Browse all stories by:

Think Dirty Inc.

Lily Tse of Think Dirty Inc. / Lily Tse, de Think Dirty inc.
  • Owner:

    Lily Tse

  • Jobs Created:

    6

  • Inception:

    2012

  • Mentor:

    Giancarlo De Lio

  • Industry:

    Computer/Software Applications

  • Location:

    Toronto, Ontario

  • View Printer Friendly Version
Business Profile

Think Dirty is an independent resource that allows consumers to learn about the potentially toxic ingredients in cosmetics by comparing products as they shop. After downloading the Think Dirty app, the user scans the product barcode to get easy-to-understand info on the product, its ingredients, and cleaner options. The company’s mission is to make shopping for clean cosmetic products easy, hip and fun.

My Story

Taking control of her career path

Lily has always wanted to work for herself. She started freelance design work while in University to help with her tuition get work experience. Like most young people, she followed a traditional employment path after graduation based on the encouragement of her parents and peers. After 12 years of working as an Art Director in advertising agencies, she came back to entrepreneurship and started her own design company called “Happy Monday”. Lily was self-employed for a year when she realized that she now had the flexibility to pursue a project related to health and beauty, something she was passionate about. That’s when Think Dirty was born.

Her inspiration to start Think Dirty came from personal experience with allergies and a desire to avoid chemicals in cosmetic products. Countless studies have shown that exposure to certain chemicals can increase risk factors for certain health problems. As a concerned consumer, Lily made a conscious effort to avoid these chemicals. However, she soon realized that it was difficult to understand packaging labels with unpronounceable chemical names and that navigating science blogs and reports was too time consuming for average concerned citizens. Think Dirty was created to address these challenges and make it easy for anyone to learn what the potentially toxic ingredients in cosmetics and personal care products are.

Lily feels that the most exciting aspect of being an entrepreneur is that she can experiment with her crazy ideas without approval from anyone else. Sometimes those trials are a success and sometimes they are a failure. Either way, she sees the value in learning lessons that she would not have learned if she had not pursued a specific path. She loves being responsible for her own successes and failures and being in control of her own destiny.

Advice

Connect with the right group of people who will see entrepreneurship as a positive thing. Don’t second guess yourself. Most the time you know the answer, just afraid to act on it.”

Think Dirty Inc.

Lily Tse of Think Dirty Inc. / Lily Tse, de Think Dirty inc.
  • Propriétaire :

    Lily Tse

  • Emplois créés :

    6

  • Fondation :

    2012

  • Mentor :

    Giancarlo De Lio

  • Industrie :

    Informatique/Logiciel/ Applications

  • Emplacement :

    Toronto, Ontario

  • Voir la version imprimable
Profil de l’entreprise

Think Dirty est une ressource indépendante qui permet aux consommateurs de connaître les ingrédients potentiellement toxiques des cosmétiques, en découvrant ceux que contiennent les produits qu’ils envisagent d’acheter. Après avoir téléchargé l’application Think Dirty, les utilisateurs peuvent scanner le code à barres des produits pour obtenir des renseignements qu’il est facile de comprendre, connaître les ingrédients et bénéficier de propositions de produits exempts de composants chimiques. La mission de l’entreprise est de faciliter l’achat de cosmétiques propres et d’en faire une expérience branchée et amusante.

Mon parcours

Prendre le contrôle de son cheminement de carrière

Lily a toujours voulu être travailleuse autonome. Pour payer ses droits de scolarité et acquérir une expérience professionnelle, elle a commencé comme pigiste dans le domaine du design, alors qu’elle était encore étudiante à l’université. À la fin de ses études, comme la plupart des jeunes, elle a suivi le parcours professionnel traditionnel, encouragée par ses parents et par ses pairs. Après avoir été directrice artistique au sein de différentes agences de publicité pendant 12 ans, elle est revenue à l’entrepreneuriat et lancé sa propre entreprise de design, Happy Monday. Lily était à son compte depuis un an lorsqu’elle a réalisé qu’elle bénéficiait de la souplesse nécessaire pour poursuivre un projet dans un domaine qui la passionne : la santé et la beauté. C’est ainsi qu’est née Think Dirty.

L’idée émane de son expérience personnelle. Comme elle souffre d’allergies, Lily avait le désir d’éviter les produits chimiques dans les cosmétiques. D’innombrables études ont en effet démontré que l’exposition à des composants chimiques peut augmenter les risques pour la santé. Préoccupée, Lily a consciemment tenté de les éviter, mais elle a vite compris qu’il était difficile de déchiffrer les noms imprononçables des produits indiqués sur les emballages et que la consultation de blogues et de rapports scientifiques demandait beaucoup trop de temps, pour le consommateur moyen. Think Dirty a été créée pour relever ces défis et faire en sorte que tout le monde soit en mesure de connaître les ingrédients potentiellement toxiques que contiennent les cosmétiques et les produits d’hygiène personnelle.

Lily pense que l’aspect le plus agréable de l’entrepreneuriat est le fait de pouvoir expérimenter ses idées folles sans avoir à demander la permission à qui que ce soit. Si certaines de ces tentatives peuvent parfois s’avérer fructueuses, d’autres sont des échecs. Dans tous les cas, elle apprécie la valeur des leçons qu’elle n’aurait pas retenues si elle avait emprunté un autre parcours. Elle est ravie d’être responsable de ses succès et de ses échecs et d’avoir le plein contrôle sur sa destinée.

Conseil

«Entrez en contact avec les bonnes personnes, celles qui voient l’entrepreneuriat d’un bon œil. Ne doutez pas de vous. La plupart du temps, vous connaissez la réponse, vous craignez seulement d’y donner suite. »