Browse all stories by:

CHAR Technologies

Andrew White of Char Technologies. / Andrew White, de Char Technologies.
  • Owner:

    Andrew White

  • Jobs Created:

    1

  • Inception:

    2011

  • Mentor:

    Ghalib Habib

  • Industry:

    Manufacturing

  • Location:

    Toronto, Ontario

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Char Technologies produces SulfaCHAR (Activated Bio- Carbon), which is similar to the Activated Carbon you would find in a Brita Filter.

Their SulfaCHAR is produced from the biosolids left over from Bio-Energy plants and is used to clean contaminants out of renewable natural gas (which is produced from landfills or organic waste, and can be used to create electricity). SulfaCHAR not only removes the contaminants, but converts them into a useful product which has further applications in the agricultural sector, creating a truly zero-waste solution.

My Story

An innovative school project

As part of Andrew’s undergraduate degree he worked for 16 months at Ontario Power Generation and quickly realized that working in a large organization wasn’t for him. During his MASc degree, he developed and became very passionate about a very promising technology. Andrew hardly questioned the idea to continue on with the technology as he started his own company and commercialized the technology.

He completed his MASc degree in August, and the next month was enrolled in the MBET program at the University of Waterloo. The MBET program is an accelerated eight-month business program focused on entrepreneurship. It was the perfect fit for someone like Andrew who already had the technology but needed a crash-course in business and entrepreneurship. It was during this program that CHAR Technologies was officially started.

“I love being an entrepreneur because I can wake up every morning and work on something that I am passionate about,” says Andrew. He is on an extremely steep and challenging learning curve which he also loves. “I feel a great deal of satisfaction that what I’ve done, and am doing, is meaningful and not just paper-pushing.

It’s scary and exciting all at once and I’m loving it,” explained Andrew.

Advice

Go for it! Now is the time to try; when you have the energy, the motivation, less responsibility; and if not now, then when? ”

CHAR Technologies

Andrew White of Char Technologies. / Andrew White, de Char Technologies.
  • Propriétaire :

    Andrew White

  • Emplois créés :

    1

  • Fondation :

    2011

  • Mentor :

    Ghalib Habib

  • Industrie :

    Fabrication

  • Emplacement :

    Toronto, Ontario

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Char Technologies produit le SulfaCHAR (biocarbone activé), semblable au charbon actif que vous pourriez trouver dans un filtre Brita. Son SulfaCHAR est obtenu à partir de biosolides issus de plantes bioénergétiques et sert à retirer les contaminants du gaz naturel renouvelable (lequel provient des sites d’enfouissement ou de déchets organiques et peut être utilisé pour fabriquer de l’électricité). SulfaCHAR ne se contente pas de retirer les contaminants, il les convertit en un produit utile qui peut remplir différentes fonctions dans le secteur de l’agriculture, devenant véritablement une solution zéro-déchet.

Mon parcours

Un projet scolaire novateur

Dans le cadre de ses études de premier cycle, Andrew a travaillé pendant 16 mois pour l’Ontario Power Generation et s’est rapidement aperçu que le fait de travailler dans une grande organisation ne lui convenait pas. Pendant sa maîtrise en sciences appliquées, il a mis au point une technologie très prometteuse, qui a éveillé en lui une véritable passion. Andrew n’a pas hésité à pousser plus loin cette technologie et à lancer sa propre entreprise afin de la commercialiser.

Après avoir terminé sa maîtrise au mois d’août, il s’est inscrit dès le mois de septembre au programme de maîtrise en administration des affaires – entrepreneuriat technologique, à l’Université de Waterloo. Ce programme accéléré, d’une durée de huit mois, est principalement axé sur l’entrepreneuriat. Il convenait donc parfaitement à Andrew, qui possédait déjà la connaissance en technologie, mais avait besoin d’un cours intensif en administration et en entrepreneuriat. C’est pendant ce programme que CHAR Technologies a officiellement été lancée.

« J’aime beaucoup être entrepreneur parce que chaque jour, je me lève dans la perspective de travailler sur quelque chose qui me passionne », explique Andrew. Sa courbe d’apprentissage est extrêmement abrupte, ce qu’il apprécie tout autant. « Je ressens une grande satisfaction du fait de savoir que ce que j’accomplis est utile et qu’il ne s’agit pas seulement d’une production intempestive de documents. C’est à la fois stimulant et affolant et j’adore ça! »

Conseil

«« Lancez-vous! C’est maintenant le temps d’essayer : vous avez l’énergie, la motivation et moins de responsabilités; et si ce n’est pas maintenant, ce sera quand? » »