a simple warm welcome. “You need to acknowledge and create the journey that will allow the entire staff to get better educated on how to support the community, not just the person coming in.”

For more perspective on breaking the glass ceiling, you can listen to the podcast episode “Taking Up Space: You belong!” with Alfred Burgersson.

This article was written by Christelle Saint-Julien

Get up to $60,000
in financial support,
and the support of one
of our 3,000 mentors.

Learn More →

Écoutez notre nouveau podcast, Startup + Prosper ! Notre podcast se concentre sur les éléments clés de l’entrepreneuriat tout en mettant l’accent sur l’état actuel de l’entrepreneuriat noir au Canada. Chaque épisode a pour but d’inspirer et d’éduquer les auditeurs sur les entreprises appartenant à des Noirs et leur réalité, tout en donnant un aperçu des objectifs de Futurpreneur en matière de croissance, d’apprentissage et de lutte contre les disparités auxquelles est confrontée la communauté entrepreneuriale noire. Lisez leurs histoires, écoutez et abonnez-vous à notre podcast, Startup + Prosper:

E04: Revendiquer sa place avec Alfred Burgesson

Alfred Burgesson n’a pas toujours eu le sentiment d’être à sa place. À l’âge de six ans, il a quitté le Ghana avec sa famille pour s’installer au Canada : « J’ai déménagé à Port Hawkesbury, en Nouvelle-Écosse, une ville de 4 000 habitants qui n’était pas très diversifiée », se souvient-il.

Déjà à l’époque, l’expérience suscite un certain nombre d’interrogations. « J’ai l’impression que depuis mon plus jeune âge, j’ai toujours été à la recherche d’une communauté, de mes semblables, à qui je puisse m’identifier », témoigne l’entrepreneur.

Trouver ses semblables 

Plusieurs décennies plus tard, Alfred n’a pas seulement investi la place qui lui était due, il s’est assuré d’emmener avec lui tous ceux qui lui ressemblaient, ainsi que leurs talents. En 2020, il met sur pied Tribe Network, un réseau qui met en relation les entrepreneurs et porteurs d’innovations noirs, autochtones et de couleur avec leurs homologues et de nouvelles opportunités. « Tribe Network est né de mon expérience personnelle et de celles qu’on rapportées d’autres entrepreneurs. L’organisation a pour objectif de devenir le centre d’entrepreneuriat BIPOC du Canada », nous dit-il.

Burgesson s’est initié très tôt à l’entrepreneuriat grâce à Junior Achievement, un programme parascolaire où les étudiants se réunissent avec leurs camarades pour créer une entreprise. « J’avais un noyau de personnes avec lesquelles je travaillais et, ensemble, nous prenions de la place », explique le fondateur.« L’entrepreneuriat consiste à trouver des personnes qui partagent les mêmes idées et qui s’intéressent au problème que l’on cherche à résoudre. Et ensemble, on peut prendre de la place et créer une communauté », dit-il, au sujet de cette perspective qui l’anime.

Désormais, Tribe Network offre un espace où les entrepreneurs peuvent également se soutenir mutuellement, un élément crucial aux yeux du fondateur. « Si je suis confronté à un problème, lorsque je parle à un entrepreneur qui a déjà été confronté à ce problème, il est capable de me partager son point de vue sur la façon dont je peux résoudre ce problème. Je pense donc qu’il est très important que les entrepreneurs s’entourent d’une communauté dont ils font partie », affirme l’entrepreneur.

L’idée du réseau a germé à l’été 2020, au cours de discussions entre Alfred et sa sœur, qui est elle-même entrepreneure. Son objectif était d’aider à renforcer les capacités des entrepreneurs et intrapreneurs, et de centraliser ces informations. « Le noyau de notre conversation était de voir comment offrir aux entrepreneurs noirs une plateforme où ils peuvent vendre leurs produits et services au monde entier. Comment pouvons-nous créer cette communauté où ils peuvent tisser des liens et apprendre les uns des autres ? Comment créer un sentiment d’appartenance et de communauté pendant le COVID et le confinement ? ».

Le coaching, les conseils et le mentorat sont d’excellents moyens de bénéficier d’un soutien, et sont accessibles par l’intermédiaire de Tribe. « Je vous encourage à identifier les personnes qui peuvent soutenir votre parcours d’entrepreneur. Le plus important, c’est qu’ils croient au problème que vous essayez de résoudre et qu’ils croient en vous », déclare M. Burgesson.

La portée des données

Avant de lancer sa dernière entreprise, Alfred Burgesson, ancien membre du Conseil jeunesse du Premier ministre, a été coprésident du tout premier Rapport sur l’état de la jeunesse du Canada.

Il a également été chef de projet au sein du Groupe sénatorial afro-canadien et du bureau du sénateur Colin Deakin, un projet visant à examiner en profondeur les lacunes auxquelles sont confrontés les entrepreneurs Noirs au Canada. Il a ainsi eu l’occasion d’étudier le problème sur lequel il se penchait initialement, recueillant des informations sur l’état actuel de l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires. « Les données que nous avons collectées ont permis de faire la lumière sur la situation des entrepreneurs noirs », déclare le fondateur.

Les renseignements et les chiffres qui ont trait aux communautés BIPOC sont historiquement absents et insuffisamment documentés. « Heureusement ou malheureusement, je pense que nous évoluons dans une société et un système qui nécessitent souvent des données pour éclairer les décisions », estime M. Burgesson. Et les données sont synonymes de preuves. La réalisation de ces sondages a également permis aux entrepreneurs noirs de partager leurs expériences et de faire part de leurs préoccupations aux gouvernements.

« Grâce à mon travail avec le Sénat, j’ai réalisé qu’il y avait des lacunes dans l’écosystème de l’entrepreneuriat et de l’innovation. Et ces lacunes étaient liées au fait que les entrepreneurs ne sont pas des personnes, et que ceux qui le sont n’ont pas de moyen d’entrer en contact les uns avec les autres à travers le pays », explique M. Burgesson. Par ailleurs, il affirme que ses collègues BIPOC n’étaient pas mis en contact avec des accélérateurs ou des incubateurs, ce à quoi il s’est attelé.

Il s’avère que ces programmes doivent également être plus représentatifs de la population. « S’ils veulent accueillir plus d’entrepreneurs noirs, ils doivent avoir du personnel, des coachs et des mentors noirs, ainsi que des langues et des ressources adaptées aux entrepreneurs noirs », indique M. Burgesson.

Prendre sa place

Bien qu’il ait été un entrepreneur actif pendant la majeure partie de sa vie, Alfred Burgesson a parfois eu l’impression d’être isolé. « Il est parfois difficile pour les entrepreneurs d’entrer dans des espaces blancs et de s’y épanouir », confie-t-il.

Et il faut du cran pour se lancer, et pour continuer. « C’est une chose très, très difficile, et il faut avoir beaucoup de courage pour réussir dans l’entrepreneuriat. Et donc, je pense qu’une partie de cet état d’esprit est d’être capable de pénétrer des espaces où vous serez le seul », dit-il en parlant de son expérience.

Et ce fardeau ne devrait pas retomber sur les épaules de ceux qui vivent ces situations. « Si une organisation s’engage à être plus diversifiée, il est important que l’équipe prenne du recul pour reconnaître ses connaissances, ou celles qui lui font défaut. Il est important de renforcer les capacités de l’équipe existante afin de pouvoir soutenir ces nouvelles personnes qui arrivent sur votre lieu de travail », préconise M. Burgesson. Et il s’agit d’efforts constants, pas d’un simple accueil chaleureux. « Il faut le reconnaître et créer le parcours qui permettra à l’ensemble du personnel d’être mieux formé sur la manière de soutenir non seulement cette personne, mais aussi sa communauté ».

Pour plus d’idées sur comment fracasser le plafond de verre, écoutez l’épisode du Startup+Prosper « Prend ta place : la voici! » avec Alfred Burgesson.

Obtenez jusqu'à 60 000 $
d’aide financière
et le soutien de l'un
de nos 3 000 mentors.

En savoir plus →