Browse all stories by:

Alto Collective

Kevin Alto of Alto Collective. / Kevin Alto, d'Alto Collective.
  • Owner:

    Kevin Alto

  • Jobs Created:

    2

  • Inception:

    2013

  • Mentor:

    Richard Holbrook

  • Industry:

    Manufacturing

  • Location:

    Calgary, Alberta

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Alto Longboards was started by two brothers who have an undeniable knack for designing and manufacturing a vast variety of unique and functional wood products. The Alto Longboard offers a wide array of hand crafted products, from high performance wood longboards, durable wood phone cases, natural acoustic wood phone docks, to household items such as cutting boards, coasters and more.

My Story

Seeing a Need

A few years ago, Kevin and his brother were looking to buy their first longboard. Their search ended fruitlessly when they realized that no one currently offered the type of boards that they wanted. This moment inspired them to begin building their own, to their own specifications and standards.

They began building and testing, and rebuilding until they mastered their skills to achieve a board that they could truly be satisfied with. That board became the first product that they felt comfortable letting people buy and use in their lives. While they believe there will always be room for improvement, they realized when they got there that they now had the woodworking skills and problem-solving confidence to build just about anything they put their minds to.

Advice

Don’t wait. If you have an idea, find ways to start testing it. Starting a business might seem daunting, so break down your idea and find small, less intimidating ways to test it. Learn as much as possible. This will help you decide whether to start a business with that idea, or a portion of that idea, or to try an entirely different idea altogether.”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Alto Collective

Kevin Alto of Alto Collective. / Kevin Alto, d'Alto Collective.
  • Propriétaire :

    Kevin Alto

  • Emplois créés :

    2

  • Fondation :

    2013

  • Mentor :

    Richard Holbrook

  • Industrie :

    Fabrication

  • Emplacement :

    Calgary, Alberta

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Alto Longboards a été lancée par deux frères qui ont un talent indéniable pour la conception et la fabrication de produits de bois fonctionnels et uniques. Alto Longboards offre un vaste éventail de produits fabriqués à la main, tels que des planches de parc de haut niveau, des étuis pour téléphones en bois durables, des cabines téléphoniques à acoustique naturelle, en passant par des produits domestiques, tels que des planches à découper, des sous-verres, et plus.

Mon parcours

L’identification du besoin

Il y a quelques années, Kevin et son frère voulaient se procurer leur première planche de parc. Leur recherche s’est avérée vaine et ils ont constaté que personne n’offrait le type de produit qu’ils souhaitaient. C’est ainsi qu’ils ont eu l’idée de créer le leur, selon leurs propres spécifications et standards.

Ils ont donc commencé à fabriquer, à tester et à recommencer, jusqu’à ce qu’ils maîtrisent suffisamment leurs compétences pour fabriquer une planche de parc qui les satisferait pleinement. Cette planche est devenue le premier produit qu’ils ont accepté de vendre et que leurs clients ont pu utiliser. Malgré le fait qu’il existera toujours des possibilités d’amélioration, ils ont su qu’ils y étaient arrivés, après avoir compris qu’ils détenaient désormais un savoir-faire dans le travail du bois et la résolution de problèmes, et qu’ils pourraient fabriquer n’importe quoi, à condition de le vouloir vraiment.

Conseil

«N’attendez pas. Si vous avez une idée, tentez de la mettre à l’essai. Lancer une entreprise peut sembler intimidant, alors divisez votre idée de façon à trouver des moyens plus modestes de la tester. Apprenez le plus possible. Cela vous aidera à déterminer si vous lancez une entreprise à partir de cette idée-là, d’une portion de cette idée ou d’une toute autre idée. »