Browse all stories by:

The Sweet Side

  • Owner:

    Roslyn Bergen and Victoria Etherington

  • Jobs Created:

    2

  • Inception:

    July 2011

  • Mentor:

  • Industry:

    Food and Beverage

  • Location:

    Edmonton, Alberta

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

The Sweet Side is a mobile cupcake bakery operating out of a commercial kitchen is Spruce Grove and providing free delivery in the Edmonton area.

My Story

The idea of a bakery business started when the sister-led team of Roslyn and Victoria had a conversation about their mutual dissatisfaction with their existing jobs. With humble beginnings in a local farmer’s market, the business is thriving with sales more than doubling in the last year.

Together, they have learned a number of important lessons about starting and growing a business.

“Over the last three years, we have learned about the importance of division of labour, marketing and the critical role networking plays,” said Roslyn. “In the beginning, we were not sure how we would work together as sisters. Once we knew we worked well together, we formed a natural split of activities between baking and marketing the business – this allowed us to be efficient and balance quality of our product and business growth.”

In addition to financial support, Futurpreneur Canada provided the team with a mentor who specialized in sales and marketing. “We knew we had a great product,” said Roslyn, “but didn’t know how to get people’s attention. Our mentor has been amazing at providing us with guidance and practical ideas – we could not have grown the way we have without his input.” Now, Sweet Side conducts regular marketing initiatives targeting local businesses, has a strong social media presence, and has even been contacted by customers from far destinations such as Australia and Kuwait requesting a delivery to family and friends in the Edmonton community.

When they began, Roslyn and Victoria did not have enough initial capital to put towards traditional advertising. Networking with a wide spectrum of businesses across many industries provided them with the contacts who would become their first customers. Whether it is customers like those in the oil and gas business or from less obvious industries like automotive sales, the combination of meeting as many people as possible and developing creative, tailored products proved to be a cost effective (and fun) alternative to advertising.

Advice

Chances are, for the first five years in a business you’ll work for love and not money. So be ready to give more than you think you had, make less than you think you’re worth, and learn from your mistakes.”

The Sweet Side

Roslyn Bergen and Victoria Etherington of The Sweet Side. / Roslyn Bergen et Victoria Etherington, de The Sweet Side.
  • Propriétaire :

    Roslyn Bergen and Victoria Etherington

  • Emplois créés :

    2

  • Fondation :

    July 2011

  • Mentor :

  • Industrie :

    Aliments et boissons

  • Emplacement :

    Edmonton, Alberta

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

The Sweet Side est un fabricant de petits gâteaux mobile qui poursuit ses activités à partir d’une cuisine commerciale de Spruce Grove et effectue gratuitement la livraison pour ses clients de la région d’Edmonton.

Mon parcours

L’idée d’exploiter une pâtisserie a surgi lors d’une conversation entre les sœurs Roslyn et Victoria sur leur insatisfaction à l’égard de leur emploi respectif. Après avoir connu de modestes débuts au marché fermier local, l’entreprise a plus que doublé son chiffre d’affaires au cours du dernier exercice.

Ensemble, elles ont appris un certain nombre de leçons sur le démarrage et la croissance d’une entreprise.

« Au cours des trois dernières années, nous avons découvert l’importance du travail partagé et du marketing et le rôle critique du réseautage, précise Roslyn. Au début, nous ne savions pas si notre lien familial allait avoir une incidence sur notre collaboration. Lorsque nous avons eu la certitude que nous faisions une bonne équipe ensemble, nous avons scindé tout naturellement les activités de boulangerie et de commercialisation de l’entreprise, de façon à améliorer notre efficacité et à trouver un équilibre entre la qualité de nos produits et la croissance. »

Outre un appui financier, Futurpreneur Canada a jumelé l’équipe avec un mentor spécialisé en vente et marketing. « Nous connaissions la qualité de nos produits, poursuit Roslyn, mais nous ne savions pas comment retenir l’attention des gens. Notre mentor a été extraordinaire : il nous a guidées et suggéré des idées pratiques. Nous n’aurions pu connaître cette croissance sans ses précieux conseils. » Aujourd’hui, Sweet Side met régulièrement en œuvre des initiatives de marketing auprès des entreprises locales, s’assure d’avoir une présence soutenue sur les médias sociaux et reçoit des commandes de clients d’Australie et du Koweït, qui lui demandent qu’on livre des gâteaux à leur famille ou à leurs amis de la région d’Edmonton.

Lorsqu’elles ont lancé l’entreprise, Roslyn et Victoria n’avaient pas assez de capitaux pour mettre de l’avant une stratégie publicitaire traditionnelle. Le réseautage avec une vaste gamme d’entreprises de différentes industries lui a permis de recruter ses premiers clients. Le fait de rencontrer le plus grand nombre de personnes possible – qu’elles œuvrent dans l’industrie pétrolière ou gazière ou dans des secteurs comme celui de la vente d’automobiles – et de mettre au point des produits créatifs et conçus sur mesure s’est avéré une solution de rechange rentable (et amusante) à la publicité.

Conseil

«Pendant les cinq premières années de l’entreprise, vous travaillerez fort probablement plus par amour que pour l’argent. Soyez prêt à en faire plus que vous ne le pensiez, à gagner moins que ce que vous croyez mériter et à apprendre de vos erreurs. »