Browse all stories by:

Exigence Technologies Inc.

Zach Wolff of Exigence Technologies Inc. / Zach Wolff, d'Exigence Technologies inc.
Business Profile

Exigence Technologies Inc. has licensed the most advanced antimicrobial compound that can be applied to textiles and utilized in laundering garments in the healthcare and hospitality industries to reduce the spread of infection.

My Story

Developed by the University of Manitoba, the compound is a coating that, when applied to textiles, actively fights bacteria growth to prevent the spread of infections and is then ‘recharged’ when laundered. It works faster, is safer, and does not allow microbial resistance so surfaces remain bacteria-free even after exposure.

Currently, the company is in the process of pursuing different routes for commercialization of the product. As most hospitals in major cities tend to outsource laundering to one or two commercial laundering facilities, a possible application of the compound is to integrate the product and services into what is already being done.

Zach Wolff commented on the amount of time and commitment required to take a great idea and make it viable: “I thought having a world-leading idea would be close to all we needed, but the road to where we are now involved great investment on behalf of the University, the inventor, business development team, and scientists to ensure we could take the idea to market.”

He continued to say, “It’s exciting that this is an invention founded in Manitoba and will be brought to market by Manitobans. This is a business friendly region and there is huge support for start-ups.”

When asked how Futurpreneur Canada has supported him so far, Zach said, “Futurpreneur Canada provided me with contacts, advice, and mentorship that would have been very onerous and time consuming to get on my own.”

Advice

Don’t wait – if you feel like it, take the chance because as a young entrepreneur now is the time to make mistakes and learn from them. Also, I recommend finding a mentor as people are happy to help and give back.”

Exigence Technologies Inc.

Zach Wolff of Exigence Technologies Inc. / Zach Wolff, d'Exigence Technologies inc.
  • Propriétaire :

    Zach Wolff

  • Emplois créés :

    1

  • Fondation :

    2013

  • Mentor :

  • Industrie :

    Autre

  • Emplacement :

    Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Exigence Technologies Inc. a fait breveter le composé antimicrobien le plus avancé, lequel peut être appliqué aux textiles et utilisé dans le blanchissage des vêtements du personnel du secteur de la santé et de l’industrie du tourisme d’accueil, en vue de réduire la propagation des infections.

Mon parcours

Mis au point à l’Université du Manitoba, ce composé combat activement les bactéries lorsqu’il est appliqué sur des textiles et réactivé lors du blanchissage, prévenant ainsi la propagation des infections. Efficace et sécuritaire, il empêche toute résistance microbienne, rendant les surfaces libres de bactéries, même après y avoir été exposées.

À l’heure actuelle, l’entreprise considère différentes méthodes de commercialisation du produit. La plupart des hôpitaux des grandes villes ont tendance à confier le blanchissage en sous-traitance à une ou deux installations commerciales. Il pourrait donc être d’intégrer le composé dans le processus déjà existant.

Sur le temps et l’engagement nécessaires pour faire d’une bonne idée une entreprise viable, Zach Wolff explique ce qui suit : « Je pensais qu’une idée avant-gardiste représentait presque tout ce dont nous avions besoin mais, pour nous assurer de commercialiser l’idée, la voie que nous avons dû emprunter requiert d’importants investissements au nom de l’Université, de l’inventeur, de l’équipe de développement des affaires et des scientifiques. »

Il poursuit en disant : « Nous sommes heureux que cette invention ait été mise au point au Manitoba et commercialisée par des Manitobains. La région est favorable aux affaires et elle accorde un solide appui aux entreprises en démarrage. »

Lorsqu’on demande à Zach comment Futurpreneur Canada a soutenu l’entreprise jusqu’à maintenant, il répond : « Futurpreneur Canada m’a offert des contacts, des conseils et du mentorat. Obtenir tous ces avantages par moi-même aurait été très dispendieux et très long. »

Conseil

«« N’attendez pas – si c’est ce que vous souhaitez, saisissez l’occasion. C’est pendant qu’ils sont jeunes que le moment de faire des erreurs et d’apprendre est le plus propice pour les entrepreneurs. De plus, je vous recommande de trouver un mentor. Les gens sont heureux d’aider et de faire des suggestions. » »