Browse all stories by:

Paintlounge

Samantha Chan of Paintlounge. / Samantha Chan, de Paintlounge.
  • Owner:

    Samantha Chan

  • Jobs Created:

    4

  • Inception:

    2010

  • Mentor:

    Lawrence Mitchell

  • Industry:

    Service

  • Location:

    Toronto, Ontario

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Paintlounge provides a fun social painting space for customers of all ages – giving them free-flowing access to paints and supplies, a canvas, and knowledgeable staff to get them started. Go freestyle, explore your inner Picasso, grab a drink from their cafe, and have fun! With a location in Markham, and newly opened space in Toronto, Paintlounge is the perfect social setting to be creative alone, with friends, on a date or when throwing a party.

My Story

Taking the leap into entrepreneurship

From banking to painting, Samantha Chan took a big step by leaving her salaried job with Citigroup to pursue her passion for the arts, but the marketing and accounting skills she learned during her banking career have been valuable assets to the success of her business. Samantha credits her grandfather with inspiring her move into entrepreneurship with his risk-taking, independence and passion about his work.

YMCA Business Centre connected Samantha to the Futurpreneur Canada where she received financing, mentoring and business resources and was able to build a solid foundation for Paintlounge to thrive. She was matched with mentor Lawrence Mitchell who provided valuable advice to help her start and successfully grow her business.

“A large corporation does not allow you to be fully submerged into every part of a business. As a business owner, I am directly exposed to every problem in each process of the business, and am responsible for developing solutions in order to solve these problems. This allows me to learn quickly from mistakes and make better and more informed decisions,” explained Samantha. The ability to grow within a business is what attracted Samantha to the entrepreneurial world.

Advice

My Futurpreneur Canada mentor helped me deal with the emotional stress of starting a business, something that was vital to overcome in order to get to where I am today”

Paintlounge

Samantha Chan of Paintlounge. / Samantha Chan, de Paintlounge.
  • Propriétaire :

    Samantha Chan

  • Emplois créés :

    4

  • Fondation :

    2010

  • Mentor :

    Lawrence Mitchell

  • Industrie :

    Services

  • Emplacement :

    Toronto, Ontario

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Paintlounge fournit un cadre social agréable, où les clients de tous âges peuvent s’adonner à la peinture, en ayant accès librement à des fournitures d’artiste, un canevas et du personnel compétent pour partir du bon pied. Laissez-vous aller, explorez votre Picasso intérieur, dégustez un rafraîchissement préparé par le personnel du café et amusez-vous! Avec un établissement à Markham et une nouvelle succursale à Toronto, Paintlounge offre un cadre social idéal pour créer seul, avec des amis, lors d’un rendez-vous ou d’une fête.

Mon parcours

Faire le grand saut en entrepreneuriat

Du secteur bancaire à la peinture, Samantha Chan a fait le grand saut, en quittant son poste de salariée à Citigroup pour suivre sa passion pour les arts. Ses compétences en marketing et en comptabilité, acquises pendant sa carrière dans les services financiers, ont été des atouts précieux pour le succès de son entreprise. Samantha dit que ce virage vers l’entrepreneuriat lui a été inspiré par son grand-père, un homme indépendant et passionné par son travail, qui n’hésitait pas à prendre des risques.

Le YMCA Business Centre a mis Samantha en contact avec Futurpreneur Canada, où elle a reçu du financement, du mentorat et des ressources, qui lui ont permis de bâtir de solides assises pour assurer la prospérité de Paintlounge. Elle a été jumelée avec un mentor, Lawrence Mitchell, qui, par ses conseils et son soutien, l’a aidée à lancer et à exploiter son entreprise avec succès.

« Une grande société ne vous permet pas de vous impliquer pleinement dans tous les aspects de son fonctionnement. Comme propriétaire d’entreprise, je dois faire face à toutes les difficultés qui peuvent survenir dans n’importe quel processus et j’ai la responsabilité de trouver les solutions pour résoudre ces problèmes. Cela me permet d’apprendre rapidement des erreurs et de prendre des décisions plus éclairées », explique Samantha. La capacité d’évoluer au sein d’une entreprise est ce qui l’attirait, dans le monde de l’entrepreneuriat

Conseil

«« Futurpreneur Canada a cru en mon concept et en mon plan d’affaires et c’est ce qui a permis de constituer les fondements essentiels sur lesquels repose mon entreprise aujourd’hui. » »