David Stewart-Patterson

Vice-President, Corporate and Public Affairs

David Stewart-Patterson

David Stewart-Patterson is Vice-President, Corporate and Public Affairs, for Canada’s foremost independent and not-for-profit applied research organization, The Conference Board of Canada (CBoC). With close to 200 employees, CBoC is non-partisan and funded exclusively by the fees it charges for services to public and private sector clients. CBoC is affiliated with but independent from The Conference Board, Inc. of New York. David is responsible for 15 research centres and executive networks that address issues ranging from national security and Canada’s North to health care, energy, environment and innovation.

David joined the Conference Board in 2011 after 15 years at the Canadian Council of Chief Executives (CCCE), the last seven as its Executive Vice President. The CCCE’s members are the CEOs of 150 of Canada’s largest private-sector enterprises, and David led the organization’s policy development and advocacy across a broad range of national and international issues.

David’s first career was in business journalism. A graduate of Carleton University’s School of Journalism in Ottawa, David has written three books and worked as a reporter, editor and senior manager in print and broadcast media. He has held positions including Parliamentary correspondent for The Globe and Mail and business anchor for the country’s top television morning show, the CTV network’s Canada AM.

A bilingual native of Montreal, David also is a passionate volunteer on behalf of young entrepreneurs. He serves as Vice Chair of Futurpreneur Canada, which provides financing and mentoring that support more than 600 start-ups a year across Canada. He also is a representative director on the Board of Trustees of The Prince’s Youth Business International in the United Kingdom.

David Stewart-Patterson

Vice-président,  Politique publique

David Stewart-Patterson

David Stewart-Patterson est vice-président, Politique publique, au Conference Board du Canada (CBdC), l’organisme de recherche appliquée indépendant et sans but lucratif le plus en vue au pays. Comptant près de 200 employés, le CBdC est non partisan et financé exclusivement par les frais demandés à ses clients des secteurs public et privé, en échange de ses services. Le CBdC est affilié au Conference Board Inc., de New York, mais demeure indépendant. M. Stewart-Patterson a, sous sa responsabilité, 15 centres de recherche et réseaux de chefs d’entreprise, qui abordent de nombreux enjeux, qu’il s’agisse de sécurité nationale ou du Nord canadien, de soins de santé, d’énergie, d’environnement ou d’innovation.

David Stewart Patterson s’est joint au Conference Board en 2011, après avoir passé 15 ans au Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise (CCCE), dont sept à titre de vice-président exécutif. Les membres du CCCE sont à la tête des 150 plus grandes entreprises du secteur privé au Canada. M. Stewart-Patterson a dirigé l’élaboration des politiques de l’organisation et la défense d’un large éventail de questions nationales et internationales.

David Stewart-Patterson a fait ses premières armes comme journaliste économique. Diplômé de l’École de journalisme de l’Université de Carleton, il a écrit trois ouvrages et travaillé comme reporteur, éditeur et cadre supérieur dans le secteur des médias écrits et électroniques, où il a notamment occupé le poste de correspondant parlementaire pour le magazine Report on Business du Globe and Mail et celui de présentateur des nouvelles économiques, dans le cadre de l’émission Canada AM, diffusée sur les ondes de CTV.

Né à Montréal, M. Stewart-Patterson s’exprime couramment dans les deux langues officielles. Bénévole passionné et dévoué, il siège comme vice-président au conseil d’administration de Futurpreneur Canada, laquelle fournit du financement et du mentorat qui soutiennent plus de 600 nouvelles entreprises chaque année. David Stewart-Patterson est également administrateur délégué au conseil du réseau Youth Business International, mis sur pied par SAR Charles de Galles, au Royaume-Uni.