Supported by:

G20 Young Entrepreneurs’ Alliance

Supporting International Opportunities for Canada’s Young Entrepreneurs

Futurpreneur Canada is proud to be a founding member of the G20 Young Entrepreneurs’ Alliance (G20 YEA), a global network of more than 500,000 young entrepreneurs and the organizations that support them. In advance of every G20 Leaders’ Summit, the G20 YEA brings together hundreds of the world’s top young entrepreneurs to advance youth entrepreneurship as a driver of economic growth, innovation and social change.

The Summit is an important opportunity for young entrepreneurs to become part of a network of champions for youth entrepreneurship, advising on issues of importance, sharing ideas and proposing solutions. The G20 YEA Summit also offers a critical opportunity for young entrepreneurs to advance their businesses, make international connections and explore international growth.


G20 YEA 2020 Canadian Delegation Opportunity

Each year, the G20 YEA brings together hundreds of the world’s top young entrepreneurs at an international Summit to issue a communiqué to G20 leaders and catalyse global change.

Due to the impact COVID-19 continues to have on our lives and our communities, and to support prevention measures, this year’s Summit will be held remotely.

Futurpreneur is looking for 45 of Canada’s best and brightest young entrepreneurs to represent our country at the virtual 2020 G20 Young Entrepreneurs’ Alliance Summit hosted by Saudi Arabia on October 29-30, 2020.

2020 Summit theme: Entrepreneurship as a source of innovation and resilience: for an inclusive, sustainable economic recovery post-COVID-19.



How is this year’s summit different?


Virtual International Summit

The G20 YEA Summit is going virtual, which means that instead of traveling to the host destination—this year in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, delegations will participate in the summit remotely. Through an innovative virtual platform, delegates will be able to navigate the virtual conference with their own avatar, alongside 500+ young entrepreneurs and entrepreneurial leaders from across the G20 countries.


Canadian delegation Summit activities

Futurpreneur is hosting its own interactive event for the Canadian delegation, offering a robust agenda filled with networking & trade opportunities. Delegates from across the country will meet either virtually or in person in Toronto/Ottawa (details to be confirmed in accordance with the latest public health guidelines related to COVID-19). Delegates will participate in a variety of business-building, policy-making and networking activities with government officials, international trade organizations, consular trade representatives and business associations from G20 countries, and Trade Commissioner Services.

The aim this year remains to provide safe, interactive and inclusive G20 trade opportunities to a diverse group of young entrepreneurs, especially those who are typically underrepresented in the Canadian international trade landscape, including women, members of BIPOC and LGBTQ+ communities, new Canadians and those with disabilities.

After logging into the virtual Summit platform and building their profile and avatar, delegates will have the opportunity to elaborate on their B2B needs. They also will be able to “match” with other like-minded entrepreneurs and investors present on the platform in addition to participating in Futurpreneur-led, in-person activities in Toronto/Ottawa (TBC), for the duration of the Summit.


Want to become a G20 YEA delegate?

Apply online by September 30, 2020 – 11:59 PM (EST) *DEADLINE EXTENDED*

The next G20 YEA Summit hosted by Saudi Arabia will be held remotely on a virtual interactive platform on October 29-30. The virtual summit session will last 3 hours each day in order to accommodate all time zones and is planning to feature:

  • High-profile keynote speakers
  • Breakout sessions, panel discussions, focus groups and a pitch competition
  • Virtual networking opportunities through profile matching and conference navigation
  • 2020 Summit Theme: Entrepreneurship as a source of innovation and resilience: for an inclusive, sustainable economic recovery post-COVID-19.

Summit activities organized by Futurpreneur in Toronto/Ottawa (TBC) will include:

  • Introductions to business development organizations
  • Meetings with the Trade Commissioner Service, senior government officials and international business associations and services
  • B2B meetings
  • Networking events and cultural activities

Make International Connections and Accelerate Your Business Abroad

As a 2020 delegate, you will join a group of like-minded young entrepreneurs eager to look at expansion and growth opportunities outside of their local market. Together, you will have the opportunity to explore a variety of regional entrepreneurial ecosystems, make international connections and accelerate your interests abroad both virtually and in person.

Become an Entrepreneurship Leader and Ambassador

Your role as a G20 YEA delegate goes beyond the Summit. As a G20 YEA delegate, you will become part of a cross-Canada network of champions for youth entrepreneurship representing the interests of young entrepreneurs, advising on issues of importance, and sharing challenges and proposing solutions. You will have the opportunity to engage with stakeholders and media, and to participate in government relations efforts to advance the G20 YEA recommendations, especially in the context of post-COVID-19 recovery.

APPLY HERE

Testimonials

Delegate responsibilities:

  • Act as a champion for youth entrepreneurship both within Canada and abroad
  • Represent the interests of young entrepreneurs, advising on issues of importance, sharing challenges and proposing solutions
  • Engage with government, media and other stakeholders about their experience and associated G20YEA recommendations to support young entrepreneurs, through:
    • Coordinating at least one media article/appearance
    • Scheduling at least two meetings with government and/or leaders in the entrepreneurship community
    • Arranging at least one visit or presentation to share learnings and G20YEA recommendations, such as at a school, university, Chamber of Commerce, government consultation or other event
  • Participate in an introductory call in April 2020 and a full-day pre-summit training session in Toronto or Montreal in August 2020 (virtual participation possible)

Delegate Eligibility Requirements

  • 18-39 years old
  • Canadian Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Owner, co-founder and/or majority shareholder of a Canadian business* that has been in operation for at least two years
  • Able to communicate in English
  • Demonstrated entrepreneurial leader familiar with the challenges facing young entrepreneurs
  • Strong interest in affecting entrepreneurship policy
  • Interested in exploring international markets and making international connections to advance business interests
  • Able to cover all costs associated with participating as a delegate **

*or non-profit.

****To confirm their participation--whether in person or virtual--all selected delegates will be required to pay a non-refundable administration and registration fee ($50 CAD payable to Futurpreneur Canada + $80 USD to the G20 YEA Summit Secretariat). Additionally, if an in-person gathering is confirmed, delegates who opt to travel will be asked to cover a portion of their transit and meal expenses. These costs will vary according to travel distance. Details to be confirmed upon selection.


Please note that only 1 person may apply per business/organization.

Exceptions may be made for businesses that have been operating for less than 2 years where the applicant can demonstrate significant business growth (preferably global).

Applications will be open until until September 30, 2020 – 11:59 PM (EST) *DEADLINE EXTENDED*.

APPLY HERE

Soutenu en partie par:

G20 Young Entrepreneurs’ Alliance

Fournir des opportunités internationales aux jeunes entrepreneurs canadiens

Futurpreneur Canada est fier d’être un des membres fondateurs de l’Alliance des jeunes entrepreneurs du G20 (G20YEA), un réseau mondial de plus de 500 000 jeunes entrepreneurs et les organisations qui les soutiennent. À la veille de chaque Sommet des leaders du G20, l’Alliance des jeunes entrepreneurs du G20 rassemble des centaines des meilleurs jeunes entrepreneurs à travers le monde afin d’établir et de faire avancer l’entrepreneuriat de la jeunesse comme moteur de croissance économique, d’innovation, et de changements sociaux.

Le Sommet est une opportunité importante pour que les jeunes entrepreneurs fassent partie d’un réseau qui défend l’entrepreneuriat de la jeunesse, pour qu’ils avisent sur des causes clés, partagent leurs idées et proposent des solutions durables. C’est également une excellente opportunité d’avancement pour ces jeunes entrepreneurs - une occasion de faire des connections internationales et d’explorer les opportunités de croissance internationale.


Délégation canadienne 2020

Futurpreneur Canada est fier d’annoncer ses 48 délégués canadiens cette année!

Pour plus d’information sur la délégation, cliquez ici.

La délégation canadienne au sommet virtuel de la G20 YEA et ses activités d’affaires sont financées en partie par le Gouvernement du Canada..



Qu’est ce qui change cette année?


Un sommet international virtuel

Le sommet de la G20 YEA sera virtuel cette année, ce qui veut dire qu’au lieu de voyager vers la destination de l’hôte (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia), les délégations participeront au sommet à distance. Grâce à une plateforme virtuelle innovatrice, les délégués auront l’occasion de naviguer le monde virtuel de la conférence avec leur propre avatar, aux côtés de plus de 500 jeunes entrepreneurs et leaders entrepreneuriaux venant des pays du G20.


Les activités de la délégation Canadienne

Futurpreneur organisera son propre évènement interactif pour la délégation canadienne, offrant un programme complet d'opportunités de réseautage et d'échanges commerciaux. Les délégués venant de partout au pays se rencontreront virtuellement. Les délégués participeront à une variété d’activités de développement des affaires, élaboration de politiques, et réseautage avec des représentants gouvernementaux, des organisations d’affaires internationales, des représentant consulaires et leur bureau d’affaires, des associations commerciales des pays du G20, ainsi que les Services de délégués commerciaux.

L'objectif cette année demeure de fournir des opportunités d'affaires des pays du G20 qui soient sécuritaires, interactives et inclusives, et ce à une diversité d'entrepreneurs, surtout des jeunes entrepreneurs sous-représentés au sein du contexte canadien de commerce international, tels que : les femmes entrepreneures, les membres des communautés autochtones, noires et de couleur (PANDC) et de la communauté LGBTQ+, les nouveaux canadiens, ainsi que les entrepreneurs ayant un handicap.



Après s’être enregistrés sur la plateforme virtuelle du sommet, et après avoir créé leurs profils et avatars, les délégués auront l’occasion d’élaborer leurs besoins B2B. Ils pourront également correspondre avec d’autres entrepreneurs partageant des intérêts similaires ainsi qu’avec les investisseurs présents en plus de participer aux activités de Futurpreneur à Toronto/Ottawa (à confirmer) tout au long du sommet.


Vous voulez devenir un délégué G20 YEA?

La période d’application pour la délégation 2020 est fermée.

Le prochain Sommet G20 YEA, organisé par l’Arabie Saoudite se tiendra à distance sur une plateforme virtuelle interactive du 29-30 octobre 2020. Les sessions du sommet virtuel dureront 3 heures par jours, dans le but d’accommoder la majorité des fuseaux horaires et planifie d’offrir :

  • des allocutions de conférenciers de renom;
  • des séances en petits groupes, des tables rondes, des groupes de discussion et un concours de présentations d’entreprise;
  • des occasions de réseautage grâce au pairage de profil et la navigation au sein de la conférence virtuelle;
  • Thèmes du Sommet 2020 : L’Entrepreneuriat, une source d’innovation et de résilience : pour une relance économique post-COVID-19 inclusive et durable

Les activités du sommet organisées par Futurpreneur à Toronto/Ottawa (destination à confirmer) comprendront:

  • des présentations d’organisations vouées au développement des entreprises;
  • des rencontres avec le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada, de hauts fonctionnaires et des représentants d’associations d’affaires et services internationaux;
  • des rencontres B2B;
  • des événements de réseautage et des activités culturelles.

Établissez des liens internationaux et accélérez le développement de votre entreprise à l’étranger

À titre de délégué au Sommet de 2020, vous vous joindrez à un groupe de jeunes entrepreneurs aux intérêts semblables souhaitant profiter d’occasions d’expansion et de croissance au-delà de leur marché local. Ensemble, vous explorerez l’écosystème entrepreneurial régional, établirez des liens internationaux et ferez avancer vos intérêts à l’étranger autant virtuellement qu’en personne.

Devenez un ambassadeur et un leader entrepreneurial

Votre rôle, comme délégué au Sommet G20 YEA, va bien au-delà de l’événement. Vous ferez en effet partie d’un réseau pancanadien de champions de l’entrepreneuriat jeunesse représentant les intérêts des jeunes entrepreneurs. Vous donnerez votre avis sur des enjeux importants, échangerez sur les défis à relever et proposerez des solutions. Vous aurez également la possibilité d’entrer en contact avec des intervenants et des médias et de participer aux efforts de la G20 YEA en matière de relations gouvernementales afin de mettre de l’avant ses recommandations, particulièrement dans le contexte de la reprise post-COVID-19.

Testimonials

Responsabilité des délégués :

  • agir comme un champion de l’entrepreneuriat au Canada, comme à l’étranger;
  • représenter les intérêts des jeunes entrepreneurs, donner son avis sur des enjeux d’importance, faire connaître les défis et les solutions proposées;
  • échanger avec des membres du gouvernement, des médias et d’autres intervenants au sujet de son expérience et des recommandations dégagées dans le cadre du Sommet G20YEA pour soutenir les jeunes entrepreneurs en :
    • ccoordonnant la réalisation d’au moins une entrevue dans les médias écrits ou électroniques;
    • prévoyant au moins deux rencontres avec des chefs de file de la communauté entrepreneuriale ou des élus;
    • organisant au moins une visite ou une présentation dans une école, une université, une chambre de commerce, une consultation publique ou tout autre événement, afin de faire connaître les apprentissages et les recommandations découlant du Sommet G20YEA;

Critères d’admissibilité pour être délégué

  • être âgé de 18 à 39 ans;
  • être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent;
  • être propriétaire, cofondateur ou actionnaire majoritaire d’une entreprise canadienne* en exploitation depuis au moins deux ans;
  • pouvoir communiquer en anglais;
  • démontrer une capacité à diriger et connaître les défis auxquels sont confrontés les jeunes entrepreneurs;
  • manifester un intérêt marqué envers les politiques liées à l’entrepreneuriat;
  • souhaiter explorer les marchés internationaux et tisser des liens à l’étranger dans le but de faire avancer ses intérêts commerciaux;
  • être en mesure d’assumer tous les coûts engendrés par une participation comme délégué **

*ou une organisation sans but lucratif.


Des exceptions peuvent s’appliquer à des entreprises en exploitation depuis moins de deux ans, mais qui connaissent une très forte croissance (de préférence à l’échelle mondiale).