Case Studies
Case Studies

Mentor Development: Clues in the Financials

Read a case study about finding clues in the financial information from the mentee. Includes thought-provoking questions and best practice solutions.

Finding Clues in the Financials – Case Overview

NOTE: To get maximum value from this case study you should know the following:

  • Balance Sheet and Income Statement structure and purpose
  • Basic financial ratios

To review these subjects prior to completing this case, please consult www.futurpreneur.ca to build your knowledge level around financial statements.

Headshot of Brianna.

Tyrone has had a hectic year getting his business, called Clean Slate, launched. The business promise is that Clean Slate can help any family or small business get organized. Tyrone begins the process by completing a needs assessment review for his clients and then he implements a plan that involves clearing away clutter, organizing what remains and creating an approach the family or business can use to maintain the organization in the future. Tyrone is an expert at organizing and is already finding his skills very marketable.

Clean Slate is basically selling Tyrone’s services as an expert consultant but also includes the organization materials such as office supplies, totes and storage bins, and day planners in the overall cost to the customer. Tyrone’s hard work has definitely been worth it and people clearly need help getting organized because Tyrone has already built a strong client base in his market of Calgary, Alberta.

In the last mentoring meeting, Tyrone and Brianna discussed the upcoming Quarterly Report. When she learned that Tyrone is gathering the financial information on his new business to submit to Futurpreneur Canada, Brianna offered to look over the statements and provide some mentoring feedback.

In a recent email, Brianna received Tyrone’s financial statements. She is looking forward to reviewing the financials for Tyrone’s business particularly because this Quarterly Report falls at Clean Slate’s fiscal year-end. The next mentoring meeting is very important because following this discussion Tyrone will be updating his business plan and setting financial goals for next year.

While Brianna does not have a background in accounting, she feels like she should be able to ask questions that will add value to the discussion.

The financial information is attached below:

As at: Current year Next Year
June 30, 201X Actual Plan Variance Plan
Balance sheet
Cash $326 $2,000 $(1,674) $-
Inventory $7,222 $5,000 $2,222 $-
Receivables $3,638
Total current assets $11,186 $ 7,000 $4,186 $-
Equipment $2,238 $2,500 $ (262) $-
Other assets
Total assets $13,424 $ 9,500 $3,924 $-
Current liabilities $3,687 $500 $3,187 $-
Long term liabilities 8,328 8,500 (172)
Equity 500 500
Total liabilities and equity $ 12,515 $ 9,500 $ 3,015
Income statement
Income $49,654 $ 45,000 $4,654
Cost of goods sold 7,289 4,500 (2,789)
Gross margin 42,365 40,500 1,865
Expenses
Salaries 25,000 25,000
Rent/premises
Travel 1,722 1,000 (722)
Office expenses 62 200 138
Interest/fees 2451 2250 (201)
Other expenses
Total expenses 29,235 28,450 (785)
Net income $ 13,130 $ 12,050 $ 1,080
Net cash flow
Financial ratios
Gross margin 85.32% 90.00%
Are the products you are selling being adequately priced?
Net margin 26.44% 26.78%
Is your enterprise achieving an adequate level of profitability?
Receivable days 27
Are your revenues being collected in a timely fashion?
Quick ratio 107.5% 400.0%
Does your enterprise have adequate liquidity?
Inventory turnover 0.5 0.45
Is your inventory too high?

Questions:

  • What omissions or errors are evident in the financial information that Brianna could ask Tyrone about in the meeting?
  • What potential impact does the higher than anticipated inventory and receivables have on the business?
  • Consider the Gross Margin of the business. If Tyrone had been able to meet his targeted margin of 90%, what would the impact on his profitability have been?
  • What is the greatest short-term concern for Tyrone’s business? What are some possible solutions?
  • What are three questions Brianna could ask during the discussion to promote dialogue around the financial information?

Finding Clues in the Financials – Best Practice Solutions

Best Practice Solutions:

  • The balance sheet presented does not balance as Total Assets are greater than Total Liabilities. Also, there is no information on net cash flow in the summary. If Tyrone is having difficulty preparing his own financial statements, this may be a subject for targeted self-development or perhaps an opportunity to work with another advisor (either paid or volunteer) who understands financial statements.
  • Carrying higher levels of inventory and receivables reduce the cash flow of the business. A drain on cash flow will eventually rob funds from the operating budget and can cause fees, interest costs and an inability to weather a crisis. It appears by what was expensed as Cost of Goods Sold in the Income Statement, that the business has sufficient inventory (showing as an asset) to operate for an entire year. This seems excessive and Brianna may want to help Tyrone explore the potential consequences of carrying more goods than he originally planned.
  • The gross margin is a measure of what portion of revenue is being spent on the goods and services. In Tyrone’s case, he had originally set his plan at 90% gross margin which reflects that the majority of his revenue is from his personal contribution with only a small amount of money being spent on organizational supplies and materials.If Tyrone had been able to meet the 90% target his Gross Profit would have been $44,689 ($49,654 income x .9 profit margin) which is an additional $2,324 in total profit.The original profit margin may have been set too high OR this may be an opportunity for Brianna to increase Tyrone’s focus on profitability. A discussion on how to improve the gross margin may result in ideas like negotiating a discount with the supplier of his materials or perhaps using a different quality of product being purchased.
  • The greatest short-term concern for Tyrone is the lack of liquidity in the business. He has financed the higher levels of inventory and receivables using short term debt. This results in additional finance charges and, if left unchecked to continue building, could paralyze the business and prevent Clean Slate from continuing its pattern of growth. There are two obvious solutions to improve cash flow. The first is to lower the inventory levels back to forecasted levels (either through returning some of the items currently in inventory or through not replacing the inventory as quickly as it is used). The second solution is to examine the payment terms offered to clients to encourage lower levels of receivables. Based on the type of consulting services offered, Tyrone may not want to offer payment terms to his customers but rather collect payment at the time services are provided.Brianna may want to initiate this discussion by asking Tyrone to identify his greatest concerns and greatest successes that are reflected in the financial statements. This will help him to view the statements as a management tool in the future.
  • Questions that promote dialogue are generally open and do not telegraph the answer to the entrepreneur. Some examples are below:
    • What are you most proud of that is represented in your financial reports?
    • What information surprised you most when you compiled the summary?
    • Where did the business perform differently than planned and why?
    • Based on the financial information, what is the most critical issue you need to address for the business?
    • How will you use what you’ve learned from your financial reports in your planning for next year?

Finding Clues in the Financials – Key Learning Points

Key Learning Points:

  • Reinforce the value of financial reporting. Many entrepreneurs have the misconception that financial reporting is administrative work. Demonstrate the value of financial information as a management tool by sharing the importance of it in your business, emphasizing what was learned during the financial review.
  • Understanding Cash Flow is critical to a new business. Cash is king when it comes to the financial management of a growing company. The lag between the time the entrepreneur has to pay for goods and operating expenses and the time to collect from customers can either be a source of cash for the business or a use of cash. The solution is cash flow management. At its simplest, cash flow management means delaying outlays of cash as long as possible while encouraging anyone who owes you money to pay it as rapidly as possible.
  • Explore the impact of action plans. After reviewing the financial information, your entrepreneur will likely create action plans based on what was learned. As a mentor, you can support the planning process by helping the entrepreneur examine the value of each idea in financial terms. What will a change in margin mean for the business? How will a new accounts receivable policy impact on cash flow?
Business Plan Writer
Check out our FREE interactive Business Plan Writer packed full of tools and templates to help you create this important document
Business Plan Writer
The Role of the Mentor
Understanding Mentoring at Futurpreneur Canada
Presented by BDC
The Role of the Mentor
Business Plan Essentials
A quick overview of what’s needed
Presented by BMO Financial Group
Business Plan Essentials
Cash Flow Template
Get your numbers in line to apply for start up capital!
Cash Flow Template

Études de cas
Études de cas

Étude de cas : Ce que révèlent vos états financiers

Savoir lire vos états financiers peut sauver votre entreprise, vous permettre de meilleurs résultats ou apporter des correctifs rapidement

Indices dans les états financiers

NOTE: afin de bénéficier pleinement de cette étude de cas, voici ce qu’il faut savoir:

  • Objectif et structure des états des résultats et du bilan
  • Éléments de base sur les ratios financiers

Pour revoir ces sujets et mettre à jour vos connaissances sur les états financiers avant de compléter cette étude cas, veuillez consulter www.futurpreneur.ca/fr/.

Portrait de Brianna

L’année a été difficile pour Tyrone. Il l’a passé à travailler à la mise sur pied de son entreprise, appelée Clean Slate, dont la promesse est de pouvoir aider toute famille ou petite entreprise à être mieux organisée. Tyrone commence le processus en passant en revue les besoins de ses clients pour ensuite procéder à la mise en oeuvre d’un plan, qui comprend le dégagement du fouillis, l’ordonnancement de ce qui reste et l’application d’une approche que la famille ou l’entreprise peuvent utiliser pour maintenir l’ordre dans l’avenir. Tyrone est un expert de l’ordre et trouve déjà ses compétences parfaitement négociables.

Clean Slate vend essentiellement les services de Tyrone comme expert-conseil, mais inclut, dans le coût total du client, le matériel qu’il utilise, tel que des fournitures de bureau, des bacs de rangement et de stockage et des agendas. Le travail acharné de Tyrone a vraiment porté ses fruits et les gens semblent avoir besoin de ses services, puisqu’il a développé, dans son marché de Calgary, Alberta, une solide banque de clients.

Au cours de la dernière rencontre de mentorat, Tyrone et Brianna ont discuté du prochain rapport trimestriel. Quand elle a appris que Tyrone avait recueilli l’information financière sur son entreprise qu’il voulait soumettre à Futurpreneur Canada, Brianna lui a offert de jeter un oeil sur les états financiers et de lui fournir ses commentaires.

Tyrone a récemment envoyé ses états financiers à Brianna par courriel. Elle se réjouit de pouvoir passer en revue les finances de Tyrone, d’autant plus que la remise du rapport trimestriel concorde avec la fin de l’année fiscale de l’entreprise. La prochaine réunion de mentorat est extrêmement importante : c’est après cette discussion que Tyrone doit mettre son plan d’affaires à jour et établir ses objectifs financiers pour la prochaine année.

Si Brianna ne possède pas d’antécédents en comptabilité, elle croit être en mesure de poser des questions qui ajouteront de la valeur à la discussion.

L’information financière est présentée plus bas:

En date du : Exercice en cours Prochain exercice
30 juin 201X Réel Projeté Écart Projeté
Bilan
Liquidités 326$ 2,000 $ (1,674 $) -$
Inventaire 7,222 $ 5,000 $ 2,222 $ -$
Comptes débiteurs 3,638 $ 3,638 $ – $
Actif à court terme 11,186 $ 7,000 $ 4,186 $ – $
Équipement 2,238 $ 2,500 $ (262 $) – $
Autres actifs
Total de l’actif 13,424 $ 9,500 $ 3,924 $ – $
Passif à court terme 3,687 $ 500 $ 3,187 $ – $
Passif à long terme 8,328 $ 8,500 $ (172 $)
Capitaux propres 500 $ 500 $
Total du passif et des capitaux propres 12,515 $ 9,500 $ 3,015 $
État des résultats
Revenu 49,654 $ 45,000 $ 4,654 $
Coût des produits vendus 7,289 $ 4,500 $ (2,789 $)
Marge brute 42,365 $ 40,500 $ 1,865 $
Expenses
Salaires 25,000 $ 25,000 $
Loyer/locaux
Frais de déplacement 1,722 $ 1,000 $ (722 $)
Frais de bureau 62 $ 200 $ 138 $
Intérêts/frais 2,451 $ 2,250 $ (201 $)
Autres dépenses
Total des dépenses 29,235 $ 28,450 $ (785 $)
Revenu net 13,130 $ 12,050 $ 1,080 $
Flux net de trésorerie
Ratios financiers
Marge brute 85.32% 90%
Le prix des produits que vous vendez est-il adéquat?
Marge nette 26.44% 26.78%
Votre entreprise connaît-elle un niveau de rentabilité adéquat?
Délai de recouvrement 27
Recouvrez-vous vos revenus en temps opportun?
Ratio de liquidité relative 107.50% 400%
Votre entreprise possède-t-elle suffisamment de liquidités?
Rotation des stocks 0.5 0.45
Vos stocks sont-ils trop élevés?

Questions :

  • Quelles sont les omissions ou les erreurs évidentes dans l’information financière et que Brianna devrait soulever lors sa prochaine rencontre avec Tyrone?
  • Quel impact potentiel peuvent avoir un inventaire et des comptes recevables plus élevés que prévu sur l’entreprise?
  • Considérez la marge brute de l’entreprise. Si Tyrone avait été capable d’atteindre la marge visée de 90 %, quel impact cela aurait-il pu avoir sur la profitabilité?
  • Quelle est la plus importante préoccupation à court terme de Tyrone, en ce qui a trait à son entreprise? Quelles sont les solutions possibles?
  • Quelles sont les trois questions que Brianna pourrait poser durant la discussion, pour encourager le dialogue autour des états financiers?

Indices dans les états financiers – Solutions pour l’adoption de meilleures pratiques

Solutions pour l’adoption de meilleures pratiques :

  • La balance des comptes n’est pas établie dans le bilan présenté, étant donné que le total de l’actif est plus important que le total des dettes. De plus, il n’y a pas d’information sur les mouvements de trésorerie nets dans le sommaire. Si Tyrone a de la difficulté à préparer ses propres états financiers, cela peut faire l’objet d’un processus de développement personnel ciblé ou être l’occasion de faire appel à un autre conseiller (rémunéré ou bénévole) qui comprend les états financiers.
  • Supporter de plus hauts niveaux d’inventaire et de comptes recevables réduit les liquidités de l’entreprise. Un décroissement des liquidités aura éventuellement pour conséquence d’emprunter à partir du budget d’exploitation et peut engendrer des frais, des intérêts et l’incapacité de faire face à une crise. Il apparaît que, selon ce qui est porté aux dépenses sous la rubrique « Coût des produits vendus » dans les états financiers, l’entreprise a un inventaire suffisant (présenté comme un actif) pour assurer les opérations de l’entreprise pendant un an. Cela semble excessif et Brianna souhaite peut être aider Tyrone à mieux comprendre les conséquences potentielles inhérentes à un surplus de produits.
  • La marge brute permet de mesurer la portion des revenus qui est dépensée sur les produits et services. Dans le cas de Tyrone, il avait planifié, à l’origine, 90 % de marge brute, ce qui révèle que la majeure partie de ses revenus provient de sa contribution personnelle, un petit montant d’argent étant dépensé sur les fournitures organisationnelles et le matériel.Si Tyrone avait été en mesure d’atteindre son objectif de 90 %, la marge brute aurait représenté 44 689 $ (49 654 $ bénéfice x .9 marge brute), un total additionnel de 2 324 $ sur le profit.La marge de profit a peut-être été établie trop haut OU cela peut être une occasion pour Brianna d’attirer l’attention de Tyrone sur la profitabilité. Une discussion portant sur la marge brute pourrait permettre l’expression de certaines idées, comme négocier un rabais avec son fournisseur ou, peut-être, utiliser du matériel de différente qualité.
  • La plus importante préoccupation à court terme, pour Tyrone, est le manque de liquidités de l’entreprise. Il a lui-même financé l’inventaire et les comptes recevables en utilisant des dettes à court terme. Cela a engendré des charges financières additionnelles et, si elles ne sont pas contrôlées et qu’elles continuent de croître, elles pourraient paralyser l’entreprise et empêcher Clean Slate de poursuivre sa croissance. Deux solutions évidentes peuvent améliorer les liquidités. La première est de ramener l’inventaire au niveau des prévisions (soit en retournant certains produits ou en ne remplaçant pas les produits aussitôt qu’ils sont utilisés). La deuxième solution est d’examiner les conditions de paiement offertes aux clients, de façon à réduire le niveau de comptes recevables. étant donné le type de services offerts, Tyrone ne souhaite peut-être pas proposer des modalités de paiement à ses clients, mais demander qu’on le paie au moment où les services sont fournis.Brianna veut peut-être initier la discussion en demandant à Tyrone d’identifier les plus importantes préoccupations et les plus grands succès qui se reflètent dans les états financiers. Cela pourra aider Tyrone à considérer ses états financiers comme un outil de gestion, dans l’avenir.
  • Les questions qui peuvent susciter le dialogue sont généralement ouvertes et ne sont pas formulées de façon à donner la réponse à l’entrepreneur. En voici quelques exemples:
  • De quoi êtes-vous le plus fier et qui paraît, dans vos états financiers?
  • Quelle information vous surprend le plus lorsque vous compilez les données du sommaire?
  • En quoi l’entreprise a-t-elle connu une performance différente de celle qui était planifiée et pourquoi?
  • En se basant sur l’information financière, quel est le plus important enjeu que vous devez prendre en considération pour l’entreprise?
  • Comment allez-vous utiliser ce que vos états financiers vous ont appris lors de votre planification de l’année prochaine?

Indices dans les états financiers – Points-clés à retenir

Points-clés à retenir :

  • Renforcez la valeur des rapports financiers.Plusieurs entrepreneurs développent l’idée fausse que les rapports financiers représentent des tâches administratives. Faites la démonstration de la valeur de l’information financière comme outil de gestion, en partageant l’importance que cela représente pour votre entreprise et en mettant l’emphase sur ce qui a été appris durant la revue des états financiers.
  • Comprendre les mouvements de trésorerie est essentiel lorsqu’on lance une nouvelle entreprise. L’argent est roi quand il s’agit de la gestion financière d’une entreprise en croissance. Le décalage entre le moment où l’entrepreneur doit payer pour les produits et les dépenses d’exploitation et celui où il reçoit le paiement de ses clients peut être une source de revenus ou de dépenses pour l’entreprise. La solution réside dans la gestion des mouvements de trésorerie. Cela signifie simplement qu’il faut retarder les sorties d’argent le plus possible et encourager ceux qui vous en doivent à payer le plus rapidement possible.
  • Explorez l’impact des plans d’action. Après avoir révisé l’information financière, l’entrepreneur souhaitera élaborer des plans d’action, en fonction de ce qu’il aura appris. Comme mentor, vous pouvez encourager le processus de planification en proposant d’examiner la valeur de chacune des données sur le plan financier. Que signifie, pour l’entreprise, un changement de la marge brute? Comment l’application d’une nouvelle politique en matière des comptes recevables aura-t-elle un impact sur les liquidités?
Rédacteur de plans d’affaires
Consultez notre Rédacteur de plan d’affaires, un outil dynamique et GRATUIT qui contient une foule de modèles et de ressources pour vous aider à rédiger cet important document
Rédacteur de plans d’affaires
Fondation à la construction d’une présentation d’entreprise
Présenté par Spin Master
Fondation à la construction d’une présentation d’entreprise
Les incontournables du plan d’affaires
Un survol des éléments nécessaire
Présenté par BMO Groupe financier
Les incontournables du plan d’affaires
Modèle de présentations d’états financiers
Déchiffrez vos flux de trésorerie pour mieux présenter une demande de financement en capital de démarrage
Modèle de présentations d’états financiers