Browse all stories by:

Neechie Gear

  • Owner:

    Kendal Netmaker

  • Jobs Created:

    4

  • Inception:

    2010

  • Mentor:

    Denis Prud'homme

  • Industry:

    Fashion/Clothing Design

  • Location:

    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Neechie Gear is a purpose-driven clothing company with an aim to support young athletes and foster a love of sport.  It is more than just clothing, it’s about ‘changing the world one t-shirt at a time.’

My Story

The Canadian brand with a social conscience

Kendal Netmaker grew up on Sweetgrass First Nation, Saskatchewan and had little opportunity to be involved in any extra-curricular activities as a youth, until one pivotal day where his friend’s family reached out to provide the necessary support. This allowed Kendal to be part of many sports teams and continue with his education.

Kendal created the clothing company, Neechie Gear, when he was a student at the University of Saskatchewan. He understood then the value of creating a socially branded clothing line that gives back to youth in communities by encouraging and supporting participation in sport. As a tribute to his past, and with the assistance of world renowned Aboriginal author, Neal Mcleod, the term Neechie was ‘born’ – it is a slang form of "my friend" in the Plains Cree language.

The Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan Inc. connected Kendal with the Futurpreneur Canada, where he received financing, mentoring and business resources. Futurpreneur Canada matched Kendal with Futurpreneur mentor Denis Prud'homme who provides advice and support to help the young entrepreneur run his business.

For Kendal, being an entrepreneur “has enabled me to create my own path as opposed to being limited by working for someone else. Just being able to witness people wearing and appreciating our clothing and the social aspects we support is so powerful,” explained Kendal.

Advice

Having my Futurpreneur Canada mentor, Denis Prud'homme, has been instrumental for motivating me to do the best that I can, especially when decision making can be extremely risky. ”

Parcourir les histoires par:

Neechie Gear

Kendal Netmaker of Neechie Gear. / Kendal Netmaker, de Neechie Gear.
  • Propriétaire :

    Kendal Netmaker

  • Emplois créés :

    4

  • Fondation :

    2010

  • Mentor :

    Denis Prud'homme

  • Industrie :

  • Emplacement :

    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Neechie Gear est une entreprise de vêtements aux objectifs bien définis : soutenir les jeunes athlètes et insuffler l’amour du sport. L’entreprise ne se contente pas de créer des vêtements, elle a pour but de « changer le monde, un tee-shirt à la fois ».

Mon parcours

Une marque canadienne avec une conscience sociale

Kendal Netmaker a grandi au sein de la bande de Sweetgrass, en Saskatchewan. Il n’avait jamais eu la possibilité de participer à des activités parascolaires avant cette journée charnière, où la famille d’un ami a décidé de lui fournir l’appui dont il avait besoin, lui permettant ainsi de faire partie de plusieurs équipes sportives et de poursuivre ses études.

Kendal a créé Neechie Gear alors qu’il étudiait à l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Il avait compris qu’une gamme de vêtements socialement responsable peut avoir beaucoup de valeur lorsqu’elle permet de redonner aux jeunes des communautés autochtones, en encourageant et en soutenant leur participation dans le sport. C’est pour rendre hommage à ses origines que Kendal, aidé du célèbre auteur autochtone Neil Mcleod, a choisi pour son entreprise le terme Neechie, qui signifie « mon ami », en argot des Cris‑des‑Plaines.

L’organisme Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan Inc. a mis Kendal en contact avec Futurpreneur Canada, laquelle lui a accordé du financement, du mentorat et des ressources et l’a jumelé avec Denis Prud’homme qui, à titre de mentor, lui offre ses conseils et de l’encouragement pour l’aider à exploiter son entreprise.

« Être entrepreneur m’a permis de créer mon propre parcours, au lieu de me voir imposer des limites en travaillant pour quelqu’un d’autre, explique Kendal. Le seul fait de constater que des gens portent et apprécient nos vêtements et les aspects sociaux que nous soutenons est extrêmement stimulant.

Conseil

«« Futurpreneur Canada m’a permis d’ouvrir des portes qu’il m’aurait été impossible de franchir, sans son appui. Je pense que tous les jeunes entrepreneurs devraient profiter du financement et des ressources qu’elle met à leur disposition. » »