Browse all stories by:

Notetracks

Kamlesh Lal of Notetracks. / Kamlesh Lal, de Notetracks.
  • Owner:

    Kamlesh Lal

  • Jobs Created:

    4

  • Inception:

    2014

  • Mentor:

  • Industry:

    Computer/Software Applications

  • Location:

    Montreal, Quebec

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Notetracks is an iOS application designed for audio and music students and professionals to take descriptive notes of audio content while simultaneously listening to the audio track.

My Story

Kamlesh has always had two passions – technology and music. In university, he graduated with a major in computer science and a minor in music studies. It was during his music classes where he experienced a problem that would eventually form the basis for Notetracks. When learning about a particular aspect of theory or honing in on a specific bar of music, his professors would often play a piece of music to the class or, less often, would show a video of the wave form of the music to illustrate the lesson. As a student, Kamlesh realized that the notes he took during the course never fully captured the essence of what he heard or saw – he had to rely on memory.

He developed Notetracks to allow anyone to take notes with audio by combining audio, video, and text in one application. Users can focus in on different parts of music, pause, make notes, and then share the file with others who can then contribute their thoughts.

“Futurpreneur Canada believed in the innovative project I’ve developed and has now given me the tools necessary to turn it into a business,” said Kamlesh. As the sole partner of the venture, he is often faced with the challenge of working and addressing problems alone. The Futurpreneur Canada program has provided him with a mentor, who Kamlesh said, “has shared his knowledge and experiences that have helped me to overcome obstacles and achieve my goals. He is there to follow-up on my progress and assist in times of need, which is a huge motivation and makes me feel part of the larger entrepreneurial community.”

Advice

Stick to the field you are passionate about. Your expertise and experience will give you an upper hand on your competition, allowing you to build a better product. Passion will also keep you motivated even when you experience or struggle through failures.”

Notetracks

Kamlesh Lal of Notetracks. / Kamlesh Lal, de Notetracks.
  • Propriétaire :

    Kamlesh Lal

  • Emplois créés :

    4

  • Fondation :

    2014

  • Mentor :

  • Industrie :

    Informatique/Logiciel/ Applications

  • Emplacement :

    Montreal, Québec

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Notetracks est une application iOS qui permet aux étudiants et aux professionnels de la musique et de l’audio de prendre des notes descriptives sur le contenu, en écoutant simultanément la piste audio.

Mon parcours

Kamlesh a toujours eu deux passions : la technologie et la musique. Son diplôme universitaire comprend une majeure en science informatique et une mineure en musique. C’est pendant ses cours de musique qu’il a éprouvé des difficultés qui ont fini par donner naissance à Notetracks. En effet, pendant son apprentissage d’un aspect de la théorie musicale ou d’un passage particulier dans une œuvre, ses professeurs jouaient ou, plus rarement, présentaient une vidéo des ondes musicales, pour illustrer la matière. Kamlesh a réalisé que les notes prises pendant le cours n’arrivaient pas à saisir l’essence de ce qu’il avait vu ou entendu. Il devait compter sur sa mémoire.

Il a alors mis au point Notetracks, une application qui regroupe l’audio, la vidéo et le texte et permet à tous de prendre des notes. Les utilisateurs peuvent se concentrer sur différentes parties de la musique, faire une pause, noter du contenu et partager le fichier avec d’autres personnes qui, à leur tour, pourront l’enrichir de leurs réflexions.

« Futurpreneur Canada a cru au projet innovateur que j’imaginais et me donne maintenant les outils nécessaires pour en faire une entreprise », dit Kamlesh. À titre de propriétaire individuel de Notetracks, il est souvent confronté au défi de ne pouvoir compter que sur lui-même pour travailler et relever les défis. Le programme de Futurpreneur Canada lui a permis de bénéficier des services d’un mentor qui, selon Kamlesh, « m’a transmis ses connaissances et ses expériences afin de m’aider à surmonter les obstacles et à atteindre mes objectifs. Il est là pour suivre mes progrès et m’apporter son soutien en cas de besoin, ce qui est un grand facteur de motivation. J’ai le sentiment de faire partie d’une communauté entrepreneuriale plus importante. »

Conseil

«« Restez dans le domaine qui vous passionne. Votre expertise et votre expérience vous donneront une longueur d’avance sur la concurrence, ce qui vous permettra d’offrir un meilleur produit. La passion maintiendra votre motivation, même lors de difficultés ou d’échecs. » »