Browse all stories by:

Linda Garson

Linda Garson
  • Mentored:

    Bryan Shopka, owner of Douglas Square Physiotherapy Centre

  • Date Matched:

    2007

  • Location:

    Calgary , Alberta

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Linda Garson is the owner of GDA Marketing, a full service design and marketing agency. Founded in 1978, GDA marketing specializes in creative commercial communications, and has worked with several clients for almost 20 years. Her firm has invested heavily in technology, along with the time and training necessary to put it to advantage, to run an efficient and tightly-administered business.

My Story

Guiding a young entrepreneur along the path to success. Linda Garson first became involved with Futurpreneur Canada when she sat next to a volunteer at a marketing luncheon in Calgary. After hearing about what Futurpreneur Canada does as an organization, Linda asked how she could get involved, and signed up to be a mentor.

With thirty years working in the business world, Linda was glad to pass on any advice, support and encouragement she could to her award-winning entrepreneur Bryan Shopka, who had the drive and the practical background needed to open his own physiotherapy centre, but not the business experience necessary to become a success.

“Obstacles are meant to be overcome, so as someone outside of (Bryan’s) business, I can be objective and draw upon years of experience to suggest alternatives that could help solve a problem or smooth a path.” Linda says she’s grateful for the opportunity to help someone succeed who deserves to do well, adding Bryan’s work ethic and determination will undoubtedly help him expand his already successful practice.

Advice

A mentor can help firstly by understanding and examining goals, and by making sure they are the right goals for the business, then by suggesting way that could help the entrepreneur reach those goals. What are all our years of experience worth if we can’t make use of them and pass some of what we have learned on to the next generation?”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Linda Garson

Linda Garson
  • Mentoré/ mentorée :

    Bryan Shopka, propietaire de Douglas Square Physiotherapy Centre

  • Date du jumelage :

    2007

  • Emplacement :

    Calgary, Alberta

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Linda Garson est propriétaire de GDA Marketing, une agence de conception et de marketing à service complet. Fondée en 1998, GDA Marketing se spécialise dans les communications commerciales créatives et travaille avec différents clients depuis près de 20 ans. Son entreprise a beaucoup investi dans la technologie et dans le temps et la formation nécessaires pour en tirer profit, faisant de l’agence une entreprise efficiente, rigoureusement administrée.

Mon parcours

Guider un jeune entrepreneur sur la voie du succès.

L’intérêt de Linda Garson pour Futurpreneur Canada a été éveillé alors qu’elle se trouvait à la même table qu’un bénévole de l’organisation, à l’occasion d’un déjeuner-rencontre, à Calgary. Après avoir découvert la mission de Futurpreneur Canada, elle a demandé comment elle pourrait y contribuer et a offert ses services comme mentor.

Après avoir travaillé pendant trente ans dans le monde des affaires, Linda Garson était heureuse de transmettre ses conseils et de manifester appui et encouragement à Bryan Shopka. Entrepreneur primé, doté de la motivation et des acquis nécessaires pour ouvrir son centre de physiothérapie, Bryan manquait d’expérience en affaires pour en assurer le succès.

« Les obstacles sont faits pour être surmontés et, comme je me trouve à l’extérieur de l’entreprise, je peux faire preuve d’objectivité et miser sur mes années d’expérience pour suggérer des solutions qui peuvent contribuer à régler un problème ou à rendre un parcours plus aisé. »

Linda Garson mentionne qu’elle est très reconnaissante de l’occasion qui lui a été donnée d’aider quelqu’un qui le mérite à réussir, ajoutant que l’éthique de travail et la détermination de Bryan contribueront sans aucun doute à élargir sa pratique, déjà couronnée de succès.

Conseil

«« Un mentor peut d’abord aider en comprenant et en examinant les objectifs afin de s’assurer qu’ils sont bien adaptés à l’entreprise, puis en suggérant des moyens qui pourraient aider l’entrepreneur à atteindre ces buts. Que valent toutes ces années d’expérience, si nous ne pouvons les mettre à profit et communiquer un peu de ce que nous avons appris à la prochaine génération? » »